Past Exhibitions

Ye Maozhong Art Exhibition

2021.5.29-2021.8.8
Long Museum Chongqing

Artist Ye Maozhong
Curator Liu Yiqian
From May 29 to August 8, 2021, the exhibition “Ye Maozhong Art Exhibition”which curated by Mr Liu Yiqian, the founder of the Long Museum, will tour in Long Museum (Chong Qing)with the duration of more than two months.

In addition to all the works have been showed in Shanghai debut, in this exhibition we add one more new piece which freshly made by artist in spring, 2021,in a summary of 151 excellent artworks will be displayed. This exhibition divides into four sections: Gratitude for Painting, Setting Sail, Learning from the Good Fortune, and Meeting the Sages. This exhibition presents as much as possible the comprehensive view of the artist includes his creative trajectory of various types of painting such as western paintings, imitations, and sketch art, which aims to allow audience to fully understand Ye Maozhong- a person who wanders between nature and ink art world.There is a particular hall sharing the highlights of speech given by more than 20 scholars, artists in the seminar regarding the exhibition and the creativity spirit of the artist, an video playback area will be also set to show the opening event of the first exhibition in Shanghai. Meanwhile, this exhibition will be also introduced in university, a lecture about Ye Maozhong Art Exhibtion will be taken place in Sichuan Fine Arts Institute on May 27. We invite Xiao Gu, the ex-dean of Shanghai Oil Painting Sculpture Institute, Xie Xiaodong, the founder of Beijing ZaiArt Technology Company, and artist Wan Heng. The three guests will conduct a discussion about the artistic world of Ye Maozhong, together with the faculty and students there.  

Ye Maozhong is a professor at Peking University, as well as a well-known brand marketing planner, art collector, and artist. Y’s art collection is dominated by modern Chinese masters such as Fu Baoshi, Xu Beihong, Huang Binhong, etc. His collection of modern paintings and calligraphy works is enormous and “incomparable nation-widely”, said by Liu Yiqing. Ye Maozhong’s collection stems from his love for painting. When he was 4 years old, his father drew a boat on the back of a cigarette box, which triggered his interest in painting. He began to save money to buy and imitate comics after he went to elementary school. When he was in middle school, he was able to help school art teachers with Chinese landscape paintings and flower-and-bird paintings. Ye Maozhong was admitted to the local cultural center in Taizhou, and learned art from Wu Junsheng, a student of Fu Baoshi. Ye Maozhong got into Design for Stage major at Jiangsu School of Theater Arts, and his professor Tai Qiyou was also a student of Fu Baoshi. 

Influenced by the art style of his professors and Fu Baoshi, Ye Maozhong likes to create his painting using the method of “Bao Shicun.” His proficiency in the use of “Bao Shicun” makes his imitations extremely close to the original artworks. However, Ye Maozhong did not only imitate Fu Baoshi’s paintings but also paintings from Shi Tao, Bada Shanren, Wang Meng, and Wang Gongwang. By doing so, he mastered the basics of brush and ink, and tried to break through the gap between the ancients and himself.
As said by Ye Maozhong, “I’ve always been fascinated with the spiritual temperament of Song and Yuan Dynasty’s paintings. Paintings of Song Dynasty showing cares to natural, and focusing on the specification of ink created by painters; Paintings from Yuan Dynasty is about my self-spiritual caring, presenting the height of ink formed by calligraphy and painting technically. Even thou can’t reach the caring spiritual it had shown to natural and spiritual, but still yearn for it.” In recent years, Ye Maozhong has started to create more sketch art.

