Past Exhibitions

Shen Xiaotong's Painting

2022.7.1-2022.8.28
Long Museum West Bund

Artist Shen Xiaotong
Curator Wang Wei
Academic Director Lv Peng
Artistic Director Zhao Huan

From July 1st, 2022 to August 28th, 2022, Long Museum (West Bund) will launch the solo exhibition Painting: Shen Xiaotongs painting” of the artist Shen Xiaotong, which curated by Wang Wei, the Director of Long Museum, Lv Peng as academic director and Zhao Huan as art curator. This would be Shens first solo exhibition in a museum in Shanghai, that covered his works for the past 10 years, including Face”, “Flowers and Fruits”, “Chinese Ink and Landscape”, “Bamboo” and other series, with a total of 2sets works.


Face” series is taken from the childhood portraits of Shen Xiaotong’s friends. On the pure red background, the innocent faces seem to gradually emerge from the depths of time, and the dark eyes evoking endless emotions; Flower and Fruit” are mundane things in everyday life but they are either blooming in intensity, or dimming in the ink by the artist’s brush, depicted by his heart; “Chinese Ink and landscape” and Bamboo” are mostly recent creations, the memories of the mountains, bamboo, forests, lakes and seas are redrawn between light and dark, to think of the past with the mind of today. Although the themes of his works vary, it is not difficult to tell his affection towards his past life and experience , as well as his choice and persistence in artistic creation.


Most of Shen Xiaotong’s paintings represent ordinary objects and scenes in daily life, not grandiose themes. Even his large-scale paintings are ethereal and tranquil. This kind of personal experience and emotional expression that stemmed from daily life, as well as the momentary palpitation brought by viewing the paintings, is even more precious after the pandemic. It can touch and comfort every viewer and remind us once again to discover art ,take care of ourselves , cherish life in our daily life.


Shen Xiaotong graduated from Sichuan Academy of Fine Arts in 1989. He witnessed the development of Chinese contemporary art in the past few decades, and the changes of the art market after 2000. Although he was in a complex domestic and foreign art environment, and was impacted by Western art concepts, theories, and genres, he seemed to be hardly affected. He always adhered to the observation and description of the real life around him, and insisted on the expression of his own inner world with an independent attitude.The Long Museum hopes to provide a platform for artists with diverse personalities and artistic pursuits, and try to further discover and present the rich and colorfulness of Chinese contemporary art to the audience.

 

About the Artist


 

Shen Xiaotong was born in 1968, Chengdu, Sichuan. He graduated from the Painting Department of The Sichuan Academy of Fine Arts in 1989. He is now a professional painter, currently workand livein Chengdu.


His selected solo exhibitions include: Diary-My Landscape, International Yiyuan Art Museum, Beijing, 1994; Diary of Temptation, Gallery of Central Academy of Fine Arts, Beijing, 1997Shen Xiaotong Solo Exhibition, Hanart TZ GalleryHong Kong, 2008; About the Water Cross the Sea, Chengdu Museum of Contemporary Art, Chengdu, 2013.


He had also participated multiple group shows in Beijing, Shanghai, Chengdu, Guangzhou, San Francisco, Paris, Bonnetc. Southwestern China Modern Exhibition, Chengdu, 1988; The First of China Modern Art ExhibitionChina Art Museum, 1989; The First Nineties Biennial Art Fair, Guangzhou, 1992; The Annual Exhibition of Works Nominated by Art Critics, China Art Museum, 1994China!, Kunstmuseum, Bonn, 1996; Paris-Pékin, Paris, 2001; Pure ViewsNew Painting from China, Asian Art Museum of San Francisco, San Francisco, 2011; Re-View Opening Exhibition of Long Museum West Bund, Shanghai, 2014. The works of Shen Xiaotong have been known widely and  collected by a number of Public and private collections

© 2022  Long Museum  All Rights Reserved. 沪ICP备12048670号-1

往期展览

画·沈小彤的画

2022.7.1-2022.8.28
龙美术馆 西岸馆

艺术家 沈小彤
策展人 王薇
学术主持 吕澎
艺术总监 赵欢
2022年7月1日至8月28日,龙美术馆(西岸馆)将推出艺术家沈小彤个展“画·沈小彤的画”,由龙美术馆馆长王薇担任策展人,吕澎任学术主持,赵欢任艺术总监。本次展览是沈小彤在上海的首场美术馆个展,将呈现其近10年来的创作,包括“相”、“花·果”、“墨·山水”、“竹”等多个系列,共计22组作品。

“相”系列取自于沈小彤友人们儿时的肖像,通红的背景中单纯的面容仿若从时光深处渐渐浮现,漆黑的眼睛似乎能勾起对往昔的无尽情思;“花·果”本是日常生活中极为寻常之物,在画家笔下或于浓烈中极尽绚烂,或于墨色中归于黯然,笔墨自随内心;“墨·山水”、“竹”多为近些年的创作,在画面虚实浓淡之间重新描绘了记忆中之山川、竹林、湖泊、大海,以此时之心思彼时的过往。虽然作品主题不同,但是不难看出其对于过往生活及经历的眷恋,以及艺术家在艺术创作上的选择和坚持。

沈小彤画中表现的多是日常生活中平常的事物,并非宏大的主题,即便是大尺幅的画作也给人一种恬淡、宁静之感。这种源自于日常生活的切身体验和真实表达,以及凝视画面时带给人的片刻宁静在疫情之后更显得难能可贵,也足以带给每一位观者一丝精神上的慰藉和力量,并再次提醒我们在点滴的日常中发现艺术、关照自我、珍爱生活。

沈小彤1989年毕业于四川美术学院,他经历了中国当代艺术几十年来的发展变化,目睹了2000年后艺术市场的风云变幻。虽置身于复杂的国内外艺术环境中,受到西方艺术观念、理论、流派的冲击,但他却似乎很少受到影响,始终坚持对于身边真实生活的观察和描绘,以独立的姿态坚持自我精神世界的表达。美术馆希望为具有不同个性和艺术追求的艺术家提供展示的平台,并在对具有不同特质的艺术家进行个案研究的过程试图进一步发现和为观众呈现中国当代艺术丰富多彩的面貌。

关于艺术家

沈小彤,1968年出生于四川成都,1989年毕业于四川美术学院版画系,现为职业画家,工作、生活于成都。

沈小彤曾多次举办个人画展,包括:“日记·我的风景”,北京国际艺苑美术馆,1994;“诱惑日记”,北京中央美院画廊,1997;“沈小彤个展”,香港汉雅轩画廊,2008;“临湖泛海”,成都当代美术馆,2013等。

他还曾在北京、上海、成都、广州、美国旧金山、法国巴黎、德国波恩等地参加了很多重要的群展,包括:成都“中国西南现代艺术大展”,1988;中国美术馆“中国首届现代艺术大展”,1989;广州“中国广州首届油画双年展”,1992;中国美术馆“中国美术批评家年度提名展 ”,1994;德国波恩“中国!”展,1996;法国巴黎“巴黎·北京”展,2001;旧金山亚洲艺术博物馆“溪山清远-中国新绘画”展,2011;上海“开今·借古:龙美术馆(西岸馆)开馆大展”,2014等。沈小彤的作品被国内外众多机构与私人收藏。
© 2022 龙美术馆 版权所有 沪ICP备12048670号-1