Current Exhibitions

Zhang Zipiao: Moonquake

2022.9.3-2022.10.16
LONG MUSEUM WEST BUND

Artist

Zhang Zipiao

From September 3 to October 16, 2022, Zhang Zipiao will present the solo exhibition "Moonquake" at Long Museum (West Bund). The first institutional solo project in the Mainland, this exhibition will include the artist’s 23 latest works on canvas from the past two years.


The moon is traditionally associated with the female body, emotions, aesthetics, and literature in various cultural contexts and has long been associated with irrational psychological states. Beneath the seemingly calm surface of the moon, a relatively mild, imperceptible, but persistent type of quake often occurs - the moonquake.


Although the exhibition is entitled "Moonquake," the works do not directly depict the moon as an image; instead to suggest the complex mental condition of contemporary people, the richness of women's emotions, and the connection between the act of painting and the depth of human consciousness: in moments when the despair, desire, and hope under the calmness, shape a transient tension between repression and release.


The works in the Battlefield series extend and deepen the artist's earlier discussion of the body as a register for projected mental, emotional, and spiritual conditions. As the title suggests, the body is a field of external or internal confrontation with the other or oneself. The bodies in the artworks are becoming increasingly abstract; even the skeleton that once served as a pictorial structure is no longer visible, replaced by "masses" of flesh shaped by flowing curves. These "masses," as the basic unit and structure of these works on canvas, are distinguished by color differences at the edges; their vicissitude and often contradictory lines bring confrontation and division, while the naturally flowing or mutually obscuring pigments either tangle or merge. As a result, the static images acquire a compelling dynamic, revealing the artist's state of body and mind at the time of creation.


At the same time, the diptychs and triptychs in this exhibition allow the artist to expand the scale of her work further (e.g., Battlefield 05 measures 6 meters wide), which does not only enlarge the picture’s dimension: the diverse and vibrating emotions come to the fore more directly and intensely. At the same time, the growing scale of her work demands greater intensity. How to manage the increasingly complex overall structure and detailed structures, integrate the ever-changing details of color and brushwork, and continuously mobilize one's emotions, inspiration, explosive power, and stability become questions the artist had to address. In a sense, this series of works marks a back-and-forth “battle” between the artist and the painting medium.


In addition, if we were to consider Pomegranate 05, Grapefruit 02, Octopus and Mother of Pearl 02 as the artist's long-standing extension of the proposition of animals and plants as flesh and vitality, then Candle, Mushroom Cloud 03, and An Island 02 embody her "moonquake" - like empathy for the things around her, and projecting these relationships mentioned above between mind and body into a broader and universal world. Thus, beneath the overall sensibility shaped by the works in this exhibition, we get the sense of Zhang Zipiao’s intellectual drive embedded in the efforts for her painting practice, which has become the register to experiment and represent her spirit and worldview.  


About the artist

  

Zhang Zipiao's painting practice revolves around human body, organs, and natural objects. By depicting content inconsistent with traditional society's social and ethical frameworks, her paintings directly or subtly reveal gender imagery, where the body revels before the demise of illusions. Her works are replete with vitality. The bodily body seems to be an erosive landscape in flux, and natural objects are imbued with restless humanity, projecting a rich and complex character of hypocrisy, sincerity, vulnerability, and strength. By exploring the medium of painting’s physical faculty for universally connecting body and spirit, Zhang Zipiao's works reflect on and critique reality under the theme of body politics.


Zhang Zipiao, born in Beijing in 1993, studied at the Maryland Institute of Art from 2011-2012, graduated from the Art Institute of Chicago in 2015. Her recent solo exhibitions include, Heart of Anchor, Salon 94, New York, USA (2021); Blooming, WHITE SPACE, Beijing, China (2020); Cutthroat Kitchen, Mine Project Gallery, Hong Kong, China (2019); The Ultimate Moist!, WHITE SPACE, Beijing, China (2018); Shallow Painting 101, Star Gallery, Beijing, China (2017), and Sexy Hysteria, Ying Space, Beijing, China (2015). Zhang Zipiao was featured on the list of "30 Under 30 Asia" by Forbes and "2019 Best of the Best" in the annual young artist category by Robb Report in 2019. The artist currently lives and works in Beijing.

