Current Exhibitions

Qin Yifeng

2024.1.27-2024.3.31
LONG MUSEUM WEST BUND

Artist Qin Yifeng
Exhibition Coordinator Xiao Bin

The Long Museum (West Bund) is pleased to present Qin Yifeng, solo exhibition of artist Qin Yifeng. On view from January 27 to March 31, 2024, the exhibition features negative works by the artist, one of the most well-known and recurrent themes throughout Qin's practice. It's been over a decade since Qin Yifeng first started working on the negative series since 2010. Following the vein of time, the exhibition presents negative works created by Qin during different periods. Independently conceived but when presented in tandem with each other, the different series of works show multiple layers of superpositions and progressions which contain contradictions while also give out a sense of integrity. The over 200 pieces of gelatin silver negatives and giclee prints collectively form an epitome of Qin Yifeng’s artistic practice over the past decade.

 

Negatives featuring old and crumbling austere-style furniture pieces of Ming Dynasty and produced by Qin Yifeng between 2013 to 2023 constitute the main body of the exhibition. 27 giclee prints and 145gelatin silver negatives form the entirety of "twenty-seven couplets as one", occupying three gallery spaces. Qin Yifeng has been repetitively experimenting in these works: by photographing the three-dimensional into two-dimensional, dissolving the materiality of objects, making the visible invisible, and representing the ethereal sunlight in the form of a cube, multilayered contradictions progress further and further following the vein of time. The monumental height of the main gallery of the Long Museum imbues the exhibition design with new inspirations: the works are liberated from the walls – The new work composed of 24 gray cubes, 24 Blocks of Sunshine are placed on the floor for presentation for the very first time. It enhances the contradictions embedded in the works. Moreover, the confrontation between the space Qin Yifeng has compressed into his works during the past decade and the 12m-high gallery space instills the works with new vitality and complexity, making them the center of the exhibition.

 

In the world of photography, photo is deemed as "positive"; and film on the other hand, "negative" and is usually not presented independently in itself. Through a highly complicated filming process, Qin Yifeng manages to imbue the negative films with unique aesthetic and artistic value, which becomes his signature form of artistic expression. Concerning "negative" as a concept, Qin Yifeng said: "Negative films are not negative and do not mean the end. Instead, negative is to be converted into positive. In my mind there's no such a notion as 'negative'. Neither do I see it as merely film. Film is a material. It's neutral and not explanative. In my view, 'negative' stands for a position and I want this 'negative' position."

 

Qin Yifeng's investigation into negatives could be traced back to the book Round and Square – Austere Style Furniture of Ming Dynasty published in 2010. While taking pictures of a table corner from the Ming Dynasty, the idea of making three-dimensional objects flat through camera occurred to him. The creation of spatial contradictions by rendering the three-dimensional through two-dimensionality could be perceived in Qin's earlier paintings during the 1990s. Xian Chang ( field of lines) , one of Qin's earlier paintings, and Round and Square – Austere Style Furniture of Ming Dynasty are both on view at the exhibition, offering visitors insights into the artist's original motivation and how he started to work on negatives.

  

In recent years, Qin Yifeng has shifted his camera to roses. To dissolve the sense of three-dimensionality within the negative space, he introduced earthworm castings from his own courtyard into his works as painting material. As far as he's concerned, different from the rich cultural connotations embedded in the austere-style furniture of Ming Dynasty, roses are more approachable and easier to find. Both the crumbling pieces of furniture and withered roses indicate an end of life and regeneration afterwards. He chooses the after-images of life as the subject of his photographs, touching upon issues of death and termination, which, in his works, are reflected as further void and emptiness: within the grey bleakness, objects seem as if they were not there, almost vanishing. In the face of death and termination, how to experience them and reconcile with them are a recurrent theme in Qin's works.  

  

To truly understand Qin Yifeng's work takes insights into his "trinity-based" creation process: negative, negative screening and giclee print, which are all demonstrated in this exhibition. Qin deals with negatives very precisely and rigorously. He chooses specific types of camera and film, waits for sunlight to illuminate the objects evenly to make sure that every bit of the image is in focus, and names each negative based on the time of shooting and weather conditions. In the exhibition, the screening process of negatives and the results of such screening (giclee print) are both presented to the public, giving visitors the right for re-selection and free expression/interpretation. In the meantime, the multi-layered presentation provides visitors with multifaceted perceptions and experiences.

