Past Exhibitions

George Condo: The Picture Gallery

2021.9.26-2021.11.28
Long Museum West Bund

Artist George Condo
Curator Massimiliano Gioni

From 26 September to 28 November 2021, Long Museum (West Bund) presents the largest solo exhibition by George Condo in Asia, ‘The Picture Gallery.’ This ambitious presentation brings together more than 200 paintings, sculptures and drawings made throughout the artist’s career. Curated by Massimiliano Gioni and designed in collaboration with world-renowned architect Annabelle Selldorf, the exhibition focuses on some of the most important cycles and bodies of works that have defined Condo’s art since the late 1970s, when the artist was among the first to herald a critical return to painting after decades of conceptual art practices.


‘The Picture Gallery’ opens with a new cycle of paintings specifically realized for the Long Museum, which combine free gestural interventions with drawn figurative notations. Grouped under the title ‘Blues Paintings,’ this new body of work plays with musical references ranging from blues music to free jazz, while also composing an elegiac atmosphere. Condo refers to these works as a ‘lamentation for the return to the so-called new normal’ in the wake of the months of lockdown that followed the Covid-19 pandemic.


‘Blues Paintings’ stand in stark contrast with a selection of important early works, throughout which Condo depicts imaginary creatures, cartoon characters, and his legendary ‘antipodular beings’ with the fastidiousness of an old master. Condo’s ability to bend traditional techniques to unexpected ends is also in full display in a massive salon-style installation featuring more than 30 portraits made over the last four decades. Combining an acute psychological insight with a maddening physiognomic imagination, Condo’s portraits seemingly compose a cast for a new theater of the absurd, mysteriously conflating comedy and tragedy.


In the cycle titled ‘The American Wing,’ paintings and largescale silkscreens portray American junk food, B movie actors, and television personalities, often overpainted with Condo’s cursive characters. Articulating Condo’s caustic take on American culture, ‘The American Wing’ likewise reflects on the role of museums in the construction of myths of national identity and culture.


Condo further extended his exploration of the human psyche into physical space in his sculptures. Cast in a variety of precious metals such as bronze and gold, the works immediately evoke multiple traditional sculptural techniques. But in Condo’s anarchic approach to figuration, art history and chronology can be reconfigured at will, according to a cut-up method that dissolves hierarchies and conventional narratives. This tension between futurism and archaism returns in ‘Black Paintings,’ a rarely exhibited group of works from 2019 in which Condo depicts cyborgs and robots torn by existential doubts, ostensibly pushed to the edge of survival.


Condo’s systematic confrontation with art history – both as a medium and a subject of his work – continues in a series of ‘Neo-Renaissance’ paintings and portraits of fictional aristocratic characters. In these paintings, Condo, once again, blends technical bravura with an irreverent approach to tradition.


A cycle of recent oil stick paintings reveals the ways in which the artist has assimilated the tragic events of 2020. In works such as ‘Father and Daughter with Face Mask’ and ‘Up Against the Wall,’ Condo reflects on isolation, proximity, and distance as the defining forces that have shaped life in the past year and a half.


Alongside the debut of ‘Blues Paintings,’ ‘The Picture Gallery’ also premieres a new group of ‘Toy Heads,’ a cycle of paintings in which Condo continues his investigation around the construction of subjectivity and the endless possibilities of reinvention of the self.


The exhibition is completed by a cabinet of drawings, presenting more than 70 drawings, starting from sketches realized when the artist was just a teenager up to a series of careful studies for his paintings and recent largescale works. Together, these drawings, made over forty years, offer an unexpected insight into Condo’s ebullient creative process.


About the Artist


Born in New Hampshire in 1957, Condo moved to New York in 1979. He quickly became a central figure in the East Village art scene at the moment when the collision of New Wave music, graffiti art, and appropriation tactics began to redefine the entire creative geography of New York City for years to come.


