Past Exhibitions

Hoho Zhou: Carry Me with Forms

2021.7.23-2021.9.12
Long Museum West Bund

Artist Hoho Zhou
Curator Wang Xiaosong
Organizer Long Museum
From July 23, 2021 to September 12, 2021, the Long Museum (West Bund) is pleased to present “Hoho Zhou: Carry Me with Forms”. Curated by art critic Wang Xiaosong, the exhibition brings together 19 groups of Zhou’s new works from the past five years. Through her works epitomizing the “non-fiction”, the exhibition demonstrates her transformation and reconstruction of the prevalent view of “nature”. 

The title of the exhibition, “Carry Me with Forms”, is borrowed from the book Zhuang Zi: The Grand Master. “There is the great Mass (of nature); I find the support of my body on it; my life is spent in toil on it; my old age seeks ease on it; at death I find rest in it; — what makes my life a good makes my death also a good” said Zhuang Zi. Most people do not understand the theories of growth, destruction and competition proposed by Zhuang Zi and they often criticize them for being too transcendental. However, Zhuang Zi’s view towards nature deeply influences Hoho Zhou and she has always been fascinated by these various forms of nature.  

This exhibition will present the past five years of Zhou’s oeuvre; primarily in installations, sculptures, photography, etc. The exhibition embodies the idea of consciousness and biological forms which Zhou explored throughout her career. Zhou’s inspiration often emerges from her personal experience and collection. Her works, while appearing to be bizarre and abstract, are in fact depicting the diversity of life. They are, in Zhou’s words, the natural extension of the often-overlooked everyday objects. In addition, Zhou deliberately avoids showing many of her early creations with iconic symbols (such as the “Dispelling Haze” and “The Fanatic” series) — they are too futuristic and may be misleading. Instead of searching for the “alien” and the “alternative”, the global epidemic causes Zhou to reflect on the “visible” and the “present”. 

From an early age, Hoho Zhou has been wandering in different cultural environments of the East and the West. She has received training in music, fashion design, and styling classes at the Academy of Fine Arts. The mixed culture has long been engraved in her mind. Zhou often works on several subjects at the same time, with clear professional boundaries between each other. Her works which maintain a clear distance from the popular culture are very experimental. If you are accustomed to viewing one’s work through referring to an established concept, you may find Zhou’s works unfamiliar or even disturbing. Why not put aside these restrictions? Let us feel the unique techniques, explore the subtle interaction between her works and the space, and experience the abnormal “habitat” created by the artist Hoho Zhou. 

The title of Haruki Murakami’s book Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World best describes this exhibition.

About the Artist

Hoho Zhou (born in Chengdu, Sichuan) graduated from the Sichuan Fine Arts Institute and Bunka Fashion College (Tokyo). 

At a young age, Zhou and her mother left China and went to Germany, where she received early musical education. After returning to China, she studied at the high school affiliated to Sichuan’s Conservatory of Music. Her personal life and learning experiences cultivated her to be artistically and professionally sensitive towards mixed media and visual arts communication, as well as towards life, natural origin, and the diligent exploration of form. The intersection of fashion design, music and visual arts creation is the normal state of Zhou’s working progress. This atypical working style has an element of strength in today’s era, whether that be in cross-disciplinary work, or work related to the division of labor.  

Zhou’s creations involve various types of media, such as images, installations, paintings, and sounds. In recent years, some of the group exhibitions she has participated in include: “Return- The First China Hechuan Diaoyu Fortress International New Media Art Festival” (Chengdu, 2017), “The 4th Documentary Exhibition of Fine Arts/ Stress field” (Hubei Museum of Art, Wuhan, 2017), “Do You Copy” (MoCA, Shanghai, 2019), “The Artist’s 2020 Reality and Ideals” (Chengdu Blue Top Art Gallery, Chengdu, 2020), “Temporary Symptoms” (The Galaxy Museum of Contemporary Art, Chongqing, 2020), and “Name” (Yuelai Art Museum, Chongqing, 2021). Individual exhibitions include: MIRRORIM (Pangea Solarium, Tokyo, 2010), “Fanatics 2012” (Gallery Yang, Beijing, 2011), “Dispel Doom” (MoCA Contemporary Art Museum, Chongqing, 2017), “Unadulterated” (United Art Museum, Wuhan, 2018), “Empty Chamber Brightness Born” (MoCA Pavilion, Shanghai, 2019), and “Pure Return” (A4 ARIE Art Center, Chengdu, 2021). 

About the Curator 

Wang Xiaosong, Art Critic, Curator. Wang Xiaosong graduated from the Chinese National Academy of Arts in 2015 with a Doctorate degree. He worked at He Xiangning Art Museum from 2006 to 2012 and engaged in post-doctoral research at Tsinghua University from 2015 to 2017.

Wang has curated and participated in several important exhibitions and art projects, such as “The Art and Life of He Xiangning: Mapping, Illustrating, and Documenting the Landscape of History – The 10 Year Anniversary of the He Xiangning Art Museum”, the 1st to 4th “Cross-strait Four-regions Artistic Exchange Project”, Taipei Kuandu Arts Festival “Asia Cruise - Evidence” station (2013), the 6th “Garden Dialogue: Contemporary Art Invitational Exhibition”, the 1st to 3rd Global Overseas Chinese Artists Exhibition, the 4th Documentary Exhibition of Fine Arts, the 3rd Triennial of Fiber Art, as well as the 1st and 2nd Wuzhen International Contemporary Art Invitational Exhibitions. Wang has also planned and hosted lectures 101-200 of “The Voice of Humanism- Academic lecture of He Xiangning Art Museum”. Since 2011, he has written art review for Chinese Contemporary Art News Magazine and Hi Art. Furthermore, he has reviewed works by Jin Daiqiang, Xu Bing, Yue Minjun, Zhou Chunya, Liu Jianhua, Liu Xuguang, etc. His literary criticisms have been collected into a volume titled Under the Sight
© 2021  Long Museum  All Rights Reserved. 沪ICP备12048670号-1

