Current Exhibitions

Refineness and Resplendence: Wan Heng paintings on screen Exhibition

2022.8.20-2022.10.16
LONG MUSEUM WEST BUND

Artist  Wan Heng
Curator  Wang Wei

The screen, breaks the monotonous four dimensions of physical space, and defines Chinese space aesthetics between unseen and seen, in and out. It creates haziness between “segregation” and “integration”, which accords with the implicitness and introversion of Chinese psychological culture. Amidst an orderly arranged space, it conveys modesty and indirectness. Compared to other traditional art forms such as scrolls and frames, the meanderings of the screen feature novelty and distinctiveness; in terms of the spatial display, the screen is strongly expressive, and its integration with space seems denser. The screen, offers a spatial context and expresses a kind of atmosphere. Furthermore, as the inky rhythms float over the gold-foil screens, a touch of divine refineness has been added.   


The ancients said, “ink traces, by calligrapher; beauty reveals, by mind.” The aesthetics of ink in Chinese painting flows out of mind, and the beauty of the mind is the origin of ink techniques. The paintings of Wan Heng are influenced by court paintings of the Song dynasty, featuring meticulous brushwork, strictly arranged composition, and elegant overview. Touches and dots are expressed out of minds, with energetic brushes, yet without the inflexibility of the Song dynasty style.


In terms of expressive ways and forms, Wan is conscious of the combination of forms, expressions, and meanings while attempting to match traditional subject matters with contemporary aesthetics, regardless of old pines, withered woods, or ancient plum blossoms. Each screen with gold foil implies a story, by showing its spatial layout, it renders the changing seasons, and those fleeting thoughts transform into subjects.   


This exhibition presents 45 pieces (sets) of paintings on screen featuring subject matters of flowers and birds, as well as the Pine series. it takes you to enjoy the tranquillity and refineness in the classical atmosphere of Wan Heng’s literati paintings, by walking through the maniac yet refreshing natural world depicted by him. Among his works, the Pine series are inspired by his rediscovery and recognition of Chinese literati paintings in the recent couple of years. Wan escapes deliberately the urban noise, instead, he observes the anonymous pines in the nature, which are the most representative of Chinese literati paintings. It resembles visiting the forgotten recluses down the mountain forests and having mindful conversations with them. This creative attempt renders the artist back to his most desired themes—the series subjected on pines had been initiated by Wan, which also extends and broadens his pursuit in art making afterwards.


About the Artist


Wan Heng was born in 1983, Wenzhou, Zhejiang province. He graduated from the China Academy of Art in 2006 with a degree in Chinese Painting, supervised by Professor Fang Yan of Qianzhu academy . He is currently a professional painter, working and living in Wenzhou.  

Wan Heng derives simple pleasure from flowers and plants, fishes and insects. Having received both his BA and MA from the China Academy of Art, Wan gained a well-rounded education that encompasses both the practical and theoretical aspects of art. His works are influenced by court paintings of the Song dynasty, featuring meticulous brushstrokes, carefully arranged compositions, and an elegant palette. While following the theory of the Song and Yuan dynasties, Wan managed to avoid its inflexibility. His themes range comprehensively—from various flowers, and plants, to birds, insects, animals, and portraits. In recent years, Wan pays close attention to materials from ancient Chinese literati paintings, which particularly inspired his reflection and creation on the Pine series.

© 2022  Long Museum  All Rights Reserved. 沪ICP备12048670号-1

往期展览

涵墨镂金:萬亨屏画展

2022.8.20-2022.10.23
龙美术馆 西岸馆

艺术家 萬亨
策展人 王薇
注:本次展览将延长展期至10月23日。

屏风,打破了物理空间中单调的四维上下,于虚实之际与内外之间,定义了中国人的空间美学。在“隔”与“不隔”中所生出的朦胧美感,正暗合中国人文化心理的含蓄与内敛,于井然有序中,传达出婉转与通达。相较于卷轴、画框等传统绘画的形制,屏风的曲折感不但在视觉上具有新颖性和独特性,对空间的呈现来说,它的表达力更加完整,与空间之间的关系也更加的紧密。一个屏风,它能给空间呈现出一个语境,或表达出一种意境,而当这水墨清韵流动在金屏风上时,山水意境又平添了几分沉朴脱俗。

古人云:“笔迹者,界也,流美者,人也。”中国画的笔墨之美是经由人心流淌出来的,心中之美正是丹青妙笔的源头。萬亨的画受宋人院体画影响,笔墨精工、造型严谨、画面典雅,点染时出胸臆,笔锋所及,生机勃发,不染宋人刻板之弊。在作品的表现与形式上,他注重形、神、意之间的结合,多有符合当代审美的尝试,不论是苍松、枯木、古梅……所绘制的每一件金屏风皆是一则故事,有它存在的时空位置,关乎四时变化,一念起伏,一个主题。 

本次展览展出45件(套)艺术家萬亨近年创作的花鸟题材与松系列屏画创作,带观众领略萬亨文人画静穆儒雅的古典气息,走入艺术家笔下大自然清新狂狷的艺术世界。其中以松为主题的系列创作,是艺术家近两年来专注于中国文人画题材的再发掘、再认识的感悟与心得的呈现。萬亨刻意避开嘈杂都市,到大自然里寻访最具中国文人代表性的无名松树,如同到山林里寻访隐士,并与之进行心灵的对话。这种创作尝试让艺术家回归到自己内心最向往的题材去研究和表现,从而开启了萬亨以松为专题的表达形式,并延伸和拓展了他今后艺术创作的追求方向。

关于艺术家

 

萬亨,1983年生于浙江温州,2006年毕业于中国美术学中国画系,师从千竹方严先生,现为职业画家,工作生活于浙江温州。

 

萬亨平日喜弄花草,好鱼虫,本科、硕士就读于中国美术学院,在中国画的技法上受到了完整的教育和实践,在绘画艺术理论上亦获得了系统的学习与熏陶。绘画受宋人院体影响,笔墨精工,造型严谨,设色典雅,颇具宋元理法,却不染宋人刻板之弊。绘画题材广泛,举凡花鸟、草虫、走兽、人物皆有钻研,近年专注于中国文人素材的探究,特别是松系列主题的再发掘思考与创作。

© 2022 龙美术馆 版权所有 沪ICP备12048670号-1