By the early 1980s, Condo’s specific approach to painting combined influences from Cubism, Surrealism, and other 20th-century avant-garde movements with cartoon characters and vernacular imagery, inaugurating a new kind of figuration which the artist defined as ‘artificial realism.’


For more than four decades, Condo’s stunning virtuosity and ability to devour and ventriloquize any historical painting style has resulted in a prodigious output. In his vast oeuvre, ‘fake old masters paintings,’ as the artist describes them, coexist with his maddening explorations of the human psyche, while figuration and abstraction are woven into tapestries of signs and symbols that find inspiration in the work of experimental writers and musicians.


George Condo has exhibited worldwide in various solo and group exhibitions, his works have also been honored with inclusion in Biennials in the United States and abroad. In 2019 he participated in the 58th Venice Biennale’s ‘May You Live In Interesting Times.’ His work was also exhibited in the Venice Biennale six years prior, in 2013. Other biennials in which Condo has participated include the 13th Biennale de Lyon in 2015, the 10th Gwangju Biennale in 2014, the 2010 and 1987 iterations of the Whitney Biennial, and the 48th Corcoran Biennial in Washington DC in 2005.


Condo’s work can be found in renowned public collections internationally, including: Art Gallery of Ontario, Toronto, Canada; Astrup Fearnley Museum of Modern Art, Oslo, Norway; Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris, France; Dakis Joannou/Deste Foundation, Athens, Greece; Museu d’Art Contemporani, Barcelona, Spain; Staedel Museum, Frankfurt, Germany; Tate Modern, London, United Kingdom; The Broad Collection, Los Angeles CA; The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York NY; The Museum of Modern Art, New York NY; The National Gallery of Art, Washington DC; The Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York NY; and the Whitney Museum of American Art, New York NY.


About the Curator


Massimiliano Gioni is the Edlis Neeson Artistic Director of the New Museum and the director of the Trussardi Foundation in Milan. He has curated numerous international exhibitions and biennials including the 55th Venice Biennale (2013), the 8th Gwangju Biennale (2010), the first New Museum Triennial (co-curated with Lauren Cornell and Laura Hoptman in 2009), the 4th Berlin Biennale (co-curated with Maurizio Cattelan and Ali Subotnick in 2006) and Manifesta 5 (co-curated with Marta Kuzma in 2004).


In recent years he has curated solo exhibitions at the New Museum by John Akomfrah, Ed Atkins, Lynda Benglis, Nicole Eisenman, Sarah Lucas, Marta Minujin, Chris Ofili, Carol Rama, Pipilotti Rist, Anri Sala, Peter Saul, and Nari Ward, among others. In 2021, Gioni has served as part of the curatorial advisory group—composed of Naomi Beckwith, Glenn Ligon and Mark Nash—which supervised the posthumous realization of Okwui Enwezor’s exhibition ‘Grief and Grievance: Art and Mourning in America,’ which had been originally conceived by Enwezor for the New Museum. In 2019 Gioni curated ‘The Warmth of Other Suns. Stories of Global Displacement,’ a collaboration between the New Museum and the Phillips Collection in Washington DC, and at Museo Jumex in Mexico City he curated ‘Appearance Stripped Bare: Desire and the Object in the Work of Marcel Duchamp and Jeff Koons, Even,’ the first exhibition to bring in dialogue the works of Marcel Duchamp and Jeff Koons—with nearly 500,000 viewers, the exhibition was the most visited in the museum's history.


In June 2021, he organized ‘The Greek Gift,’ a small collective exhibition for the Dakis Joannou/Deste Foundation’s Slaughterhouse in Hydra, Greece. He is currently at work on Jeff Koons’s major solo exhibition ‘Lost in America’ which will open in Doha, Qatar, in November 2021.

