Current Exhibitions

Becoming Harmonious: The Art of Li Hongwei

2022.11.10-2023.2.19
LONG MUSEUM WEST BUND

Artist Li Hongwei
Curator Wang wei
From November 10, 2022 to February 19, 2023, the West Wing Gallery of Long Museum (West Bund) will present the solo exhibition of artist Li Hongwei, "Becoming Harmonious- the Art of Li Hongwei", which is his first solo exhibition in museums of China. The exhibition is curated by Wang Wei, director of Long Museum. This exhibition will include the artist’s more than 20 pieces of sculptures and installation works, presents his earlier work “Allegory of Balance” series, the dynamic installation “Rebirth in Breakage”, as well as the continuous “Xuan” series and the “Upwelling of Gravity” series. In addition, Li Hongwei displays his latest work “Beyond the Height”, “Futurism” and “The Origin” series.

Li Hongwei started to draw and create sculptures in his youth. In 2000, he was admitted into the Sculpture Department at the Central Academy of Fine Arts (CAFA). In 2005, he went to America and furthered his education in ceramic art at Alfred University, New York, US. Being largely different from dematerialized art, Li Hongwei’s artworks involve the study of porcelain and the exploration of materials. Since 2009, Li Hongwei has experimented with different materials in his sculptures. After repeated explorations, the artist successfully used stainless steel and other materials with modern industrial properties along with ceramic materials in 2014, turning his artistic creation from traditional sculptures centered on the physical forms to the installation art with spatial manifestation. In "Allegory of Balance", the two materials, ceramic and stainless steel, still maintain respective independence. In Li Hongwei's subsequent series of works, "Upwelling of Gravity" and "Xuan," the traditional form and function of ceramic vessels are completely deconstructed; the pearly characteristics of the porcelain itself are harmoniously integrated with the mirror-like shiny surface of stainless steel. Hand-wrought stainless steel is cut and welded according to the irregular shape of the ceramic part; the two materials are perfectly jointed without any sense of incompatibility. The visual contrast between the eye-catching patterns of the crystalline glaze and the simple form of the sculpture greatly enriches the expressive quality of the artwork.

Li Hongwei's artworks metaphorically convey the philosophical examinations of interconnection, opposition, transformation, and symbiotic relationships between different contradictory forces. In his latest work “The Origin” series,he continuedly employ two frequently-used materials——fired porcelain and stainless steel. Those scattered crystalline glazed porcelain and cold stainless steel are coexisting and interdepending, fragmented yet integrated.The Chinese title 混沌, which indicates the origin of the universe, is one integrated whole, and the artist interprets it as an egg, in Chinese, “egg” 蛋 has the identical sound to the word 旦, meaning “the rising sun” and also alludes to诞,meaning “the birth”. Homophony application endows the work with oriental connotations. Its rounded and fluent lines and the smooth reflections of the surface of stainless steel, while the sunlight passing through the West Wing Gallery, add to the work an aesthetic and entertaining sense. 

About the artist

Li Hongwei (b.1980) is a contemporary artist. He works and lives in Beijing and New York. His works have been acquired by The British Museum, Boston Museum of Fine Arts, The Art Institute of Chicago, Philadelphia Museum of Art,  The Israel Museum, Harvard Art Museums, Yale Art Gallery, The Art Complex Museum, Kalamazoo Institute of Arts, Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, Museum of Art of the Rhode Island School of Design, Everson Museum of Art, Carnegie Museum of Art, Tang Teaching Museum, Crocker Art Museum, New Orleans Museum of Art, University of Kentucky Art Museum, Alfred Ceramic Art Museum, Vassar College Art Museum, The Israel Museum, He Art Museum, San Angelo Museum of Fine Arts. His works have been exhibited in a number of international art institutions, including The Art Institute of Chicago, the Philadelphia Museum of Art, the New Mexico Museum of Art, the Fox Art Gallery of the University of Pennsylvania, University of Kentucky Art Museum, Kalamazoo Institute of Arts, the Dublin Castle in Ireland, and the US Embassy, etc.
 
