Share:

Yi Shang: A Dialogue Between 20th Century Chinese Art and Fashion

Dates:
2020.8.1—2020.11.15
Curator Wang Wei
Special Thanks CHICHAP
Organizer
Long Museum West Bund
Long Museum (West Bund) presents the new exhibition Yi Shang: A Dialogue Between 20th Century Chinese Art and Fashion from August 1st to November 15th, 2020. 

Fashion is the overt and enduring conduit of all art forms; clothes could be sculptures made of fabrics. Fashion reflects the influence of ideologies on the human psyche and tells the story of a society and its culture. Clothes could be personal utensils, carrying the memory of its owner. 

This exhibition consists of four parts: Chinese Tradition and Renewal, Western Influence and Qipao, Formality and Simple Style, and Opening-up and Integration. Through more than 40 paintings juxtaposed with period qipaos, Chinese ceramics, photographs, and other historical archives, this exhibition presents a revealing look at the role of fashion in 20th-century Chinese art and culture, and the exchange between East and West.

Chinese Tradition and Renewal

‘It is incredible that all kinds of styles exist side-by-side, west and east, Han and Manchu.’
-- Sep 8th, 1912 Shen Bao (a newspaper published from 30 April 1872 to 27 May 1949 in Shanghai, China.)

In the middle and late 19th century, the beginning of international commerce and the Western Affairs Movement had various influences on the daily life of Chinese people. 

At the beginning of the 20th century, the Manchu and Han people became more integrated with each other — the renewal of Chinese fashion reflecting the nation’s multi-ethnic culture is in embryo. While some Manchu elements once prevailed in the Qing dynasty remain, a variety of traditional Chinese costumes are influenced by and coexist with Western fashion. 

Western Influence and Qipao

At the beginning of the 20th century, the lifestyle and fashion in China changed drastically under the influence of Western culture. The westernized fashion style became a symbol of pursuing new ideas and culture. The qipao, which appeared in the 1920s, also connotes the idea of gender equality. While the prevalence of western fashion had a great influence on the traditional Chinese clothing industry, the popularity of western lifestyle increased among Chinese people.

Formality and Simple Style

The fashion style is bound to return to simple after any major revolution or war. After the founding of the People’s Republic of China, the whole Chinese society was in a stage of development. The pursuance of diligence prevailed:people were conscientious and thrifty, various industries launched campaigns to economize on the expense and increase production. During that time, the fashion style tended to be simple and modest. 

Opening-up and Integration

With the establishment of Reform and Opening-up policies (1978) in China, the national economy continues to develop steadily. People’s standard of living boosts; the transformation of their spiritual outlook precedes the diversity and personalization in fashion. People can choose what to wear freely. Since the late 1970s, the prevalent trend of globalization stimulates the growth of fashion industries. Nowadays, Chinese fashion is a significant part of the international market, retaining the tradition of the Chinese fashion industry, and pursuing better development.

Tickets Info

Ticket Price: 60RMB/person

注册

登录

忘记密码?

找回密码

//密码修改弹出框

系统通知

当前邮箱格式错误

系统通知

提交成功,请检查您的邮箱并完成激活

分享到:

衣裳:绘画里的20世纪中国服饰

展览日期:
2020.8.1—2020.11.15
策展人 王薇
致谢 庄容
主办 龙美术馆(西岸馆)
“衣裳:绘画里的20世纪中国服饰”展览 9 月观展时间:周二至周日 10:00-21:00(20:30停止入场)
疫情期间观展需预约,预约方式请关注龙美术馆微信公众号(long-museum),回复“预约”获悉。

龙美术馆(西岸馆)于2020年8月1日至11月15日呈现新展“衣裳:绘画里的20世纪中国服饰”。

服装既是生活的必需品,最具实用意义;也是综合一切的艺术,从空间造型的观点,服装正如使用面料创作的雕塑。服装反映着社会意识形态对于人的影响,诉说着特定时期的社会生活;也是最为个人化的物品,承载着人们的记忆。

本次展览由“中式·革新”、“洋服·旗袍”、“集体·质朴”与“开放·融合”四个板块构成,展出的40余件中国近代绘画作品与各时期具代表性服饰、艺术文化风潮有关。在本展中,绘画与服装、瓷器、文献并置,呈现20世纪中国服装的样貌与发展,也反映艺术与社会生活、中西方时尚的相互影响。

中式·革新 

“西装东装,汉装满装,应有尽有,庞杂至不可言状。”
——《申报》(1872-1949年发行于上海) 1912年9月8日

19世纪中后期,开埠与洋务兴办使西方文化对中国百姓日常生活产生了影响。
20世纪初,满汉民族日趋融合,中式传统服饰发展更新。清朝服饰基本形制仍然有所保留。长袍马褂、军装、西服,以及各种中西合璧的款式新旧交织、并存。

洋服·旗袍

20世纪初,中国社会生活与风尚在西方文化影响下产生变化。西式服饰被视作追求新思想、新文化的外化符号。1920年代出现的旗袍也被认为蕴含了男女平等的思想。洋服、西装的盛行影响了中国传统服装行业,西式生活方式也影响了更多中国百姓的日常生活。

集体·质朴

每逢重大革命或是战争过后,服装样式必然返璞归真。新中国成立以后,整个社会处于百废待兴的阶段。艰苦朴素、艰苦奋斗是整个社会共同遵循的时代精神。人们克勤克俭,各行各业开展增产节约运动。服饰的风格整体趋于简单朴素。

开放·融合

伴随着1978年末中国改革开放政策的持续贯彻执行,国民经济在此后得到了相对稳定持续的发展。人民生活水平不断提高,精神与风貌的转变直接体现于服饰的多样化与个性化趋势,人们可以根据场合自由选择适合自己又心仪的服饰。自1970年代末以来,与日俱增的国际交流推动着服装设计及相关产业高速发展。如今,中国服装产品早已进入了国际市场,在保留传统的同时持续发展、追求卓越。

购票信息

通票:60元/人(2020.8.2-10.8期间,第一展厅特展除外)

注册

登录

忘记密码?

找回密码

//密码修改弹出框

系统通知

当前邮箱格式错误

系统通知

提交成功,请检查您的邮箱并完成激活