© 2022  Long Museum  All Rights Reserved. 沪ICP备12048670号-1

往期展览

张子飘:月震

2022.9.3-2022.10.23
龙美术馆 西岸馆

艺术家 张子飘

注:本次展览将延长展期至10月23日。

2022年9月3日至10月23日,艺术家张子飘最新个展“月震”将在龙美术馆(西岸馆)呈现,作为艺术家在国内的首个美术馆个展项目,展览将展出艺术家近两年创作的23件全新绘画作品。


于各地文化语境中,月亮均有着与女性身体、情感、美学、文学有关的传统,甚至长久以来也与非理性的心理状态相关联。而在看似平静的月亮表象之下,时常发生着一种相对温和、不易觉察但持续的地震类型——月震。


展览以“月震”为题,但作品并不直接描绘月亮这一意象,而意在提示一种当代人的复杂精神状况、女性的丰富情感,以及绘画本体与人之深层意识的关联:那些平静之下的绝望、欲望与希望并存的心理时刻、压抑与释放共塑的张力瞬间。


《角斗场》系列绘画延续并深化了艺术家早先对于身体作为心理、情感、精神状况投射的讨论,更如其标题所提示的那样,将身体作为与他者或自身于外在或内在对抗性的场域。作品中的身体愈发抽象,甚至曾经以骨架作为结构的方式也不再显见,取而代之的是以流淌的曲线塑造而成的肉体“团块”。“团块”作为画面中的基本单元与结构,其边缘色彩差异带来分明的界限,多变且时常相互抵牾的线条走势带来对抗与分裂,而自然流淌或相互遮蔽的颜料或缠斗或融合。由此,原本静止的画面也获得了强烈的动态,将艺术家创作时的身心状态展露无遗。


同时,本次展出的双联与三联的绘画使得艺术家的创作在画幅上进一步扩张(如作品《角斗场 05》的尺幅达到了6米),而这并非仅仅使得图像在尺幅意义上得以放大:丰富且震荡的情绪以更直接、浓烈的方式迎面袭来。同时尺幅跃升带来的是更大的工作强度,如何驾驭愈加复杂的整体结构与小结构,将不断变化的色彩、笔触等细节融为一体,并持续地调动艺术家自身的情绪、灵感、爆发力与稳定性等,在某种意义上,这一系列的创作本身也是艺术家同绘画这一媒介进行着有来有回的“角斗”。


此外,如果将《石榴05》、《蜜柚02》、《八爪鱼》、《贝母 02》等作品视作艺术家长期以来将那些具有动物、植物作为肉体与生命力这一命题下的外延,那么《蜡烛》、《蘑菇云 03》、《一个岛屿 02》等创作,则体现了其对周遭之物“月震”式的共情,以及将上述身心关系投射到更为广大而普遍世界的尝试。因而,在本次展览中所有作品共同塑造的整体感性面貌之下,我们亦能体会到艺术家同样在以智性地思考驱动其创作的努力,绘画的实践成为了艺术家对其精神与世界观的整体实践与展现。

  

关于艺术家


张子飘的绘画创作围绕肉身、器官、自然事物展开。通过描绘与传统社会伦理框架不协调的内容,她的绘画流露着或直接或隐晦的性别意象,肉身在虚幻破灭前尽情地狂欢。在她充满生命力的绘画中,肉体仿若成为一道道流动中的糜烂景观,而自然之物却被赋予躁动不安的人性,投射出虚伪、真诚、脆弱、坚强等丰富而复杂的品格。通过探索作为身体性媒介的绘画所指向的普遍性肉体与精神之关联,张子飘的创作试图于身体政治的主题之下对现实进行反思批判。


张子飘,1993年出生于北京,于2011年及2012年就读于美国马里兰艺术学院,2015年毕业于美国芝加哥艺术学院。近期个展包括:心锚,Salon 94,纽约,美国(2021);春光乍泄,空白空间,北京,中国(2020),Cutthroat Kitchen,Mine Project Gallery,香港,中国(2019);极度湿润!,空白空间,北京,中国(2018);肤浅绘画 101,星空间,北京,中国(2017);性感的歇斯底里症,应空间,北京,中国(2015)。2019年,张子飘入选福布斯亚洲“30位30岁以下精英”榜单以及“Best of the Best 罗博之选年度青年艺术家”。张子飘现工作生活于北京。

© 2022 龙美术馆 版权所有 沪ICP备12048670号-1