News
2021 Long Museum (West Bund) Main Exhibition Lineup
Date :  2021.4.13
We are pleased to kickstart 2021 with artist Yin Zhaoyang's solo exhibition "A Vast History" which has been successfully held in the main exhibition hall of Long Museum (West Bund). For the rest of this year, we will continue to bring more outstanding exhibitions for you! The solo exhibitions of He Duoling, Mary Corse, George Condo and Chiharu Shiota will be launched in the main hall.
 
He Duoling: Grass and Color
Duration: 2021.4.25 — 2021.6.20

The exhibition, curated by Zhu Zhu, is a collection of more than 70 pieces from He Duoling’s oeuvre, ranging from the 1980s to the present day alongside various related documents in an attempt to showcase the artist’s unique philosophy and constant evolution. Images of grass have long been present throughout He’s creations over the past forty years and serve as a clue for the viewer to understand the rich and abundant colors among his paintings. 
 
Born in 1948 in Chengdu, He Duoling is one of the most celebrated oil painters in contemporary Chinese art. He enrolled in the oil painting department of Sichuan Fine Arts Institute in 1977. After graduating, He remained at the university for a master’s degree in oil painting. He graduated in 1982 and began working as a professional painter for the Chengdu Art Academy. In 1985, He visited the United States to speak at the Massachusetts College of Art and Design.

 
Mary Corse: Painting with Light 
Duration: 2021.7.3 — 2021.9.5

In summer 2021, Long Museum will host the American artist’s debut museum exhibition in China. Comprised of over 30 pivotal works spanning a half century of the artist’s practice, this major survey includes paintings, installations, ceramic sculptures and work on paper that embody Corse’s continuous exploration of properties of light and ideas of abstraction. This solo museum show follows the lauded traveling retrospective by the artist staged at the Whitney Museum of American Art (2018) and Los Angeles County Museum of Art (2019) and complements Dia Beacon’s Long-term exhibition of her artwork from the 1960-1970’s.  

Mary Corse (b. 1945, Berkeley, California) investigates materiality, abstraction, and perception through the subtly gestural and precisely geometric paintings that she has made over her sixty-year career.


George Condo: The Picture Gallery 
Duration: Late September — Late November 2021

The Picture Gallery is the largest solo exhibition by George Condo in Asia. Curated by Massimiliano Gioni, the show will bring together more than 90 paintings made throughout the artist’s career and will debut a new series of large-scale canvases made specifically for this presentation. The exhibition focuses on some of the most important cycles and bodies of works that have defined Condo’s art since the late 1970s, when the artist was among the first to herald a critical return to painting after decades of conceptual art practices.  As suggested by its title – borrowed from a 2002 painting – the exhibition is conceived as a gallery of imaginary portraits: a salon of fictional ancestors and fallen members of an imagined aristocracy hung in the cavernous galleries of Long Museum (West Bund) as in the halls of a decaying futurist castle.

Condo was born in New Hampshire in 1957.  For more than four decades, Condo’s stunning virtuosity and ability to devour and ventriloquize any historical painting style has resulted in a prodigious output. In his vast oeuvre, “fake old masters paintings,” as the artist describes them, coexist with his maddening explorations of the human psyche, while figuration and abstraction are woven into tapestries of signs and symbols that find inspiration in the work of experimental writers and musicians.

From December 2021 to March 2022, artist Chiharu Shiota will hold her solo exhibition at Long Museum (West Bund). Please stay tuned and follow our official account (long-museum). 
© 2022  Long Museum  All Rights Reserved. 沪ICP备12048670号-1

资讯
2021年度龙美术馆(西岸馆)主展厅展览计划公布
日期 :  2021.4.13
2021年开年,龙美术馆(西岸馆)主展厅已经成功举办尹朝阳个展“浩瀚史”,今年,主展厅还将推出何多苓、玛丽·阔思、乔治·康多和盐田千春的个展。

何多苓个展“草·色”
展期:2021.4.25—2021.6.20

本次展览由朱朱策划,汇集何多苓1980年代至今的重要作品70余件(套)及各类文献,意在呈现艺术家于漫长的时间跨度之中的独特脉络和阶段性变化。草的意象贯穿于他四十余年的创作,也为我们提供了一条理解他绘制的丰饶色相的线索。

何多苓,1948 年生于成都,中国当代最优秀的油画艺术家之一。1977 年考入四川美术学院油画专业学习,后进入该院绘画系油画专业研究班,1982年毕业后在成都画院从事油画创作,1985年应美国麻塞诸塞州艺术学院邀请赴美讲学。

玛丽·阔思:以光作画 
展期:2021.7.3—2021.9.5

本次展览是玛丽·阔思(Mary Corse)在中国的首场美术馆个展,涵盖艺术家半个多世纪以来创作的30余件代表作,包括绘画、装置、陶瓷雕塑和纸本作品,体现了阔思对光的特质和抽象概念的不断探索。此次个展紧随艺术家在惠特尼美术馆(2018)和洛杉矶郡立美术馆(2019)的巡回回顾展。其60-70年代的作品正在纽约迪亚比肯基金会长期展出。

玛丽·阔思,1945年生于美国加州伯克利,在其60多年的创作生涯中致力于用微妙的笔触和精确的几何绘画来探寻物质性、抽象性和感知性。

乔治·康多:图像殿堂
展期:2021年9月下旬至11月下旬

本次展览是乔治·康多(George Condo)在亚洲迄今为止最大规模个展,由马西米里亚诺·吉奥尼(Massimiliano Gioni)策展,呈现90余件作品,聚焦于康多自上世纪七十年代末以来重要的周期创作与作品系列,并将首次呈现一系列康多为本次展览特别创作的大尺幅绘画。展览名称取自康多2002年的一幅画作,整个展览将成为一座展示虚构肖像的殿堂:想象中的远古祖先与虚构的堕落贵族肖像,悬挂在龙美术馆(西岸馆)主展厅洞穴般的空间内,宛如一座腐朽的未来主义城堡大厅。

康多,1957年生于美国新罕布什尔。四十多年来,康多维持着精湛的技艺,历史上任何画派风格都可以化为己用、驾轻就熟,由此创造出大量精彩作品。作品中无不充满了对人类心理的疯狂探索,又隐含着被他称作“假冒大师画作”的风格。同时,具象与抽象被编织在符号与象征中,其中的灵感多来自实验性作家与音乐家的作品。

2021年12月到明年3月,盐田千春个展也将在龙美术馆(西岸馆)主展厅举办。更多展览详细信息,欢迎关注龙美术馆公众号(long-museum)和网站,我们将及时公布,敬请期待。
© 2021 龙美术馆 版权所有 沪ICP备12048670号-1