Current Exhibitions

William Monk: Psychopomp

2024.1.13-2024.3.24
LONG MUSEUM WEST BUND

Artist William Monk

From January 13 to March 24, 2024, the staircase gallery of the Long Museum (West Bund) will present Psychopomp, artist William Monk’s first museum solo exhibition in Asia. The show consists of 19 paintings created between 2019 and 2023. Produced over the last four years, the canvases are as autobiographical as they are abstract. Having lived in cities such as London, Paris, Amsterdam, and New York, much of the work in this exhibition was made in his studio in London where he was quarantined during the pandemic and his studio in Brooklyn, New York.


Monk is a seer of sorts, using his canvases as portals into another realm. Whether that realm is one of fantasy or reality, only he may know. Working with oil paint on canvas, the artist moves through and onto each surface as if guided by a spiritual source. His work traverses any definition of time, harkening back to a moment not easily defined in art history. It’s as if a natural phenomena has taken place on each surface, an eclipse of sorts. The paintings are abstract and strangely recognizable, even if the viewer just grasps at visual symbols in hopes of finding clarity or familiarity. His thin applications of paint are a gauzy curtain that if shifted would reveal a window into a new or different world. One might think of the concept of journeying through time or what others might see as a result of a Vision Quest Ceremony, an entryway into the subconscious mind. Monk’s work opens a vast if uncanny dialogue with a higher power that seems to be a guiding force.


In a body of work titled, The Ferryman (2019-2022), Monk conjures what could be figures, sculptural and unnamed, that emerge from landscapes only defined by color fields. Warm pinks, rusty brick colored reds, earthen hues, and pastel blue together in conglomerate form a mountainous triangular shape. Centrally placed,  architectural figures sit or stand right on the edge of the canvas, cropped just above what would be the waist. With titles such as Underworld Psychopomp (the ferryman), 2020-2022, and The Ferryman (ship of fools), 2019-2022, Monk allows for a vagueness or distance that is just far enough for inquiry and wonder.  Indeed the ferryman, in Monk’s mindseye, emerges from dissecting the cover artwork from the Beatles’ Yellow Submarine, a metaphorical symbol of youth.   


Parallel to The Ferryman, a series of circular canvases are on view. Volleying in coloration between shades of bright yellow, pink and deep violet, at first glance they look like large pupils or the globular expanse of the sun. Each of these works are painted with strokes that go inward bringing our gaze into an apex of light, Son (return I, II, III), 2021-2022, or darkness, Nova (deadeye I, II, III), 2021-2022, respectively. Like the non-descript figures in The Ferryman, these circular paintings seem to embody or summon a far-off star. Yet, whereas The Ferryman are grounded, these are ethereal and without gravity, installed in succession, appearing to float. The circular forms are an illusion of classic perspective, each surface becoming slightly smaller,  traversing space.  Monk moves his brush lyrically on each surface, as if through a hallucinogenic lens, a distant memory, or a recurring dream.


The use of the word son is repeated once again in Son of Nowhere, a series of four, nearly square paintings made in 2023. These, unlike the spiritual or figurative notations in the aforementioned canvases, feature stark rectangular forms painted in muted shades of seafoam blues, deep clay orange, and an unsuspecting yellow. The painted totems sit on the lower edge of the canvases, pointed towards the same pale pink sky, situated on the same lightly defined sandy earth.


In an interview with Dan Golden for Curator William Monk stated, “I think very much about how an individual might be in front of my work.” He continues, describing environment and installation, “Space and time are everything. It takes time to take in space. Our eyes will track across a space, a painting or a room or anything. It will track and stop only at a point of contrast. Let that moment be special. Beautiful or disturbing — whatever, but let it not be a waste of our time.”


All of the paintings in Psychopomp conceptually create space for an expansive interpretation to seek beyond what is earthly, and without walls. Painting can be just that. The artist seeks truth whether personal or collective. It's this same passion and obsession that Monk embodies in his Smoke Ring Mountain series —one that may even happen after staring too long at the sun.

“A very great vision is needed, and the man who has it must follow it as the eagle seeks the deepest blue of the sky,” said Lakota warrior Crazy Horse. The artist’s mountain has been made using Pointillism, numerous small, colorful dots. Corresponding with the soft tonality and subtle palette of each work, Monk is able to navigate a microcosm all his own within the scope of the canvas. Without any direct references to figuration or narrative representation outside of what is proposed through the title, the world within the Smoke Ring Mountain series is reliant upon the relationship between the audience and the landscape in which it exists.