As the exhibition opens, the album of the same name will be released simultaneously, as well as the collection of speeches given in the opening exhibition seminar that responds the exhition, offering various perspectives on the artist’s creativity and bringing an unique way of reading that’s different from the exhibition, The album is prefaced by the curator Liu Yiqian and also includes an introduction by Ye Maozhong, a commentary by Tang Zheming, and an enormous of artworks by Ye Maozhong.The collection of speech assembles completely the discussions of more that 20 well-known experts, scholars,and artists revolving around the exhibition, the artist and his art creation in the seminar held on October 17, 2020 at Long Museum (West Bund).
Ticket Information
Free
© 2021  Long Museum  All Rights Reserved. 沪ICP备12048670号-1

往期展览

叶茂中画展

2021.5.29-2021.8.8
龙美术馆 重庆馆

艺术家 叶茂中
策展人 刘益谦
2021年5月29日至8月8日,由龙美术馆创办人刘益谦先生担任策展人的“叶茂中画展”巡回至龙美术馆(重庆馆),在渝展出,为期2个多月的展期中,对所有观众免费开放。

本展在上海首展的基础上,新增1件画家2021年春的新作,共计展出151件画家精彩力作。展览分为感恩有画、扬帆起航、会师先贤、师法造化四个区块,尽可能在一定的时间轴上呈现画家的创作全貌,并勾勒出画家在西画、师古、写生等各门类绘画上的学习及创作轨迹,展现一位徜徉于笔墨与造化中的叶茂中的心灵及艺术世界。展厅中特辟艺术长廊分享研讨会上二十余位学者、艺术家对画展及画家艺术创作的精彩发言内容,并设影像播放专区呈现上海首展开幕盛况。与此同时,本次展览亦将于5月27日走进高校,在四川美术学院举办叶茂中画展对谈讲座,邀请原上海油画雕塑院院长肖谷、在艺科技创始人谢晓冬、画家万亨三位嘉宾与师生一同探讨叶茂中的艺术世界。  

叶茂中是北京大学研究生导师,同时也是知名的品牌营销策划人、收藏家、画家。叶茂中的收藏以傅抱石、徐悲鸿、黄宾虹、吴冠中、赵无极等中国近现代大师为主,其收藏的近现代书画作品之丰富,刘益谦称“当下国内无几人可比”。叶茂中的收藏源于他对绘画的喜爱。4岁时父亲随手在香烟壳背面画的一条船,萌发了叶茂中对绘画的兴趣,读小学后开始攒钱买连环画、临摹连环画,至中学时,已经能帮着学校美术老师给山水画、花鸟画上色。中学毕业后,叶茂中考入泰州当地的文化馆,师从傅抱石的学生吴骏圣,18岁考入江苏省戏剧学校舞台美术专业,师从傅抱石的学生邰启佑。

受两位老师及傅抱石笔墨影响,叶茂中创作山水画喜欢用抱石皴,其对抱石皴法的使用熟练程度,“堪能乱真”。然而叶茂中远不止在傅抱石画格中用力,而是进而远追石涛、八大山人,并上溯元人王蒙、黄公望,通过临摹大师作品,掌握笔墨的基本规律,试图借造化来彻底打通自己与古人之间的隔阂。“宋元绘画的精神气质一直是我向往的。宋画对宇宙自然的关怀,技术上体现在外师造化形成的笔墨法度;元画对自我心灵的关怀,技术上体现在以书入画形成的笔墨高度。绘画中对宇宙自然与自我心灵的关怀,虽不能至,然心向往之。”叶茂中自述。近年来叶茂中开始转向写生创作。

展览除刊印限量展览画册外,同时发行“叶茂中画展”开幕研讨会文集与展览相呼应,提供观者理解画家艺术创作的多样的观展及阅读路径。画册由策展人刘益谦作序,包括一篇叶茂中的自述,一篇汤哲明的评论文章,以及画家丰富全面的艺术创作。研讨会文集则完整集结了2020年10月17日龙美术馆(西岸馆)“叶茂中画展”开幕学术研讨会上,二十位著名专家、学者与艺术家们围绕展览与叶茂中及其艺术创作所做的发言探讨。
购票信息
免费
© 2021 龙美术馆 版权所有 沪ICP备12048670号-1