Share:

Zhou Chunya: The Splendours of the Southeast

Dates:
2019.10.26—2020.1.5
Artist Zhou Chunya

Curator

Wang Wei

Academic Advisor

Qi Lan

Organizer
Long Museum West Bund
The Long Museum is pleased to present Zhou Chunya: The Splendours of the Southeast, on view from October 26, 2019 to January 5, 2020. Curated by Ms. Wang Wei, the director of the Long Museum, and academically supported by Mr. Qi Lan, this large-scale solo exhibition of the artist Zhou Chunya in Shanghai displays his newest works----a series of paintings along with the original sketches and video documentations of the creative process, as well as an ensemble of representative pieces of Zhou’s major series created between 1978 and 2013, drawn from the collection of Mr. Liu Yiqian and Ms. Wang Wei.

For many years, Zhou Chunya has always dedicated himself to researching and transforming traditional paintings, and recently the artworks of Wang Meng, one of the Four Painting Masters of the Yuan Dynasty, have become the focus of Chunaya’s interest. The three series on display, Mount Taibai (quadriptych), Forest Grotto at Juqu (group paintings), and Cinnabar Hills in the Immortal’s Sea (group paintings), are the experimental fruit of his study on Wang Meng. Based on the actual sceneries of the original sites of Wang Meng’s paintings, these three series of artworks set up subtle intertextuality between themselves and Wang Meng in terms of artistic language. In Forest Grotto at Juqu (group paintings), Zhou Chunya borrows the typical tightly-packed composition of Wang Meng’s namesake painting, strengthening the sense of form and structure. He clearly subverts the inward and reserved style of the literati with straightforward, willful and even naughty brushwork. Mount Taibai (quadriptych) is an autobiographical piece narrating the artist’s personal history, and in a more important sense, an ingenious metaphor of his own cultural lineage and artistic pursuit. Complementing the finished artwork, the creative process of Mount Taibai (quadriptych) is also presented in the forms of original sketches and video documentations.

Series of artworks created at different stages map out visually Zhou’s adventurous experience in the past forty years, constituting an oeuvre of dynamic energy and impressive imageries. The exhibition also displays sixteen major pieces by Zhou Chunya, drawn from the collection of Mr. Liu Yiqian and Ms. Wang Wei. It is the first time that these artworks are shown collectively, spanning the artist’s multiple series since 1978: “Chongqing Series” (Chongqing, Wharf), “Tibet Series” (Shearing Wool, December, Zioge Grassland), “Mountain-stone Series” (Red Stone, Mountain-stones Series: Red Stone, Stone and Weeds, Stone Series), “Taihu Stone Series” (Taihu Stone), and “Peach Blossom Series” (Peach Blossom, Da Qiao and Xiao Qiao, Spring Peach), etc. The audience are invited to follow this retrospective and introspective journey of the artist to witness his over forty years of diligent efforts, and also to partake in the enthusiasm and joy of creating.

About the artist

Zhou Chunya was born in 1955 in Chongqing, China, currently lives and works in Shanghai and Chengdu. He studied print-making at Sichuan Academy of Fine Arts and graduated in 1982, after which he attended the school of arts at University of Kassel (Kunsthochschule Kassel) in Germany and graduated in 1988. As one of the leading figures among the Chinese contemporary art world, Zhou is considered to have excelled in his mastery of manipulating colors. During over four decades of creative practice, Zhou has been persistently challenging himself to seek for innovations and transformations, through various medium such as oil painting, sketch, sculpture, etc. Housed in major collections worldwide, his artworks have been displayed in numerous international exhibitions.

Since the Stone Series which started in early 1990s, Zhou has imparted characteristics of Neo-Expressionism to the “Hills and Stones”, a traditional subject matter for Chinese literati paintings, and eventually formed his personal artistic style. Around 2005, Zhou initiated his best-known Peach Blossom Series, which visually articulates the artist’s fresh mentality and enthusiasm for life and art. Zhou’s recent artworks display his consistent research and profound understanding of Chinese traditional culture. With “Life” as its rooted theme, Zhou’s creative career continues to evolve and blossom.