© 2021  Long Museum  All Rights Reserved. 沪ICP备12048670号-1

往期展览

乔治·康多:图像殿堂

2021.9.26-2021.11.28
龙美术馆 西岸馆

艺术家 乔治·康多
策展人 马西米里亚诺·吉奥尼
2021年9月26至11月28日,龙美术馆(西岸馆)将推出展览“乔治·康多:图像殿堂”,这是乔治·康多在亚洲迄今为止最大规模个展,由马西米里亚诺·吉奥尼担任策展人,并与知名建筑师安娜贝尔·塞多夫合作布展,呈现200余件绘画、雕塑及素描作品,聚焦于康多自上世纪七十年代末以来重要的周期创作与作品系列。康多并没有顺应观念艺术的趋势,而是勇敢逆行,成为七十年代以来回归绘画潮流的先锋之一。

本次展览以全新的绘画作品“蓝调图像”系列为起点,拉开帷幕。在该系列作品中,康多结合自由的笔触和象征符号,重塑了传统的画面语言,灵活运用蓝调与自由爵士等音乐元素来谱写一曲视觉的“哀伤挽歌”。谈到这些作品,康多形容它们为“在新冠疫情时代下被迫适应‘新日常’的无奈与悲叹”。

康多的“蓝调图像”系列与此次展出的早年重要作品形成了鲜明的对比。过去他热衷于刻画虚构生物、卡通形象、和他标志性的“对映体”,他如同传统绘画大师一般一丝不苟地专研这些人物的形态。康多精通传统绘画技巧,却不拘泥于形式,因此在这次展览中观众也可以一睹康多变化多端的风格。他在过去四十年间创作的30多幅人物肖像画以强大的视觉冲击力几乎填满了龙美术馆一整面展墙,琳琅满目,让观众宛如走进巴黎沙龙的会场。康多以敏锐的洞察力和对人物面相的疯狂想象力,创作出一幅幅怪诞角色的肖像画。这些角色不一而同都散发着神秘气息,却又像荒谬的小丑,演绎着一出出悲喜交加的人生戏剧。

在“美国之翼”系列中,康多以油画与大型丝网印刷描绘出了美国垃圾食品、B级片电影及电视角色,这些形象往往被康多手绘的角色所覆盖。康多对美国文化刻薄的演绎在“美国之翼”中体现无遗,也反映出美术馆在塑造民族认同感与文化自信中所扮演的重要角色。

康多的雕塑作品展现了他对人类心理一贯的探索,并将这个理念延伸到了三维的物理空间,创作时采用了金属浇铸工艺来展现他的传统雕塑技巧。然而,康多具象的创作手法无拘无束,他利用切割法分解阶级性与习俗性的叙事,随心所欲地重塑艺术史与年代学。他内心里未来主义和拟古主义的对峙在“黑色图像”系列里表现得淋漓尽致。这是一组康多创作于2019年、鲜少被展出的系列作品,描绘了众多生化人和机器人对自身的存在感到疑惑和恐惧,乃至被推至生存的边缘奋力挣扎的景象。

康多与艺术史系统性的对峙同时体现在他的创作媒介与艺术主题两方面,这一对峙也延续到了描绘虚构贵族人物肖像的“新文艺复兴”系列。在这些作品中,康多再次混合了他精湛的作画技艺与反传统的创作手法。

同时展出的还有一系列以2020年悲剧事件为灵感的油画棒作品系列。其中《带着口罩的父女》与《困境》,康多反思了关于孤独、亲密关系、距离等在过去一年半中与我们生活息息相关的各种因素。

除了首次与观众见面的“蓝调图像”系列作品外,本次展览还将首次呈现康多的全新系列作品“玩具头”。在这个系列中,康多继续探索主观视角的构建与重塑自我的无限可能性。

展览末尾将展出70余件素描作品,其中既有艺术家少年时代创作的草图,也有近年来为创作油画与大型作品而潜心研究时创作的底稿。这些绘画跨越了四十年的岁月,让观众能够以独特的视角一览康多热情洋溢的创作过程。

