Current Exhibitions

Journey of Yuan Yunsheng

2022.7.5-2022.10.16
Long Museum West Bund

Curator Cui Cancan

From July 5th till October 16st, 2022, Long Museum West Bund will be showing Yuan Yunsheng's largest retrospective exhibition, "Journey of Yuan Yunsheng". Curated by Cui Cancan. Exhibited works run through Yuan Yunsheng's art career from the 1950s to the present, in the span of 70 years. More than 200 works and archival documents in the exhibition make up the art world of Yuan Yunsheng, a way to his magnificent artistic creation, representing Yuan's significant contribution and outstanding talent to the transformation of Chinese art in the second half of the 20th century.


In the recent 50 years of Chinese history, no artwork is as sensational as Yuan’s Water Sprinkling Festival - Hymn of Life, which proves that art history as a part of history as well as the barometer in historic development, heralding the coming of a great revolution.


The exhibition starts from this event that reflects Yuan’s artistic language and spiritual world in mural creation. Yuan Yunsheng drew inspiration and strength from individual life, Western art, and Chinese tradition, and created tales of legends surrounding art and nation for the revival of the Chinese mural movement. As a large-scale public art, the symbolistic relationship between murals and the Sistine Chapel, and the energy stimulated by each other, has also become the axis and center of the entire exhibition. Classical beliefs and modern spirits created the best metaphor in the dome space of contemporary art museum.


Since the 1950s, Yuan Yunsheng drew inspiration from Modernism and tried to break off from Soviet-style drawings. In 1978, Yuan went on a sketching trip in Yunnan, he depicted the vibrant lifestyle of the Dai people using traditional line drawing. For the first time, “Regional” and “Modernity” have merged, just like the transformation of European Modernism, Picasso and Africa, Gauguin and the tropics, Van Gogh and Ukiyo-e. The mural in the airport became his manifesto to praise for life and freedom, in which he initiated a style of art, a beginning of enlightenment. The media referred to it as “The appearance of women's body on the walls of public places in China, heralds real reform and opening up.”


In 1981, Yuan Yunsheng went on a trip to western China for months, dedicated to regaining Dunhuang culture and its traditions. He wrote The Return of the Spirit: Reflections on the Trip to Northwest, which is the aggregation of his thoughts of many years, laying the foundation for his lifetime pursuit. Till then, Yuan Yunsheng continued the path of his mentor Dong Xiwen, and his ideas of “one brush to carry tasks of a thousand-year-old” and “nationalization of oil painting”. A long way lasts one generation after another in our nation unceasingly.


In 1982, Yuan Yunsheng went to the United States, trying to find a middle ground between classical and contemporary, and the opposition between the West and the East. In 1996, Yuan Yunsheng returned to China with a broad background in modern art. He then founded the Chinese Traditional  Plastic Arts Research Center, with ambitions to establish a value system and a renaissance road that belongs to this era.


“Back to Dunhuang and Self-portraits” are the finale of the exhibition, and they are the two keys to understanding Yuan’s artistic value and world view, also Yuan’s best spiritual reflection. It links the two lines of Yuan’s journey, one is thinking as a collective and a nation, from the love of traditional line drawing, the self-consciousness of cultural identity, to the return and reconstruction of the art of his origin; one is the individual art journey, a vivid heroic story of life consciousness to liberation with several twists and turns.


In this long journey, we can see painting, history, and see the changes of individual and paintings under different circumstances. At last, while viewing Yuan Yunsheng's journey, we see the “Family and Nation” and “The Grand Ideal" of this generation, in the collision of Eastern and Western cultures of the past century, in the chasing of "advanced" and "backward" cultures, in the depths of the individuals, the reflections belonging to this era are brewed and completed.


Or rather, this exhibition is not about art, but about a period of turbulent history that is particularly significant to today since the year of 1979.


