Share:

Ye Maozhong Art Exhibition

Dates:
2020.10.1—2021.2.28
Artist  Ye Maozhong
Curator Liu Yiqian
Organizer Long Museum West Bund

From October 1st  to February 28th , 2021, Long Museum (West Bund) will introduce the exhibition “Ye Maozhong Art Exhibition,” curated by Mr. Liu Yiqian, the founder of Long Museum.

 

Ye Maozhong is a professor at Peking University, as well as a well-known brand marketing planner, art collector, and artist. Ye Maozhong’s art collection is dominated by modern Chinese masters such as Fu Baoshi, Xu Beihong, Huang Binhong, etc. His collection of modern paintings and calligraphy works is enormous and “incomparable nation-widely”, said by Liu Yiqian.

 

Ye Maozhong’s collection stems from his love for painting. When he was 4 years old, his father drew a boat on the back of a cigarette box, which triggered his interest in painting. He began to save money to buy and imitate comics after he went to elementary school. When he was in middle school, he was able to help school art teachers with Chinese landscape paintings and flower-and-bird paintings. Ye Maozhong was admitted to the local cultural center in Taizhou, and learned art from Wu Junsheng, a student of Fu Baoshi. Ye Maozhong got into Design for Stage major at Jiangsu School of Theater Arts, and his professor Tai Qiyou was also a student of Fu Baoshi.

 

Influenced by the art style of his professors and Fu Baoshi, Ye Maozhong likes to create his painting using the method of “Bao Shicun.” His proficiency in the use of “Bao Shicun” makes his imitations extremely close to the original artworks. However, Ye Maozhong did not only imitate Fu Baoshi’s paintings but also paintings from Shi Tao, Bada Shanren, Wang Meng, and Wang Gongwang. By doing so, he mastered the basics of brush and ink, and tried to break through the gap between the ancients and himself.

 

As said by Ye Maozhong, “I’ve always been fascinated with the spiritual temperament of Song and Yuan Dynasty’s paintings. Paintings of Song Dynasty showing cares to natural, and focusing on the specification of ink created by painters; Paintings from Yuan Dynasty is about my self-spiritual caring, presenting the height of ink formed by calligraphy and painting technically. Even thou can’t reach the caring spiritual it had shown to natural and spiritual, but still yearn for it.” In recent years, Ye Maozhong has started to create more sketch art.

 

This exhibition displays around a hundred and fifty artworks by Ye Maozhong, divided into four sections: Gratitude for Painting, Setting Sail, Learning from the Good Fortune, and Metting the Sages. The exhibition aims to allow the audience to not only have a comprehensive view of the artist but also his creative trajectory of various types of painting such as western paintings, imitations,  and sketch art. Viewers will be able to fully understand Ye Maozhong— a person who wanders in the world of ink and art.

 

As the exhibition opens, the album of the same name will be released simultaneously, bringing an unique way of reading that’s different from the exhibition, The album is prefaced by the curator Liu Yiqian and also includes an introduction by Ye Maozhong, a commentary by Tang Zheming, and an enormous of artworks by Ye Maozhong. 

注册

登录

忘记密码?

找回密码

//密码修改弹出框

系统通知

当前邮箱格式错误

系统通知

提交成功,请检查您的邮箱并完成激活

分享到:

叶茂中画展

展览日期:
2020.10.1—2021.2.28
艺术家 叶茂中
策展人 刘益谦
主办 龙美术馆(西岸馆)
2020年10月1日至2021年2月28日,龙美术馆(西岸馆)将推出展览“叶茂中画展”,由龙美术馆创始人刘益谦先生担任策展人。

叶茂中是北京大学研究生导师,同时也是知名的品牌营销策划人、收藏家、画家。叶茂中的收藏以傅抱石、徐悲鸿、黄宾虹等中国近现代大师为主,其收藏的近现代书画作品之丰富,刘益谦称“当下国内无几人可比”。

叶茂中的收藏源于他对绘画的喜爱。4岁时父亲随手在香烟壳背面画的一条船,萌发了叶茂中对绘画的兴趣,读小学后开始攒钱买连环画、临摹连环画,即至中学,已经能帮着学校美术老师给山水画、花鸟画上色。中学毕业后,叶茂中考入泰州当地的文化馆,师从傅抱石的学生吴骏圣,18岁考入江苏省戏剧学校舞台美术专业,师从傅抱石的学生邰启佑。

受两位老师及傅抱石笔墨影响,叶茂中创作山水画喜欢用抱石皴,其对抱石皴法的使用熟练程度,“堪能乱真”。然而叶茂中远不止在傅抱石画格中用力,而是进此远追石涛、八大山人,并上溯元人王蒙、黄公望,通过临摹大师作品,掌握笔墨的基本规律,试图借造化来彻底打通自己与古人之间的隔阂。

“宋元绘画的精神气质一直是我向往的。宋画对宇宙自然的关怀,技术上体现在外师造化形成的笔墨法度;元画对自我心灵的关怀,技术上体现在以书入画形成的笔墨高度。绘画中对宇宙自然与自我心灵的关怀,虽不能至,然心向往之。”叶茂中自述。近年来叶茂中开始转向写生创作。

本展览共展出了一百五十余件作品,分为感恩有画、扬帆起航、师法造化、会师先贤四个区块,旨在让观众既能综览画家中得心源的创作全貌,又能在一定的时间轴上欣赏画家在西画、写生、摹古等各门类绘画上的创作轨迹,全面了解一位徜徉于笔墨与造化中的叶茂中的心灵及艺术世界。

展览开幕之际,同名画册将同步首发,带来与展览不同的阅读路径。画册由策展人刘益谦作序,包括一篇叶茂中的自述,一篇汤哲明的评论文章,以及丰富的叶茂中绘画作品。

注册

登录

忘记密码?

找回密码

//密码修改弹出框

系统通知

当前邮箱格式错误

系统通知

提交成功,请检查您的邮箱并完成激活