Past Exhibitions

Arthouser - Chen Yujun Solo Exhibition

2022.6.25-2022.9.11
LONG MUSEUM CHONGQING

Artist Chen Yujun
Curator Wangwei
From June 25th to September 11th 2022, Long Museum (Chongqing) will present “Arthouser - Chen Yujun Solo Exhibition”, which is curated by Wang Wei, the Director of Long Museum. The 12 chapters of the exhibition contain more than 110 works of Chen Yujun including paintings, collages, installations, sculptures with documents, manuscripts, videos etc., using the spatial narrative of his 12 studio moves over a 23-year period, which tries to present Chen’s artistic practice in different periods over the past 20 years as comprehensive as possible. 

For most artists, studio is the place where they create and is often separated from the space of daily life. Nevertheless, for Chen Yujun, the studio must first be “home”, because “creation” is so inextricably related with “home” that they become a unified whole.

During the past 23 years since he graduated from the inaugural class of Integrated Art department at China Academy of Art in 1999, Chen’s studio has been moved a total of 12 times, and a new relocation is inevitably soon. Even after experiencing myriads of transformations, Chen’s cognition of studio being his own “home” has remained unchanged.


Leaving his hometown to pursue further study alone, the school studio became his new “home” and the teachers and peers around him became the new “family”. After getting married and having his own child, the studio became a space to live together with family. As the child growing up, they moved to a new city and the studio has been added many new functions with a larger reception and accommodating capacity. Every relocation of the studio seems to indicate an upgrade of “home”, an expansion of “family”, and a more and more open understanding and deeper cognition of “home”.


The act of move metaphorizes the state of exiling, making the nostalgia of people who travel far away from home even stronger. Therefore, in his every studio that used to be treated as “home”, there was always small objects meticulously collected by Chen Yujun from his homeland by the Mulan River. They seem to be the evidence of local customs that can temporarily soothe his homesickness and the token of the family gene which will constantly awaken his mission.

As Mulan River, the mother river who nurtures the local civilization, spontaneously becomes the main thread of Chen’s creation, his reflection on “home” and inclusiveness of “family” also achieve new milestones progressively, from a familial and clannish narrative to a broader inquiry into homeland and human community. Humans who seek the way out the destiny of nomadism must have built their visions into “homes” after realizing that genes are their own mission. No matter how dangerous the journey back to “home” is, it is the price or practice people who miss their home are willing to pay or experience.

Home is sometimes as reachable as close at hand, sometimes as far as the horizon of heaven. Even if we are to leave home someday, it will always flow in the blood. No matter how many generations it is passed down, the “home” will eternally be preserved as the primordial color, just as Chen’s paintings suggest, that unfolds the canvas of one’s life.

Because of the practical needs and sincere yearning for “home”, Chen Yujun designed and lived in these studios, as well as created all the works with the theme of Mulan River. Thanks to these unique “homes” and outstanding achievements, we have the chance to appreciate a down-to-earth artist with infinite potential.

About the Artist

Chen Yujun (b. 1976, Putian, Fujian) graduated from the Integrated Art Department at China Academy of Art in 1999. From 1999 to 2014, he has taught at the Integrated Art and the Oil Painting Departments at China Academy. He is currently living and working in Shanghai.

As a representative artist born in the ‘Post-Cultural Revolution’ period, Chen Yujun has experienced the historical stage when Chinese society underwent a multitude of radical transformations. Through meticulous reflection and exploration, the relationship between individual characteristics and the natural and cultural environment has increasingly become the driving force of Chen’s creations. Themed from the Mulan River in his hometown to the Mother River that nurtures Asia and the whole world, his imagination and brushstrokes implicitly follow the footsteps of overseas Chinese who left their hometowns in the early days. Chen intends to ask for the way out of self-redemption and the direction of human nomadism towards a further future.

Known for the complex applications of mixed media with rich implications of humanitarianism embedded in his works, Chen Yujun is being valued by curators and collectors around the world. Being widely collected, his works are exhibited in art museums, foundations and galleries worldwide.