About the Artist


Yuan Yunsheng was born on April, 1937 in Nantong city, Jiangsu Province. In 1962, he graduated from Dong Xiwen Studio” of the Oil Painting Department of the China Central Academy of Fine Arts. From 1962 to 1980, Yuan Yunsheng was assigned to work in the Fine Arts Group at the Changchun Municipal Workers Cultural Palace of Jilin Province. In 1979, he created the mural Water Sprinkling Festival - Hymn of Life” for Beijing Capital Airport; In 1980, he was transferred to the Mural Department of the China Central Academy of Fine Arts. From 1982 to 1996, he went to the United States to give lectures and lived in New York. He has been working at the Central Academy of Fine Arts since 1996. He used to work as the director of the Fourth Painting Studio of Oil Painting Department, the deputy director of the Academic Committee of the Academy, and the PhD tutor. Currently, he is the director of the Chinese Ancient Modeling Research Center of the China Central Academy of Fine Arts, and the principal of the national major project Replication of Traditional Chinese Sculptures and Establishment of Contemporary Chinese Art Education System.

 

About the Curator


Cui Cancan is an active Chinese independent curator and critic. Since 2012, he has curated almost 100 major exhibitions, including group exhibitions like Hei Qiao Night Way (2013), Rural Wash, Cut and Blow-dry (2013), FUCKOFF II (2013), Unlived by What is Seen (2014), Between the 5th and 6th Ring Road in Beijing (2015), The Decameron (2016), Rip it Up (2017), Spring Festival Projects (2018) , The Curation Workshop (2019), Nine-Tiered (2020), The Methodology of the New Generation (2021), Hometown Spring (2021), et cetera. He has curated artistssolo exhibitions such as Ai Weiwei, Bao Xiaowei, Chen Danqing, Chen Yufan, Chen Yujun, Feng Lin, Han Dong, He Yunchang, Huang Yishan, Jiang Bo, Luo Zhongli, Li Binyuan, Liu Wei, Liu Gangshun, Liu Jianhua, Li Qing, Li Ji, Li Zhanyang, Ding Muer, Ma Ke, Mao Yan, Qin Ga, Qin Qi, Sui Jianguo, Shijiezi Art Museum, Shi Jinsong, Shen Shaomin, Tan Ping, Wang Qingsong, Xie Nanxing, Xia Xiaowan, Xia Xing, Xiao Yu, Xu Zhongmin, Xu Xiaoguo, Yin Zhaoyang, Yuan Yunsheng, Zong Ning, Polit-Sheer-Form, Zhang Yue, Zhang Yonghe, Zhao Zhao, et cetera. 


© 2022  Long Museum  All Rights Reserved. 沪ICP备12048670号-1

正在展览

袁运生的历程

2022.7.5-2022.10.16
龙美术馆 西岸馆

策展人 崔灿灿

2022年7月5日至10月16日,龙美术馆(西岸馆)将推出艺术家袁运生迄今为止最大规模回顾展“袁运生的历程”,由崔灿灿担任策展人。展览作品贯穿袁运生从上世纪50年代至今的艺术历程,时间跨度长达70年之久。展厅中两百多件不同类型的作品和丰富的档案文献构成了袁运生的艺术世界,通向他蔚为大观的艺术创作,重现袁运生对20世纪后半叶中国艺术变革的巨大贡献和卓越才华。


在中国近50年的历史中,没有哪件作品像袁运生的《泼水节——生命的赞歌》一样,引起了如此巨大的社会轰动,印证了美术史作为历史的一部分,成为了现实发展的晴雨表,预示了一个伟大变革的来临


展览由这段往事开始,讲述袁运生壁画中的艺术语言和精神世界。袁运生在个体生命、西方艺术和中国传统中获取灵感和力量,为中国壁画运动的复兴,创造了一个环绕艺术与民族的神话。壁画作为一种大型的公共艺术,与西斯廷教堂之间的象征关系,彼此所激发的能量,也成为整场展览的轴线和中心。古典信念和现代精神,在当代的美术馆穹顶空间中,有了最佳隐喻。


