Current Exhibitions

Zhang Enli: A Room with Colour

2021.9.19-2021.12.12
Long Museum Chongqing

Artist Zhang Enli
Curator Wang Wei
From 19th September to 12th December 2021, Long Museum (Chongqing) will present the exhibition “Zhang Enli: A Room with Colour”. Curated by Wang Wei, director of the Long Museum, is the first major retrospective of Zhang’s works in the Southwest of China. It will feature over 70 works, including urban portraits from the 1990s to the early 2000s, depictions of everyday objects from the 2000s to the 2010s, abstract paintings and “space painting” installations created in recent years, as well as several manuscripts and a video. These works systematically present the artist’s 30-year creative journey. 

Zhang’s works have been collected by the Tate Modern, and have been exhibited at the Centre Pompidou in Paris, amongst other institutions. Each stage of Zhang’s works has its own style, but the changes in theme and technique are not sudden, but rather a natural shift in style throughout his work. When we look closely at Zhang’s different series of works, we can perceive the intimate connection between them, that is, the artist’s constant concern for humanity, for everyday objects, for life, and for space.  

The first part of the exhibition begins with figurative portraits, created between 1990 and 2005. These depict ordinary people in meat markets, pubs, dance halls, banquets, and baths, which were central themes in the artist’s work from the 1990s to the beginning of the new century. Chinese society in the 1990s experienced rapid change under the wave of reform, with people reveling in the new and trendy consumer culture brought about by rapid urbanization. As a marginalized artist in a neglected corner of Shanghai, Zhang was both a calm observer and an active participant in the whirlwind of the times in which he lived. The imagery in his paintings come from friends and colleagues around him, such as a woman walking down the street, people buying food in the vegetable market, and so on. Through the observation of different characters and scenery, the essence of the artist’s exploration is reflected: a constant concern for the human condition, as well as for himself, which has been present throughout his entire artistic career. 

The second part of the exhibition is a continuation of the series of everyday objects from 2003 to the 2010s, ranging from figurative “objects” to universal “objects” that use pure blocks of colour, line, and shape as a means of expression. The object is a functional presence that is always associated with people, but it is also an ordinary reality of existence in space. The presence of objects tells an implicit narrative about people, and as a universal presence in the human environment, it reflects the state of human life. The everyday objects series has been an iconic period throughout the artist’s career for over a decade, and the objects in this exhibition include leather tubes, cardboard boxes, ball nets, mattresses, iron frame beds, mosaic containers, trees, lamps, sofas, and much more. Zhang’s paintings have shifted from the noisy and loud expression of “People” to the silent period of “Objects”, with works such as “Container”, “Rope and leather tube”, “Tree”, and “Mosaic” being the main inspirational pieces for development, as well as for the exploration of abstract space paintings. 

The third part of the exhibition is the “Portrait series”, featuring new works from the last three years. Zhang reinterprets the impressions that remain in his mind onto canvas, through colour, form, composition, mood, and spatial feeling. They are abstract in expression, but all have a figurative name, often named after the character’s occupation, state, experience and other characteristics. The titles of the pieces represent the artist’s exploration of the influence of the subconscious mind on memory and the abstract understanding of different characters states. Starting from the traces left in the depths of memory, the artist’s scribbles represent moments from the past, whilst improvising to capture the changes in personal psychology and environment in the present, condensing multiple dimensions of time, space, events, and individual reality onto the same piece of work. The seemingly irregular use of lines, blocks of colour and brush strokes are influenced from Zhang’s experience of traditional painting. Through time, by breaking down one’s inner habits and integrating the subtle perceptions of the external environment, the original strength and power of painting is achieved. 

In addition, it is also worth mentioning that Zhang will present three “Space painting” installations in accordance with the spatial structure of Long Museum (Chongqing), including the large-scale cardboard box installation “Three-Storied Tower” (2020) in the atrium on the ground floor, “The Colourful Floor” (2019) in the exhibition hall on the first floor, and “The Pendulous Pipe” (2014). Through these works, viewers can see Zhang’s innate heightened sensitivity to space and painting. The artist’s use of cardboard boxes to construct large-scale painting installations echoes his long-standing concern with everyday objects. It is precisely these ordinary objects that make it easier for the viewer to enter his work and be moved by it. 