William Monk’s paintings delve into metaphorical arenas. They encapsulate complex narratives without ever having to use the written or spoken word. And where the unspoken might at once seem like a void, in this exhibition it is indeed filled with a metaphysical blueprint, just like the star we may never see with the naked eye, invisible but ever present.


Text by Katy Diamond Hamer


About the Artist


William Monk (b. 1977, Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom) is known for his vibrant compositions that feature mysterious and otherworldly forms. The artist’s semi-abstract paintings are deeply engaged with the rich tradition and history of the medium. Monk paints enigmatic and vibrant works, using starkly divisional compositions and often works in extensive series that gradually evolve over time. The canvases carry irregular intensities of detail, line, foreground and background, a sense of repetition breaks down the figuration, creating visual mantras. This rhythm happens throughout Monk’s work, surrendering figurative logic to arrive at something stranger and more powerful. Atmospheric and energetic, these paintings invite a more direct physical connection, drawing in the space between our inner and outer realms of experience.

He was awarded the Koninklijke Prijs voor Vrije Schilderkunst (Dutch Royal Award for Painting) in 2005 and the Jerwood Contemporary Painters award in 2009. Monk’s work has been exhibited at Pace Gallery, Hong Kong, London, and New York; Fries Museum, Leeuwarden, Netherlands; Museum Het Valkhof, Nijmegen, Netherlands; Kunstmuseum, The Hague; Van Gogh Museum, Amsterdam; Norwich University, Norwich; PSL, Leeds; and Summerfield Gallery, Cheltenham, London. His work can be found in the collections of the Kunstmuseum, The Hague; He Art Museum, Foshan, China; Long Museum, Shanghai; Sifang Art Museum, Nanjing; AkzoNobel Art Foundation, Amsterdam; Roberts Institute of Art, London; Fries Museum, Leeuwarden; ING Art Collection, Amsterdam; Whitworth Art Gallery, University of Manchester, Manchester; ICA Miami; Blenheim Art Foundation; Marciano Art Foundation, and in many private collections. The artist lives and works in New York.

© 2024  Long Museum  All Rights Reserved. 沪ICP备12048670号-1

正在展览

威廉·蒙克:引灵人

2024.1.13-2024.3.24
龙美术馆西岸馆

艺术家 威廉·蒙克

2024年1月13日至3月24日,龙美术馆(西岸馆)阶梯展厅将呈现威廉·蒙克在亚洲的首场美术馆个展“引灵人”。该展览由他从 2019 年至 2023 年创作的 19 幅画作组成。这些画作既有自传性,亦有抽象性。蒙克曾居于伦敦、巴黎、阿姆斯特丹和纽约等城市,此次展览的大部分作品皆为他在疫情隔离期间于伦敦的工作室及纽约布鲁克林的工作室创作完成。


蒙克仿佛是一位预言家,以画布作为传送门,进入另一个空间。也许只有他才知道那个空间是幻想还是现实。艺术家在画布上使用油彩,在一种精神力量的指引下穿透并进入每一张画作表面。他的作品跨越了时间,让人回想起艺术史上那些难以定义时刻,仿佛每个作品的表面都产生了自然现象,好似日食一般。这些画作抽象但却又奇妙地具有辨识度,即便观众只是试图在视觉符号中寻找一种清晰感或熟悉感。稀薄的油彩像一层纱幔,一旦移开便会揭示一个通往新异世界的窗口。人们可能会想到时间穿越的概念,或者有些人可能将蒙克的作品视为一种“异像寻求仪式”的结果,一个跨进潜意识的入口。蒙克的作品开启了与一种更高力量的广阔而神秘的对话,该力量似乎是他创作的一种引导力。


在题为“摆渡人”(创作于2019-2022年)的一组作品中,蒙克从仅由色块组成的风景中勾勒出一些类人的、具有雕塑性的无名形象。温暖的粉色、铁锈红色、土色和柔和的蓝色组合在一起,形成了状似山体的三角形。建筑般的人形位于画布中央,或坐或立于画布底边,构图似乎恰好裁剪到人形腰部的上方。通过如《引灵人(摆渡人)》和《摆渡人(愚人之船)》等作品标题,蒙克创造出一种模糊性或距离感,引起观者的惊奇与想象。的确,在蒙克的心目中,“摆渡人”是从对披头士乐队《黄色潜水艇》专辑封面艺术作品的解构中浮现出来的,是青春的象征符号。