往期展览

周褐褐:载我以形

2021.7.23-2021.9.12
龙美术馆 西岸馆

艺术家 周褐褐
策展人 王晓松
主办 龙美术馆
2021年7月23日至9月12日,龙美术馆(西岸馆)将呈现展览“周褐褐:载我以形”。展览由艺术评论人王晓松策划,呈现19件/组周褐褐近五年的新作。美术馆将以展览为载体,通过具有周褐褐个人“非虚构”特征的作品,展现她用艺术的方式对大众化“自然观”的穿越和再造。

展览名“载我以形”出自《庄子·大宗师》:“夫大块载我以形,劳我以生,佚我以老,息我以死。故善吾生者,乃所以善吾死也。”大自然给我形体,用生使我勤劳,用老使我清闲,用死使我安息。所以把我的出生看做好事的,也就因此可以把我的死亡看做好事。周褐褐希望这样一个题目可以使她的个展保持一种连续性,而且她在阅读中确实被庄子的自然观所感动。可是,由于部分观者不一定了解庄子对万物生长、毁灭、竞争的复杂描述,往往以“超然物外”来做简化处理,难免会有人把讨论引入到“民哲”、“民科”的诡辩中。其实,周褐褐关心的并不是这些语言的缠绕,而是好奇庄子所谓万物“不同形相禅”的瞬间的生息形变,即不同生命形态之间的转化。

此次展览从周褐褐近五年间的创作中,抽取了她对生命意识和生物形态给予强烈关注的部分,涉及装置、雕塑、摄影等不同类型,其直接的创作动机和源泉更多地来自于她自身,从人生历练与收藏、宠物喂养中获得的直接体验,在周褐褐看来,作品的奇异形态只是被日常视线、概念所掩盖的多重生命的自然延伸。此外,我们还有意弱化了周褐褐早年带有标志性符号的创作(如“驱散阴霾”、“狂热者”系列)——它们在形态上有太多可能会让人误解的未来感和科幻色彩。在疫情世界里,周褐褐决然向最初的那一点点“异星”和“异形”诗性想象告别,带着自己的生活经验史和美学经验史,一次次敲击,寻找这个星球的隐秘力量与可见世界的交互界面。

从幼年开始,周褐褐就在东西方不同的文化环境中几经漂泊,接受过音乐、服装设计和美术学院的科班造型训练,文化混生早已刻在了基因链上。她同时在几条线上创作,互相之间专业界限清晰,却都以实验性与流行的艺术生态保持着明确的距离。如果你习惯了参考既定概念来认识作品,可能会有些陌生和不适,那你不妨放下种种限定,从作品的技术感性慢慢进入,沿着作品在空间中的关系线索,进入夏日展场里周褐褐搭建的异常生境。

如果需要一点现场剧透的话,我们选择村上春树的书名:“世界尽头与冷酷仙境”。

关于艺术家

周褐褐,四川成都人,先后毕业于四川美术学院、日本文化服装学院。

周褐褐幼年时随母亲远赴德国生活,并接受了最早的音乐教育,回国后入读四川音乐学院附属中学。个人生活和学习经历,培养了她对材料媒介和艺术语言综合性的专业敏感度,以及对于生命、自然本源与形态探索的孜孜以求。服装设计、音乐和视觉艺术创作交叉进行是周褐褐工作的常态,这在无论是强调“分工”还是“跨界”的时代都具有一定的“非典型性”。

周褐褐的创作涉及影像、装置、绘画、声音艺术等不同类型,近年部分个展包括:MIRRORRIM(Pangea Solarium,日本东京,2010)、“狂热者2012”(杨画廊,北京,2011)、“驱散阴霾”(成都当代美术馆,成都,2017)、“因彼而行”(合美术馆,武汉,2018)、“驱散阴霾之虚室生白”(上海当代艺术馆艺术亭台,上海,2019)、“纯纯各归”(麓湖A4美术馆,成都,2021)。部分群展包括:“重返——首届中国·合川钓鱼城国际新媒体艺术节”(成都,2017)、“第四届美术文献展/应力场”(湖北美术馆,武汉,2017)、“塔台呼唤”(上海当代艺术馆,上海,2019)、“艺术家的2020真实与理想”(成都蓝顶美术馆,成都,2020)、“临时症候”(星汇当代美术馆,重庆,2020)、“姓·名”(悦来美术馆,重庆,2021)。

关于策展人

王晓松,艺术评论人、策展人。2015年毕业于中国艺术研究院,获博士学位。2006-2012年供职于何香凝美术馆,2015-2017年在清华大学从事博士后研究工作。

策划及参与策划的展览包括“何香凝艺术的地·图·志——何香凝美术馆建馆十周年展览”、第1-4届“两岸四地艺术交流计划”、2013台北关渡艺术节“亚洲巡弋——物证”展、第6届“对话园林当代艺术邀请展”、第1-3届全球华人艺术展、第4届美术文献展、第3届纤维艺术三年展以及第1、2届乌镇当代艺术邀请展等。策划主持“人文之声——何香凝美术馆学术讲座”第101-200讲。2011年起,开始为《当代艺术新闻》《Hi艺术》撰写艺术评论专栏。编著有靳埭强、徐冰、岳敏君、周春芽、刘建华、刘旭光等设计师、艺术家的作品/文献集,著有文艺评论集《视线之下》。
© 2021 龙美术馆 版权所有 沪ICP备12048670号-1