Recent solo exhibitions include “The Endogenous Scenery” (ZiWU Beijing, Beijing, 2021), “Continuity and Variation” (Guangdong Museum of Art, Guangzhou, 2021), “Sheng Zhang — Solo Exhibition of Chen Yujun” (Long Museum West Bund, Shanghai, 2021), “Each Single Self” (Arario Gallery, Seoul, 2020), “Chen Yujun” (Tang Contemporary Art, Beijing, 2019), “Caravan of Wanderer, Worshiper, Lover of Living” (Rén Space, Shanghai, 2019), “Reflection from the Golden Dome” (Rén Space, Shanghai, 2018), “The River Never Remembers” (Arario Gallery & BANK, Shanghai, 2017), “The Second Door” (James Cohen Gallery, Shanghai, 2015), “Transitional Room” (Boers-Li Gallery, Beijing, 2012), “The Empty Room” (Boers-Li Gallery, Beijing, 2010), etc. Joint solo exhibitions with Chen Yufan include “Mulan River – Voyage” (A+ Contemporary, Taipei, 2018), “Mulan River – Cuò” (Petach Tikva Museum of Art, Petach Tikva, 2017), “White” (Tang Contemporary Art, Hong Kong, 2016), “Space Graphy No.1” (AYE Gallery, Beijing, 2014), “Mulan River – Unsettled” (Zhong Gallery, Berlin, 2012), “Mulan River” (Boers-Li Gallery, Beijing, 2011), etc.

Chen Yujun has been on show at Long Museum (Shanghai, 2020/2014), Beijing Minsheng Art Museum (Beijing, 2019/2017/2015), Kuandu Museum of Fine Arts (Taipei, 2018), OCT Contemporary Art Terminal Shanghai (Shanghai, 2017), Today Art Museum (Beijing, 2016), Redtory Museum of Contemporary Art (Guangzhou, 2015), Si Shang Art Museum (Beijing, 2015), Guan Shanyue Art Museum (Shenzhen, 2013), Groninger Museum (Groninger, 2013), Galeri Nasional Indonesia (Jakarta, 2013), Ullens Center for Contemporary Art (Beijing, 2013), Veneto Institute of Sciences, Letters and Arts (Venice, 2012), Times Art Museum (Beijing, 2010), etc. He has also participated the 2nd Anren Biennale (2019), the 8th Shenzhen Sculpture Biennale (2014), the 2nd Chengdu Biennale (2005), etc.

Public collections include Arario Museum (Seoul), Brooklyn Museum (New York), DSL Collection (Paris), Guangdong Museum of Art (Guangzhou), He Art Museum (Foshan), He Xiangning Art Museum (Shenzhen), Long Museum (Shanghai), Los Angeles County Museum of Art (Los Angeles), M+ Sigg Collection (Hong Kong), TANK Shanghai (Shanghai), White Rabbit Collection / White Rabbit Gallery (Sydney), Yuz Museum (Shanghai), etc.
Ticket Information
Free
© 2022  Long Museum  All Rights Reserved. 沪ICP备12048670号-1

往期展览

艺术“家”——陈彧君个展

2022.6.25-2022.9.11
龙美术馆 重庆馆

艺术家 陈彧君
策展人 王薇
2022年6月25日至9月11日,龙美术馆(重庆馆)将推出展览“艺术‘家’——陈彧君个展”,由龙美术馆馆长王薇担任策展人,共12个篇章,呈现110余组绘画、拼贴、装置、雕塑,辅以文献、手稿、影像等媒介,以其工作室23年间的12次迁移为空间叙事线索,尽可能全面的呈现艺术家20多年来不同时期的艺术创作实践。

对于大部分艺术家而言,工作室是完成创作的地方,往往与日常生活的空间各自分离,但对于陈彧君而言,工作室首先必须是“家”,因为创作是跟“家”紧密相连的事情,融为一体,无法分割。

从1999年毕业于中国美院首届综合艺术系迄今为止23年期间,工作室已迁移共12次,新的迁移不久之后亦将发生。即使经历了这么多变化,陈彧君对工作室就是自己“家”的执念却有增无减。

从离乡背井独自求学,以学院的画室为“家”,终日为伴的师生成为身边的“家人”,到结婚生子,工作室同时是与家人共同起居生活的空间,再到移居新的城市,伴随着孩子渐渐长大,工作室又增加了许多新的功能,且有了更大的接待和容纳能力。每一次工作室的迁移,都仿佛意味着“家”的升级、“家人”的扩容、对“家”越来越开放的理解和越来越深刻的认知。

迁移意味着漂泊,只会让远在他乡的游子乡愁更浓。因此,在每一处曾作为“家”的工作室里,随处可见陈彧君从木兰溪畔的故土悉心收集来的小物件,它们仿佛是家乡风土的证物,可暂时抚慰乡愁,它们仿佛是家族基因的信物,会不断唤醒使命。