About the Artist

Zhang Enli was born in Jilin province in 1965. He graduated from Wuxi Technical University, Arts and Design Institute in 1989. Zhang currently is living and working in Shanghai. Mundane objects and the traces of daily life activities are the dominant depicted subjects in Zhang Enli’s works. The muted tones and loose washes of paint intertwine with the expressive lines and curves that make the objects seem removed as if occupying a liminal reality where only the essence of the object is portrayed on the canvas. In his series of installations, known as Space Paintings, he creates the immersive space that suspends the audience into the void of time and space by incorporating with environment, history, and personal experience. Zhang Enli’s depiction on the prosaic aspects of contemporary life leads viewers to think about the proposition of existence.

Zhang Enli’s work has been featured in numerous important exhibitions, including Long Museum Chongqing (2021);  Power Station of Art, Shanghai (2020); Hauser & Wirth, Zurich (2020); Xavier Hufkens, Brussels, Belgium (2019); Galleria Borghese, Rome, Italy (2019); K11 Art Foundation (2019); Royal Academy of Arts, London, UK (2018); Hauser & Wirth, New York (2018); Firstsite, Colchester, England (2017); Moca, Taipei, China (2015); ShanghART, Shanghai, China (2015); Hauser & Wirth, London (2014); K11 Art Foundation, HK, China (2014); Villa Croze, Genoa, Italy (2013); Institute of Contemporary Arts, London, England (2013); Shanghai Art Museum, Shanghai, China (2011); Minsheng Art Museum, Shanghai, China (2010); and Ikon Gallery, Birmingham, England (2009), a presentation which travelled to Kunsthalle Bern, Berne, Switzerland (2009) etc.

Zhang Enli’s work was also featured in UCCA Edge, Shanghai (2021); Fondazione Prada, Italy (2018), the Museum of Modern Art Antwerp, Belgium (2018); 1st Antarctic Biennale, Antarctica (2017); Centre Pompidou, Paris, France (2016); PAC-Milan Museum of Contemporary Art, Italy (2015); Lehmbruck Museum, Duisburg, Germany (2015); Tate Modern, London (2015); the Yokohama Triennale, Japan (2014); Vancouver Art Gallery, Canada (2014); Contemporary Art Museum of the Rubell Family Collection, Miami, U.S.A. (2013); Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery, Birmingham, U.K.(2013); Kochi-Muziris, Kochi, India (2012); The First Chinese Oil Painting Biennial, Instituto Paranaense de Arte, Curitiba, Brazil (2011); The Eighth Gwangju Biennale, Korea (2010); The 7th Shanghai Biennale, Shanghai(2008); Villa Manin-Centre for Contemporary Art Passariano, Italy (2006) etc.
Ticket Information
Tickets:Free
© 2021  Long Museum  All Rights Reserved. 沪ICP备12048670号-1

正在展览

张恩利:有颜色的房子

2021.9.19-2021.12.12
龙美术馆 重庆馆

艺术家 张恩利
策划 王薇
2021年9月19日至12月12日,龙美术馆(重庆馆)将推出展览“张恩利:有颜色的房子”。本次展览由龙美术馆馆长王薇策划,是张恩利首次在祖国西南地区举办的大型回顾展,展出作品70余件,涵盖1990年代至2000年代初的城市人物肖像作品,2000年代至2010年代对于日常之物的描绘,近几年创作的抽象绘画和空间绘画装置,以及数件艺术家手稿,一件影像纪录片,系统地呈现艺术家30余年的创作历程。

张恩利的作品被泰特美术馆收藏,曾在巴黎蓬皮杜艺术中心等机构展出,每个阶段的作品都独具其风格,但创作的主题或技法上的改变并不突然,而是贯穿其创作风格的自然转变。当我们仔细观看张恩利不同系列的作品时,便能察觉到作品之间内在的联系,即艺术家自始至终保持着对人文、对日常物、对生活、对空间的持续关注和关怀。

展览第一个篇章将以创作于1990年至2005年的具象人物肖像画为开端,描绘了肉市、酒馆、舞池、宴席、澡池里的寻常人物,这是张恩利在九十年代和新世纪初的核心主题。九十年代的中国社会在改革的浪潮下经历着快速的变革,人们在高速的城市进程化带来的消费时尚文化与时代中狂欢。作为一个当时被边缘化的艺术家,在上海一个被忽视的角落里,张恩利既是一个冷静的观察者,又是所处时代的漩涡中积极的参与者。他画中的形象来自于身边的朋友、同事、街上走过的某个女人、菜市场里买菜的人等等。通过对观察到的不同人物与场景,来体现艺术家探索的实质:对人类状况,也包括他自身的持续关注,这种关注贯穿了其整个艺术生涯。

