Current Exhibitions

Embracing the Light

2021.11.6-2022.2.27
LONG MUSEUM WEST BUND

Since December 2019, the pandemic caused by the novel virus (COVID-19) has wreaked havoc across the world, fundamentally changing our lives as we know it. In the end of 2021, Long Museum (West Bund) will welcome the public with a new exhibition, presenting a selection of works from a private collection provided by Long Museum in addition to a special program —— a curated playlist by pianist Xie Yashuangzi and pieces she freely improvised.


A portion of the modern and contemporary works displayed in this exhibition are related to medical care and solicitude, paying tribute to healthcare workers and all those who have stood up to fight against the pandemic. Other exhibited works explore various societal and spiritual issues that have been brought to the forefront by the past year. And finally, the exhibition also presents works that place an emphasis on everyday moments which have become increasingly cherished and reflect the ongoing current of panic and anxiety that has been amplified by the viral outbreak.


For the special program, pianist Xie Yashuangzi has recommended more than ten musical compositions in her curated playlist and several pieces that she herself freely improvised surrounding the concepts of “quarantine” and “isolation.” The remainder of the playlist features compositions that come from all over the world and span across a long period of time; most of these do not adhere to the stereotype usually associated with their composers. With this playlist, Xie hopes that the power of music will be able to temporarily breakthrough the limits of space and obfuscate our sense of time.


“The pandemic and quarantine have changed people, bringing out a new side of the self,” Xie says, “The same applies to the field of music. We may think we know a lot about a composition or its composer, but in reality, there are so many more “sides” that still remain unexplored and unknown to us.”


Together, the selection of modern and contemporary artworks and the special musical program are in direct conversation with many of the issues raised by the pandemic. The whole exhibition aims to pay tribute to healthcare workers and serves as a prayer for a better future. May we all “embrace the light” and fill our hearts with new hope. 

© 2021  Long Museum  All Rights Reserved. 沪ICP备12048670号-1

正在展览

迎着阳光

2021.11.6-2022.2.27
龙美术馆 西岸馆

主办 龙美术馆
自2019年12月起,新型冠状病毒肺炎(COVID-19)疫情蔓延,对全球造成巨大冲击。展览《迎着阳光》呈现一批由龙美术馆提供的私人收藏现当代艺术作品以及来自钢琴演奏家谢亚双子的乐曲推荐及其钢琴即兴作品。

此次展览将展示一批与医护与关怀相关的艺术作品,致敬医护人员与所有参与社会公共管理,对抗疫情的工作者们;部分作品讨论看似遥远却由于疫情的关系被摆到人们眼前的严肃课题,其中不乏创作者们一贯关注的内容;另一部分作品有关疫情爆发后人们面对现实时产生的广泛焦虑,以及再度被珍视的平凡日常。

在特别项目中,钢琴演奏家谢亚双子由“居家隔离”与“隔离”展开,推荐十余首乐曲以及她的钢琴即兴作品。她推荐的乐曲来自世界各地,创作年代跨度大,并且不同于人们对该作曲家的惯有印象。 谢亚双子希望通过具有这些特点的推荐乐曲来暂时打破时空限制,产生一种“淡化时间的作用”。她说:“疫情与隔离,让人发生了改变,认识到新的自我……在音乐领域也是一样,一些你以为已经很熟悉的内容,或是作曲家,其实还有那么多‘另一面’是不被熟知的。”

本次展出的现当代艺术作品与特别项目均与“疫情”引发的诸多课题相关,在致敬抗疫工作者们的同时,也为世界祈福,愿每个人“迎着阳光”,心怀希望。
© 2021 龙美术馆 版权所有 沪ICP备12048670号-1