“摆渡人”系列同时展出的还有一系列圆形画作。这些作品的颜色徘徊于明艳的黄色、粉色和深紫色之间,乍一看仿佛巨大的瞳孔或太阳的球状扩张。每副画作的笔触都向内伸展,将我们的目光带入子(回归 I、II、III)”的光的巅峰或“新星(死眼 I、II、III)”的极度黑暗之中。就像“摆渡人”作品中那些难以描述的形象一样,这些圆形画作似乎在体现或召唤一个遥远的星球。“摆渡人”是扎根于地面的,而这些画作却是空灵而失重的。它们依次悬挂于展厅中,好似漂浮在空中一般。这些圆形构成了经典透视的幻觉,画布逐渐缩小,创造出一个空间的穿越。蒙克通过幻觉般的镜头、遥远的记忆或反复出现的梦境,在画布上抒情地挥洒彩墨。


2023 年创作的四幅近乎方形的“无处之子”系列作品,标题再次采用了“子”这个词。这些作品与上述系列中的精神符号或形象符号不同,它们采用了柔和的水蓝色、赤陶色和跳脱的黄色,绘制出边缘分明的矩形。四张画中的图腾皆位于画布的下缘,指向相似的浅粉色天空,伫立于同样轻微勾勒出的沙地上。


蒙克在接受《策展人》平台创意总监丹·戈尔登采访时表示:“我非常在意每个人面对我作品时的状态。”在他看来,对于展览空间和布展,“空间和时间就是一切。感受空间需要时间。我们的目光会扫过一个空间、一幅画、一个房间或任何一件东西。目光会一直跟踪并仅在对比点停留。就让目光停留的那一刻变得特别吧。美丽也好,令人不安也好——无论如何,但是别让它浪费我们的时间。


本次展览引灵人”的所有作品从概念上给一切阐释超越尘世和界限的存在创造了空间。绘画可以只是如此。艺术家寻求真理,无论是个人的还是集体的。蒙克在他的“烟圈山”系列中也展现了同样的热忱和痴迷——这种情感甚至可能在长时间凝视太阳后出现。印第安原住民拉科塔部落战士疯马曾说道:“(我们)需要一个非常伟大的异象,拥有这个异象的人必须追随它,就像雄鹰寻找天空中最深的蓝色一样。”“烟圈山”系列中的“山”使用了点彩画法,由无数细小而色彩斑斓的点组成。与每件作品柔和的色调和精细的选色相呼应,蒙克能够在画布上的微观世界里自由驰骋。除了标题本身的指向外,“烟圈山”系列中的世界没有任何直接的人物形态或叙事表现,完全依赖于观众与其所在的景观之间的关系。


威廉·蒙克的画作深入探讨了隐喻性的领域。他的创作没有使用书面或口头语言,却涵盖复杂的叙述。那些未能言表的东西乍一看似乎是虚幻的,但这次展览充满了形而上的蓝图,就像我们肉眼永远看不到的星星一样,看不见却永远存在。


撰文:凯蒂·戴蒙德·翰墨


关于艺术家


威廉·蒙克(William Monk,1977 年生于英国泰晤士河畔金斯顿)以其描绘神秘超凡形态的画作而闻名其半抽象绘画深受该媒介的悠久传统和历史的启发。蒙克使用鲜明的分割构图,创作引人入胜、色彩鲜明的绘画;他也经常深度创作系列作品,这些系列会随着时间的推移而逐渐演变。画作展现出不规则的细节、线条、前景和背景;其中,一种重复性打破了形象的呈现,创造出视觉上的“咒语”。这种节奏贯穿蒙克的创作——放弃具象的逻辑以达到更奇特有力的效果。蒙克的画作大气磅礴,与观者建立更直接的实体连结,拉近我们内在与外在体验之间的空间距离。


蒙克于2005年荣获荷兰皇家绘画奖,并于2009年荣获杰伍德当代画家奖。蒙克的作品曾展出于佩斯画廊(香港、伦敦及纽约)、弗里斯博物馆(荷兰吕伐登)、鹰庭博物馆 (荷兰奈梅亨)、海牙艺术博物馆、梵高美术馆 (荷兰阿姆斯特丹)、诺里奇大学 (英国诺里奇)、 Project Space Leeds (英国利兹)及萨默菲尔德画廊(伦敦)。他的作品被海牙艺术博物馆、广东和美术馆、龙美术馆、南京四方美术馆、荷兰阿克苏诺贝尔艺术基金会、伦敦罗伯茨艺术学院、荷兰弗里斯博物馆、荷兰 ING 艺术收藏、曼彻斯特大学惠特沃斯美术馆、迈阿密当代艺术中心、英国布伦海姆艺术基金会、洛杉矶马西亚诺艺术基金会等机构收藏,且被囊括在许多私人收藏之中。

© 2024 龙美术馆 版权所有 沪ICP备12048670号-1