第二个篇章将延续2003年至2010年代的日常物系列作品,既有具象“物”,也有以纯粹的色块、线条、形状为表现手段的具有普遍意义的“物”。物,即作为时刻与人关联的功能性存在,也是空间内物理存在的一种寻常现实。物体的存在讲述了与人有关的隐性叙事,作为人类生存环境中的普遍存在,它反映出人的生活状态。日常物系列作为标志性时期贯穿艺术家创作实践十余年之久。本次展览的日常物包括皮管、纸盒、球网、球、床垫、铁架床、马赛克容器、树、灯、沙发等等。张恩利的绘画从喧嚣、嘈杂的“人”的表达转向了缄默的“物”的时期,并以物拓展出“容器”、“绳子与皮管”、“树”和“马赛克”系列作为主要发展的脉络,以及未来面向空间抽象绘画探索的线索。

第三个篇章将展出“肖像系列”作品,以近三年的新作为主。张恩利将停留于心间的印象通过颜色、形式、构图、情绪、空间感受等方式重新演绎于画布上。它们以抽象为表现形式,但都有一个具象的名字,通常以人物的职业、状态、经历等特点命名——以具象概述的标题展现了艺术家探究自我潜意识对于记忆的影响以及不同人物状态的抽象化理解。艺术家从记忆深处遗留下的痕迹出发,涂抹的痕迹既提取了过去历史的精粹时刻,同时即兴捕捉了当下个人心理和环境的变化,将时间、空间、事件与个体现实等多个维度的发展凝练于同一平面上。这些看似无规律可循的线条、色块以及笔触的运用源自于艺术家多年来受传统绘画的影响。经时间的沉淀,通过打破个人内在的习性,融汇外部环境的细微感知,从而达到绘画本初的力量。

值得一提的是,本次展览艺术家还将根据龙美术馆(重庆馆)的空间结构,呈现3件“空间绘画”装置作品,包括位于一楼中庭的大型纸盒装置《三层塔》(2020),二楼展厅内的《彩色地板》(2019)、《悬垂的皮管子》(2014)。通过这些作品,观众将看到张恩利与生俱来的对于空间和绘画的高度敏感。张恩利运用纸盒来构建大型绘画装置,也回应了他一直以来对日常之物的关注。也恰恰是这些平常之物,让观者更容易进入作品,被作品打动。

关于艺术家

张恩利,1965年生于吉林。1989年毕业于无锡轻工业大学艺术学院,现生活工作在上海。张恩利的作品一直专注于描绘寻常事物以及日常生命活动的痕迹。他常将勾画出的无以名状的线条与抽象掩映的色块相互转化,使画面获得具体的质感与体量感。他的绘画装置作品通过融合环境、历史与个体经验的体悟,创造性地将观者置于时间与空间叙事的双重虚空之中。张恩利通过描绘常在事物的不同角度,引发观者对“存在”这个命题的不断思考。

张恩利在世界各地的多个重要机构举办过个展,包括龙美术馆重庆馆(2021)、上海当代艺术博物馆(2020)、苏黎世Hause & Wirth画廊(2020)、比利时霍夫肯画廊(2019)、意大利博尔盖塞美术馆(2019)、上海K11艺术基金会(2019)、英国皇家艺术研究院(2018)、纽约Hause & Wirth画廊(2018)、英国Firstsite美术馆(2017)、中国台北MOCA(2015)、香格纳画廊(2015)、伦敦Hause & Wirth画廊(2014)、中国香港KAF(2014)、意大利VILLA CROCE当代艺术博物馆(2013)、伦敦ICA(2013)、上海美术馆(2011)、上海民生现代美术馆(2010)、Ikon美术馆(2009)以及瑞士伯尔尼美术馆(2009)等。

张恩利的群展展出机构包括尤伦斯艺术中心UCCA EDGE(2021)、普拉达基金会(2018)、比利时安特卫普当代美术馆(2018)、首届南极双年展(2017)、巴黎蓬皮杜艺术中心(2016)、PAC-米兰当代美术馆(2015)、德国勒姆布鲁克博物馆(2015)、泰特美术馆(2015)、横滨三年展(2014)、加拿大温哥华美术馆(2014)、美国卢贝尔家族收藏美术馆(2013)、英国伯明翰美术馆(2013)、印度双年展(2012)、第六届库里提巴双年展(2011)、光州双年展(2010)、第七届上海双年展(2008)以及意大利VILLA MANIN当代艺术中心(2006)等。
购票信息
门票:免费
© 2021 龙美术馆 版权所有 沪ICP备12048670号-1