Current Exhibitions

Jonas Burgert: blüht und lügt

2021.7.31-2021.10.10
Long Museum West Bund

Artist Jonas Burgert
Curator Emile H. Kuang/ Kuang Wei
Orgaziner Long Musem
From July 31 to October 10, 2021, Long Museum (West Bund) will present the solo exhibition ‘blüht und lügt’ by the German artist Jonas Burgert, which will be his inaugural solo museum exhibition in Asia. Curated by Emile H. Kuang/ Kuang Wei, the exhibition will bring together a wide range of Burgert’s former works and brand-new pieces in which the artist constructs other dimensions filled with obscure characters.

Burgert is a true master of figurative painting and each of his works contains complex scenes. Furthermore, he examines contemporary life and illustrates his vision of our human existence. Regardless of culture and nationalistic differences, Burgert’s works are relatable for everyone. “For me it’s not interesting to show what it’s there, but to show what’s also the subtext. I try to see what’s behind the people around me and what’s behind the surface’’, says Burgert. The exhibition ‘blüht und lügt’ challenges the viewer to look beyond the surface of their own human existence. The visual media is Burgert’s tool to showcase the inner emotions and balance in human’s daily life. As Burgert’s states himself, “It’s interesting for me to see what’s behind the scenes, and not only the bad things, also the good things.

Burgert uses both large surfaces with great visual impact and smaller canvases for a deeper examination into individual subjects, with portraits of mystique characters. If they were under a microscope, Burgert’s works have the quality to introduce us to a visual collection of events and individuals with whom we can identify with. His paintings reveal human figures dressed in odd costumes, decorated faces, and obscure objects. Darkness looms in the paintings of Burgert, which reminds the viewer of the dangerous play of life and death. His works refer to the European renaissance and the Flemish masters such as Hieronymus Bosch. Overall, Burgert’s paintings seem relevant and interesting to fall into the light of our current pandemic situation. He creates a wide range of marks and depth, all culminating in this new exhibition ‘blüht und lügt’. The use of luminous color and grotesque figures celebrates the balance between memory and imagination. 

About the Artist 

Jonas Burgert (born in Berlin, Germany in 1969) graduated from The Academy of Fine Arts, Berlin in 1996. His selected solo exhibitions include Tang Contemporary Art Gallery (Beijing) (2020), Tang Contemporary Art (Hong Kong) (2019), MAMBO, Bologna (2017), Blain|Southern, London (2014), Produzentengalerie, Hamburg (2016), Victoria H. Myhren Gallery, University of Denver, USA (2008). 

He has taken part in numerous group exhibitions in institutions including Taguchi Art Collection, Gunma, Japan (2017), All Visual Arts, The Crypt, London, UK (2013), Folkwang Museum, Essen (2007), Saatchi Gallery, London, UK (2006). 
© 2021  Long Museum  All Rights Reserved. 沪ICP备12048670号-1

往期展览

乔纳斯·博格特:绽放和谎言

2021.7.31-2021.10.10
龙美术馆 西岸馆

艺术家 乔纳斯·博格特
策展人 艾米丽旷、旷卫
主办 龙美术馆
2021年7月31日至10月10日,龙美术馆(西岸馆)将推出德国艺术家乔纳斯·博格特(Jonas Burgert)在亚洲的首场美术馆个展“绽放和谎言”。本次展览由艾米丽旷和旷卫策划,汇集了博格特的众多旧作和全新作品,艺术家在此中构建了充满晦暗人物的一个另类维度。

博格特是一位真正的具象派绘画大师,他的每一幅作品都包罗万象,纷繁芜杂;此外,他亦审视当代生活,描绘自己对于人类存在的想象。无论国家和文化有何差异,博格特的作品与每个人都紧密相连,息息相关。他说:“对我而言,展示存在的东西没意思,展现‘画外之意’才有趣。我试着了解周围的人背后有什么,表象的背后是什么。”本次展览“绽放和谎言”(blüht und lügt) 挑战观者透过自身人类存在的表象,探究更深层次的内涵。博格特善用视觉媒体这一工具,来展示我们人类日常生活中的内心情感和内在平衡。正如他自己所言:“察觉幕后的东西对我来说很有趣,不止是坏事,也有好事。”

博格特的作品既采用大画面营造强大的视觉冲击力,也使用小画布更加深入地审视个人主体,描绘出神秘人物的肖像。如果把它们放在显微镜下观察,其特质自可纤毫毕现,引领我们去探究那些林林总总、栩栩如生又极具辨识度的活动和个体。他的画作展现身着古怪服饰的人类形象、经过粉饰的面孔和晦暗不明的物体;暗黑元素穿插其中,若隐若现,令观者不由得想起生与死的危险游戏。博格特的画作还参考了欧洲文艺复兴时期和佛兰德画派大师的作品,如希罗尼穆斯·博斯 (Hieronymus Bosch)。总而言之,在当前疫情大流行的世界形势下,博格特的画作只会显得更加切中时弊、击中观者内心。他创造了各式各样的标记和深度,所有这些都将在本次个展“绽放和谎言”中达到巅峰,运用荧光色调和怪诞人物颂扬记忆和想象之间的平衡。

关于艺术家 

乔纳斯·博格特于1969年出生于德国柏林,1996年毕业于柏林美术学院。其部分个展包括:北京当代唐人艺术中心(2020)、香港当代唐人艺术中心(2019)、博洛尼亚MAMBO(2017)、伦敦Blain|Southern(2014)、汉堡Produzentengalerie(2016)、美国丹佛大学Victoria H. Myhren画廊(2008)等。

博格特曾参与多家机构举办的多场群展,包括日本群马的田口艺术藏品展(2017)、英国伦敦的All Visual Arts, The Crypt(2013)、德国埃森的Folkwang博物馆展览(2007)、英国伦敦的萨奇画廊展览(2006)。
© 2021 龙美术馆 版权所有 沪ICP备12048670号-1