  

Contradiction is at the core of Qin Yifeng's practice. Intentionally or unintentionally, within the superpositions and collisions of multiple contradictions, Qin Yifeng's work renders the cycles of time, space and life, attempting to trace what it would be like after the end of life and the earth. It’s a proposition that is far more ambitious and beyond any known answers. As Qin puts it: "What’’ll be it like after life comes to an end? What’ll be it like after the earth comes to an end? I have no answers to these questions. I want to experience it through my work."

 

About the Artist

 

Qin Yifeng was born in 1961 in Qinghai, China, and moved to Shanghai the following year. He graduated from Shanghai Arts and Crafts College in 1983 and then continued his education at the College of Fine Arts, Shanghai University, completing his studies in 1989. He held a teaching post at Shanghai University till retirement. Qin began painting abstract works in 1983 and during the 85 New Wave Art Movement, he participated in the “Exhibition of Modern Art by Six Artists“ at Fudan University, Shanghai. In 1986 he created cloth sculptures and participated in a performance with Ding Yi and Zhang Guoliang at the “First Shanghai Concave-Convex Exhibition”. In 1989 Qin was included in “China/Avant-Garde Exhibition” organized by the National Art Museum of China, Beijing. Around 1992, he began a new series of abstract paintings titled The Cube; in 1993 developed a further series titled Xian Chang ( field of lines); and began to work on the Negative series in 2010. Qin was awarded the gold medal in the landscape design competition at the “10th National Art Exhibition” in 2004. In 2009, his publication Round and Square – Austere Style Furniture of Ming Dynasty was launched at am Art Space in Shanghai.

 

Qin Yifeng's recent solo exhibitions include: “Line & Field”, Mind Set Art Center, Taipei, 2016; “Qin Yifeng’s Works”, YUZ Museum, Shanghai, 2017; “Negative ReadingReading Negatives”, White Cube, Hong Kong, 2019; “Xian Zai An Yin”, MUD Gallery, Shanghai, 2021; “Disillusion”, Light Society, Beijing, 2022; “[10] [3] [7] [3]”, Magician Space, Beijing, 2023. Qin Yifeng has participated in group exhibitions at renowned institutions including Museum of Shanghai Academy of Fine Arts, Guangdong Museum of Art, PowerLong Museum, Ming Yuan Art Museum, and Long Museum.

© 2024  Long Museum  All Rights Reserved. 沪ICP备12048670号-1

正在展览

秦一峰

2024.1.27-2024.3.31
龙美术馆 西岸馆

艺术家 秦一峰
展览统筹 萧斌

2024127日至331日,龙美术馆(西岸馆)将呈现艺术家秦一峰全新同名个展“秦一峰”,聚焦秦一峰最广为人知的创作——负片作品。秦一峰的负片创作从2010年开始,已经持续十多年之久。本次展览将以时间为脉络,对其多个阶段的负片创作进行集中的对比展示。不同阶段的作品在创作之初彼此相互独立,在时间线索的串联下,在多重矛盾的叠加和递进中,又综合成完整的统一体。逾200多件负片原片和负片打印微喷构成了秦一峰十多年来艺术实践和艺术创作过程不断推进的缩影。


展览的主体部分将呈现秦一峰2013年至2023年以明代素工家具残件为对象拍摄的负片。27件打印微喷、145张负片原片构成的“27联为一”的整体,在展厅3个空间依次铺成开来。秦一峰在这些作品中反反复复进行着实验:把立体之物拍平,把物体的物质性消解,让可见之物消失,让缥缈的日光成为一个立方体再现,多层次的矛盾沿着时间脉络在作品中层层递进。龙美术馆主展厅巨大的挑高空间激发了展览新的布局形式:作品从墙面上解放——由24件灰色立方体组成的全新作品《24块阳光》首次以平置于地面的方式展示。这使作品的矛盾性进一步推进,同时,秦一峰这十年来压进画面里的空间与展厅12米上空形成对峙,为作品带来新的生命力和复杂性,成为本次展览的核心作品。