1950年代开始,袁运生受现代主义的启发,试图摆脱苏联绘画的影响。1978年,赴云南写生,以传统白描的手法,描绘了大量傣族的风情生活,“地域性”和“现代性”第一次结合,仿佛欧洲现代主义的变革,毕加索与非洲,高更与热带,梵高和浮世绘。之后的机场壁画,成为他歌颂生命与自由的宣言,开启了一种艺术风格,一段思想启蒙的发端,媒体将其称为中国在公共场所的墙壁上出现了女人体,预示了真正意义上的改革开放”。


1981年,袁运生数月西行,立志重拾敦煌与传统,写下凝结多年心声的《魂兮归来——西北之行感怀》,奠定了一生的追求。至此,袁运生接续了恩师董希文的一笔负千年重任”和“油画民族化”的道路。一代又一代人,家国天下,星火不断的漫漫长路。


1982年,袁运生远赴美国,试图在古典和当代,在西方和东方的对立关系中,上下求索,寻求一条中间路线;1996年,袁运生归国,带回了广阔的现代艺术背景,创建了中国传统造型研究中心,雄心壮志地建立属于这个时代的价值体系和文艺复兴之路。


“重返敦煌和自画像”成为整场展览的结尾,亦是解读袁运生艺术观和世界观的两把密钥,也是袁运生最好的精神写照。它接续了袁运生历程中的两条线索,一个是作为集体和民族思考,从对传统白描的喜爱,文化身份的自觉,到对本土艺术的回归和重建;一个是个人的艺术生涯,一部从生命自觉到解放,几经波折,充满个人英雄色彩的故事。


漫长的历程中,我们可以看见绘画,看见历史,看见个人与绘画在不同处境中的变化。最终,在观看袁运生的历程时,观看这一代人的“家国天下”和“宏大理想”,在近百年的东西方文化的巨大撞击中,在“先进”与“落后”的文化追逐中,在独立的人格深处,酝酿和完成属于这个时代的反思。


或者说这个展览讲述的不是艺术,而是对今天尤为重要的,一段从1979年开始的震荡历史。

  

关于袁运生

 

袁运生,1937年4月生于江苏省南通市,1962年毕业于中央美术学院油画系董希文工作室,1962年至1980年,分配至吉林省长春市工人文化宫工作,1979年创作首都机场壁画《泼水节——生命的赞歌》,1980年调至中央美术学院壁画系工作,1982年至1996年,赴美讲学并客居纽约,1996年至今在中央美术学院工作,曾任油画系第四工作室主任、院学术委员会副主任,博士生导师;曾任中国美术家协会壁画艺委会副主任。现任中央美术学院中国古代造型研究中心主任,国家重大课题“重建中国美术教育体系”责任人。

  

关于崔灿灿


崔灿灿,策展人,写作者。策展的主要展览和活动从2012年开始近百场,群展包括夜走黑桥、乡村洗剪吹、FUCKOFF II、不在图像中行动、六环比五环多一环、十夜、万丈高楼平地起、2015-2019过年特别项目系列、策展课、九层塔、新一代的工作方法、小城之春等。曾策划的个展包括艾未未、包晓伟、陈丹青、陈彧凡、陈彧君、冯琳、韩东、何云昌、黄一山、姜波、罗中立、厉槟源、刘韡、刘港顺、刘建华、李青、李季、李占洋、牧儿、马轲、毛焰、琴嘎、秦琦、隋建国、石节子美术馆、史金淞、沈少民、谭平、王庆松、谢南星、夏小万、夏星、萧昱、许仲敏、徐小国、尹朝阳、袁运生、宗宁、政纯办、张玥、张永和、赵赵等。

© 2022 龙美术馆 版权所有 沪ICP备12048670号-1