Past Exhibitions

Shiota Chiharu: The Soul Trembles

2021.12.19-2022.3.6
Long Museum West Bund

Artist Shiota Chiharu
Curator Kataoka Mami ( Director, Mori Art Museum )
Co-organizers Long Museum, Shanghai; Mori Art Museum, Tokyo

The Long Museum (West Bund) is proud to present “Shiota Chiharu: The Soul Trembles” from Saturday, December 18, 2021 to Sunday, March 6, 2022. It will be the largest and most comprehensive exhibition ever devoted to the work of Shiota Chiharu, illuminating the artist’s entire oeuvre.

Berlin-based international artist Shiota Chiharu is known for performances and installations that express the intangible: memories, anxiety, dreams, silence and more. Often arising out of personal experience, her works have enthralled people all over the world and from all walks of life by questioning universal concepts such as identity, boundaries, and existence. Particularly well-known is her series of powerful installations consisting of threads primarily in red and black strung across entire spaces.

This will be the largest-ever solo exhibition by Shiota Chiharu. The subtitle “The Soul Trembles” references the artist’s earnest hope to deliver to others soul-trembling experiences derived from nameless emotions. This will be the first opportunity to experience in detail twenty-five years of Shiota’s oeuvre; primarily in large installations, plus sculptural works, video footage of performances, photographs, drawings, performing arts-related material, etc. Through this exhibition epitomizing the “presence in absence” that Shiota has explored throughout her career, visitors will doubtless gain a sense for themselves of the meaning of living and journey of life, and the inner workings of the soul.

About the Artist

Born in Osaka, 1972. Currently based in Berlin, Germany. Shiota’s inspiration often emerges from a personal experience or emotion which she expands into universal human concerns such as life, death and relationships. She has redefined the concept of memory and consciousness by collecting ordinary objects such as shoes, keys, beds, chairs and dresses, and engulfing them in immense thread structures. She explores this sensation of a ‘presence in the absence’ with her installations, but also presents intangible emotions in her sculptures, drawings, performance videos, photographs and canvases.


In 2008, she was awarded with ‘the Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology’s Art Encouragement Prize for New Artists, Japan’. Her work has been displayed at international institutions worldwide including the Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa, Wellington (2020); Mori Art Museum, Tokyo (2019); Gropius Bau, Berlin (2019); Art Gallery of South Australia (2018); Yorkshire Sculpture Park, UK (2018); Power Station of Art, Shanghai (2017); K21 Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen, Düsseldorf (2015); Smithsonian Institution Arthur M.Sackler Gallery, Washington DC (2014); the Museum of Art, Kochi (2013); and the National Museum of Art, Osaka (2008) among others. She has also participated in numerous international exhibitions such as the Oku-Noto International Art Festival (2017); Sydney Biennale (2016); Echigo-Tsumari Art Triennale (2009) and Yokohama Triennale (2001). In 2015, Shiota was selected to represent Japan at the 56th Venice Biennale.


© 2022  Long Museum  All Rights Reserved. 沪ICP备12048670号-1

往期展览

盐田千春:颤动的灵魂

2021.12.19-2022.3.6
龙美术馆 西岸馆

艺术家 盐田千春
策展人 片冈真实(森美术馆馆长)
联合主办 龙美术馆、森美术馆

20211218日至20223月6日,龙美术馆(西岸馆)将呈现展览“盐田千春:颤动的灵魂”,这将是艺术家迄今为止最大规模个展继日本东京之后,首次巡展至中国内地,全面回顾了艺术家过往二十五年的创作生涯。


盐田千春以行为艺术和装置艺术而闻名,表达了对记忆、焦虑、梦境、沉默等一些无形事物的情感。她的作品源于个人经历,通过质疑身份、界限和生存等看似普遍的概念,吸引了世界各地的观众。其中,由繁密的红线和黑线交缠而成、铺天盖地地贯穿整个空间的巨型装置,是盐田千春的代表系列。


本次展览以装置为主,另外还包括了雕塑、行为艺术影像、照片、素描以及舞台设计相关图稿等。展览集中体现了“不存在中的存在”(presence in the absence)这一观念,这也是盐田千春的作品中所持续探究的主题。展览名称“颤动的灵魂”精确指涉了艺术家由于一些难以形容的情感从而引发内心触动的亲身经历,与此同时,她也渴望将这份震撼人心的感受传递给观众,激发观众思考生命的意义和灵魂内在的运作方式。


关于艺术家


盐田千春,1972 年出生于日本大阪,现居德国柏林。她的作品灵感通常来自于个人经历或情感,再将其演变为关乎人生问题的探讨,例如生、死和人际关系。她通过收集鞋子、钥匙、床、椅子和衣服等日常物品,并将它们缠绕在巨大的抽象网格之中,以此重新定义大众对于记忆和意识的认知。盐田千春用她的装置作品探索“不存在中的存在”,在她的雕塑、表演视频、照片和绘画作品中也同样流露着那些无法用言语表达情感的瞬间。


2008年,盐田千春荣“日本文部科学大臣奖新人艺术奖”。她的作品曾在世界各地的顶尖艺术机构展出,其中包括新西兰蒂帕帕国立博物馆2020);东京森美术馆(2019); 柏林马丁·格罗皮乌斯博物馆2019);南澳大利亚美术馆(2018);英国约克郡雕塑公园(2018);上海当代艺术博物馆(2017);K21北莱茵-威斯特法伦艺术品珍藏馆2015);史密森学会亚瑟·萨克勒画廊,华盛顿特区(2014);高知县立美术馆(2013);大阪国立美术馆(2008)等。她还参与了众多国际艺术展览,如奥能登国际艺术节(2017);悉尼双年展(2016);威尼斯双年展(2015);越后妻有艺术三年展(2009)和横滨三年展(2001)。

© 2022 龙美术馆 版权所有 沪ICP备12048670号-1