在摄影中,相对于照片这一正的存在,底片是一种负的存在,它通常不被作为一种呈现形式独立呈现。秦一峰通过极其复杂的拍摄处理,让底片承载了独特的美学和艺术价值,成为他终极的艺术表现形式。在谈及“负片”这一概念时,秦一峰说到“负片不是底片,底片不是终结,它是要转成正片的,在我这里,没有底这个概念;也不是胶片,胶片是一个材料,是个中性的,不说明问题。我把它说成是负片,‘负’就是立场,我要这个‘负’的立场。”


秦一峰的负片创作始于2010年出版《明式素工圆方形制》一书,在拍摄一明代桌角时萌生了将立体之物用相机拍平的想法。将三维立体通过二维平面呈现从而制造出空间矛盾,这在秦一峰1990年代的绘画创作中已然存在。本次展览也将通过一幅秦一峰早期《线场》系列绘画和《明式素工圆方形制》一书的展示,为观众提示秦一峰负片创作的原始动机和契机。

 

近年来秦一峰将创作镜头对准了玫瑰花,为了消解负片中的空间立体感,他将自家庭院中的蚯蚓土作为绘画材料引入到创作中。在秦一峰看来,相较于明式素工家具丰富的文化内涵,玫瑰花寻常易见。无论是家具残件还是枯萎的玫瑰,都是生命的一种终结,终结之后再生。他选择以生命的残像作为拍摄对象,指涉的是死亡和终结的命题,体现在画面中是更加的虚无:一片灰色的黯淡中,物体若有似无,几近消失。面对死亡,面对终结,如何去体验,如何去接受,这是秦一峰的创作反复触碰的主题。

 

正确认识秦一峰的作品需要深入了解其“三位一体”的创作过程:负片、负片筛选、打印微喷。这在本次展览中均得以体现。秦一峰的负片创作是极为严谨和苛刻的,他选用特定的相机和胶片,等待日光将物体均匀照亮,确保画面每一处都是实焦拍摄,并根据拍摄时的时间、天气状况给每张负片命名。本次展览将其对负片的筛选过程及筛选结果(打印微喷)同时呈现给公众,予以公众重新选择和自由表达的权利。同时,这样多层次的呈现方式也将为观众参观展览提供多个维度的观看途径和体验感受。


矛盾是贯穿于秦一峰创作始终的核心内容。在有意和无意产生的多重矛盾的叠加和碰撞中,秦一峰的作品演绎了时间、空间、生命的循环,并试图追寻关于生命和地球终结后的情形。这是一个更加宏大且无法获知结果的命题。正如秦一峰所说“所有生命结束以后会是什么?地球终结了以后还会是什么?这个问题我无法回答,我希望通过我的作品去体验。”

 

关于艺术家


秦一峰,1961年生于青海,1962年起定居上海。1983年毕业于上海工艺美校,1989年毕业于上海大学美术学院,后在该校任教。1983年开始抽象绘画创作。在85美术新潮期间,曾参与1985年复旦大学的“现代绘画-六人联展”;1986年与丁乙、张国梁合作行为艺术《布雕》,并参与“凹凸展”;1989年参与北京中国美术馆“中国现代艺术大展”。1992年创作《立方体》系列抽象绘画作品,1993年创作《线场》系列抽象绘画作品,2010年开始《负片》系列的拍摄创作,2004年获第十届全国美展环境艺术金奖,2009年,于上海上午艺术空间举办《明式素工圆方形制》书籍出版发布展。


近几年举办的个展包括:“线*场”,安卓艺术,台北,2016;“秦一峰展”,余德耀美术馆,上海,2017;“负读。读负”,白立方画廊,香港,2019;“现在安隐”,泥轩,上海,2021;“去幻”,光社影像中心,北京,2022;“[10][3][7][3]”,魔金石空间,北京,2023。并在上海美术学院美术馆、广东美术馆、宝龙美术馆、明圆美术馆、龙美术馆等机构参加群展。

© 2024 龙美术馆 版权所有 沪ICP备12048670号-1