Exhibited Artworks(13)

All 13 Artworks

注册

登录

忘记密码?

找回密码

//密码修改弹出框

系统通知

当前邮箱格式错误

系统通知

提交成功,请检查您的邮箱并完成激活

分享到:

周春芽:东南形胜

展览日期:
2019.10.26—2020.1.5
艺术家 周春芽
策展人 王薇
学术顾问 漆澜
主办 龙美术馆(西岸馆)
2019年10月26日至2020年1月5日,龙美术馆(西岸馆)将推出周春芽大型个展“东南形胜”,由龙美术馆馆长王薇担任策展人,漆澜担任学术顾问。展出作品包括周春芽近期新作、手稿、记录影像,以及由刘益谦、王薇夫妇收藏的艺术家1978年至2013年间创作的多个系列代表作。

多年来,周春芽一直致力于传统绘画的研究和转化,而近年对“元四家”之一王蒙的作品尤其充满热情。本次展出的三组新作,《太白山图》(四联画)、《具区林屋图》(组画))、《丹山瀛海图》(组画),便是留意于王蒙的语言研究,带有强烈的实验性质的作品。这三组作品皆以王蒙原作的衍生地点的实景为造境蓝本,在语言上与王蒙形成微妙的互文关系。在《具区林屋图》(组画)中,周春芽借用了王蒙《具区林屋图》拍塞满密的经典范式,强化了形感和结构秩序。他颠覆了文人内向、矜持的语感,笔触显得率真、任性甚至顽皮。而《太白山图》则是艺术家关于自我身世的自传性质的作品,更是他关于自身文脉和艺术旨趣的巧妙托喻。围绕《太白山图》,艺术家的创作手稿、记录影像,也将同步呈献给观众。

不同阶段的创作反映着周春芽四十余年来的探索,充满能量与视觉张力的画面常常令人过目难忘。本次展览将展出16组由龙美术馆创始人刘益谦、王薇夫妇收藏的周春芽作品。这批作品是首次集中呈献给观众,主题广泛而丰富,囊括了周春芽自1978年以来的多个系列代表作:重庆系列(《重庆》、《码头》)、藏族题材系列(《剪羊毛》、《十二月》、《若尔盖草原》)、山石系列(《红石》、《山石图-红石》、《石头与杂草》、《石头系列》)、太湖石系列(《太湖石》)、桃花系列(《桃花》、《大乔小乔》、《春桃》)等等。观者将直观地体会到艺术家四十余年的不断探索与尝试,在回望其创作历程的同时,分享其创作的激情与喜悦。

关于艺术家

周春芽,1955年生于中国重庆,现于上海、成都生活工作。他于1982年毕业于四川美术学院版画系,1988 年毕业于德国卡塞尔美术学院自由艺术系。作为业界领军人物,他被认为是在中国当代艺术领域中对于色彩有着最佳把握能力的艺术家之一。在四十余年的创作实践中,以油画、素描、雕塑等形式不断寻求变化与突破。他的作品被世界范围重要机构收藏,并在众多国际展览中展出。

1990年代初开始的“石头系列”,将中国传统文人山石元素赋予新表现主义色彩,形成个人艺术风格。2005年前后开始的“桃花系列”是艺术家最著名的系列作品之一,抒发艺术家崭新的心境和对生活与艺术的憧憬。近年来的新作反映艺术家对中国传统艺术文化的持续研究与新的感悟。回望周春芽四十余年的创作,他追求不断自我突破,始终围绕生命这一根基展开。

展出作品(13)

载入所有 13 个相关作品

注册

登录

忘记密码?

找回密码

//密码修改弹出框

系统通知

当前邮箱格式错误

系统通知

提交成功,请检查您的邮箱并完成激活