关于艺术家

康多1957年生于美国新罕布什尔,1979年移居纽约,迅速成为东村艺术界举足轻重的人物。彼时新浪潮音乐、涂鸦艺术、挪用创作兴起,重新定义了此后多年纽约的创意版图。

到了八十年代初期,康多的绘画手法将立体主义、超现实主义与其它二十世纪先锋运动艺术风格相结合,如卡通形象与世俗图像,创造出一种全新的表达方式,康多称之为“人造现实主义”。

四十多年来,康多维持着精湛的技艺,历史上任何画派风格他都可以化为己用、驾轻就熟,由此创造出大量的精彩作品。他广袤的作品中无不充满了对人类心理的疯狂探索,又隐含着被他称作“假冒大师画作”的风格。同时,具象与抽象被编织在符号与象征中,其中的灵感多来自实验性作家与音乐家的作品。

乔治·康多的过往个展与群展遍布全球,并多次参与美国乃至世界各地的双年展,包括2019年和2013年的威尼斯双年展、2015年第13届里昂双年展、2014年第10届光州双年展、2010和1987年的惠特尼双年展,以及2005年华盛顿特区的第48届科克伦双年展。
 
康多的作品被全球知名公共收藏所收录,其中包括:加拿大多伦多安大略艺术画廊、挪威阿斯楚普·费恩利现代艺术博物馆、法国巴黎蓬皮杜中心、希腊雅典达吉斯·约安诺/戴思特基金会、西班牙巴塞罗那当代艺术博物馆、德国法兰克福施泰德博物馆、英国伦敦泰特现代美术馆、美国洛杉矶布洛德博物馆收藏、美国纽约大都会艺术博物馆、美国纽约现代艺术博物馆、美国华盛顿特区国家美术馆、美国纽约古根海姆美术馆、美国纽约惠特尼美术馆。

关于策展人

马西米利亚诺·吉奥尼于新美术馆任职艾德里斯·尼森艺术总监,兼任米兰楚萨迪基金会总监。他策划过许多国际展览与双年展,包括第55届威尼斯双年展(2013)、第8届光州双年展(2010)、第1届新美术馆三年展(与劳伦·康奈尔、劳拉·霍普特曼共同策划,2009)、第4届柏林双年展(与毛里西奥·卡泰兰、阿里·萨伯特尼克共同策划,2006),以及“宣言展5”(与玛塔·库兹玛共同策划,2004)。

近年来,他在新美术馆策划的艺术家展览包括约翰·阿科姆弗拉、埃德·阿特金斯、琳达·本格里斯、 妮可·埃森曼、莎拉·卢卡斯、玛塔·米努金、克里斯·奥菲利、卡罗尔·拉玛、皮皮洛蒂·瑞斯特、安利·萨拉、彼得·索尔、纳里·沃德等。2021年,吉奥尼参与了已故艺术家奥奎·恩威佐展览“悲伤与愤懑:美国的艺术和哀悼”的策展委员会,展览最初的构想就来自恩威佐本人。委员会成员还包括了娜奥美·贝克威思、格伦·利根与马克·纳什。2019年,吉奥尼策划了新美术馆与华盛顿特区菲利普斯收藏的合作展览“他乡暖阳:全球性的流离失所”。他还策划了墨西哥城尤麦克斯博物馆的展览“剥离的表象:杜尚与杰夫·昆斯作品中的欲与物”,这是首个将杜尚与杰夫·昆斯的作品进行对话的展览——展览观众超过50万人,是该博物馆历史上最多访客的展览。

2021年6月,他为达吉斯·约安诺/戴思特基金会在希腊海德拉的“屠宰房”空间组织了“希腊的馈赠”展览。目前他正策划杰夫·昆斯的大型个展“迷失美国”,展览将于2021年11月在卡塔尔多哈开幕。
© 2021 龙美术馆 版权所有 沪ICP备12048670号-1