当孕育了地域文明的母亲河木兰溪自然而然地成为陈彧君的创作主线,对“家”的反思和对“家人”的接纳也进入了新的里程碑,家庭,家族,家乡,家园,在游牧的宿命中寻找出路的人类,一定是领悟了基因是自身的使命之后,才会前赴后继地将愿景建设成一个又一个“家”,而每一次回“家”的旅途无论多惊险,都是念家的人类乐意付出的代价抑或修行。

有时近在咫尺,有时又远在天涯,即使一朝分别,也一直流淌在血脉里,无论相传多少代,在根底源头都必须永葆的那个本色,才是永恒的“家”。

因为有了对“家”最切实的需求和最真诚的向往,才有了陈彧君所设计使用过的这些工作室以及以木兰溪为主题创作的所有作品,也正因为这些独一无二的“家”及其卓然的成果,让我们有幸认识了一位脚踏实地、无远弗届的艺术家。

关于艺术家

陈彧君,1976年生于福建莆田,1999年毕业于中国美术学院综合艺术系,并留校任教于综合艺术系和油画系至2014年,现工作和生活于上海。

作为“后文革”时代出生的代表性艺术家,陈彧君自小经历和见证了中国社会环境巨变的阶段,对于生命个体基因与自然和人文环境关系的反思和探索越来越成为创作的动力和主题,从家乡的木兰溪到孕育亚洲和世界文明的母亲河,他的眼光和笔触仿佛跟随着当年离乡背井的华侨的脚步,向着更为深远的世界去追问自我救赎的出路和人类游牧的方向。

由于作品具有复杂的综合媒介和浓厚的人文情怀,陈彧君正在受到全球策展人和收藏家的重视,作品常年在世界各地的美术馆、基金会和画廊展览,并被广为收藏。

近期个展包括:“内生风景”(誌屋北京,北京,2021年)、“面壁与破壁”(广东美术馆,广州,2021年)“生长—陈彧君个展”(龙美术馆,上海,2021年)、“每个自己”(阿拉里奥画廊,首尔,2020年)、“陈彧君”(当代唐人艺术中心,北京,2019年)、“亚非拉的雨水”(仁庐,上海,2019年)、“来自金顶的反光”(仁庐,上海,2018年)、“故土不乡愁”(阿拉里奥画廊 & BANK,2017年)、“第二道门”(柯恩画廊,上海,2015年)、“临时房间”(博而励画廊,北京,2012年)、“空房间”(博而励画廊,北京,2010年)等。与陈彧凡的双人展包括:“木兰溪/渡”(A+ Contemporary 亚洲当代艺术空间,台北,2018年)、“木兰溪/厝”(佩塔提科瓦美术馆,佩塔提科瓦,2017年)、“白色”(当代唐人艺术中心,香港,2016年)、“空间志No.1”(AYE画廊,北京,2014年)、“木兰溪/不居”(Zhong画廊,柏林,2012年)、“木兰溪”(博而励画廊,北京,2011年)等。

陈彧君的作品曾在龙美术馆(上海,2020/2014年)、北京民生现代美术馆(北京,2019/2017/2015年)、关渡美术馆(台北,2018年)、OCAT上海馆(上海,2017年)、今日美术馆(北京,2016年)、红专厂当代艺术馆(广州,2015年)、寺上美术馆(北京,2015年)、关山月美术馆(深圳,2013年)、格罗宁根美术馆(格罗宁根,2013年)、印度尼西亚国家美术馆(雅加达,2013年)、尤伦斯当代艺术中心(北京,2013年)、威内托科技艺术馆(威尼斯,2012年)、时代美术馆(北京,2010年)等知名机构展出,并参与第二届安仁双年展(2019年)、第八届深圳雕塑双年展(2014年)、第二届成都双年展(2005年)等重要展览。

公共机构收藏包括:阿拉里奥美术馆(首尔)、布鲁克林美术馆(纽约)、DSL收藏(巴黎)、广东美术馆(广州)、和美术馆(佛山)、何香凝美术馆(深圳)、龙美术馆(上海)、洛杉矶郡立艺术博物馆(洛杉矶)、M+希克藏品(香港)、油罐艺术中心(上海)、白兔收藏 / 白兔美术馆(悉尼)、余徳耀美术馆(上海)等。
购票信息
免费
© 2022 龙美术馆 版权所有 沪ICP备12048670号-1