Hongwei holds a bachelor’s degree in sculpture from the Central Academy of Fine Arts in Beijing; a master’s in ceramic art from the New York State College of Ceramics at the Alfred University at Alfred, NY. As a visiting artist, he has been invited to give lectures in different institutions, including Harvard University and Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).
© 2022  Long Museum  All Rights Reserved. 沪ICP备12048670号-1

正在展览

和合共生:李鸿韦的艺术

2022.11.10-2023.2.19
龙美术馆 西岸馆

艺术家 李鸿韦
策展人 王薇
2022年11月10日至2023年2月19日,龙美术馆(西岸馆)西楼展厅将呈现80后艺术家李鸿韦的最新个展“和合共生——李鸿韦的艺术”,这是他在国内的首次美术馆个展,由龙美术馆馆长王薇担任策展人,精选艺术家20余件雕塑、装置作品,包含稍早的《平衡的寓言》系列、动态装置《破碎中重生》,持续创作的《玄》系列、《屴》系列,以及最新创作的《嵩高》《未来主义》和《混沌》系列等。

李鸿韦在少年时期便开始接触绘画及雕塑创作。他于2000年考入中央美术学院雕塑系,2005年前往位于美国纽约州的艺术学府——阿尔弗雷德大学陶瓷学院进行深造。与去物质化艺术有很大不同的是,李鸿韦的艺术有对陶瓷的研究和对于物质的探索。2009年他开始尝试在雕塑作品中使用不同的材料,2014年完成了将不锈钢等具有现代工业属性的材料与陶瓷材料的结合,从而使其艺术创作从以形体造型为核心的传统雕塑艺术,转向为具有一定场域特性的装置空间艺术。在《平衡的寓言》中,陶瓷和不锈钢两种材料仍保持相对的独立性,而到《屴》和《玄》系列,陶瓷器皿的传统形态和功能被彻底剥离,瓷器本身质韫珠光的特性与不锈钢如镜鉴般光亮的表面和谐地组合在一处。手工锻造的不锈钢板,按照陶瓷不规则的外形,切割、焊接,结晶釉绚烂的图案与雕塑简约的造型间的反差,极大地丰富了作品的视觉层次。

李鸿韦的作品隐喻地传达了依存、对立、转化和往复关系的哲理性关照与思考。新作《混沌》系列,零散的结晶釉瓷片与冰冷的不锈钢材料,破碎和完整,共生共存,又对立依赖。作品的英文是The Origin,天地万物的起源本是浑然一体的状态,艺术家选择用蛋的形状来体现,既是旦,也是诞,是升起的太阳,也是诞生。同音异义赋予作品东方的文化内涵。作品圆润流畅的线条,不锈钢光面的反射与西楼通透的阳光照射,也增加了作品的美感与趣味性。

关于艺术家

李鸿韦,生于1980年,当代艺术家,工作、生活于北京和纽约。作品被大英博物馆、波士顿美术博物馆、芝加哥艺术博物馆、费城艺术博物馆、以色列国家博物馆、哈佛艺术博物馆、耶鲁美术馆、美国综合艺术博物馆、纳尔逊-阿特金斯艺术博物馆、罗德岛设计学院艺术博物馆、艾弗森艺术博物馆、卡内基艺术博物馆、唐博物馆、卡拉马祖美术馆、克罗克艺术博物馆、新奥尔良艺术博物馆、肯塔基大学艺术博物馆、阿尔弗雷德大学陶瓷艺术博物馆、瓦萨学院艺术博物馆、圣安吉洛美术博物馆、和美术馆等国际知名美术馆永久收藏;作品曾在多个重要艺术机构展出,包括芝加哥艺术博物馆、费城艺术博物馆、新墨西哥艺术博物馆、宾夕法尼亚大学福克斯美术馆、卡拉马祖美术馆、肯塔基大学艺术博物馆、爱尔兰都柏林古堡,以及美国大使馆等。
 
李鸿韦2005年毕业于中央美术学院雕塑系,2007年毕业于美国阿尔弗雷德大学纽约州立陶瓷学院陶艺系。作为访问艺术家,李鸿韦曾多次受邀到高校讲座,包括美国哈佛大学和麻省理工学院等。 
© 2022 龙美术馆 版权所有 沪ICP备12048670号-1