Past Exhibitions

Zhao Gang: Domestic Anxiety

2021.5.16-2021.7.18
Long Museum West Bund

Artist Zhao Gang
Curator Lu Mingjun
Organizer Long Museum
The Long Museum will present Zhao Gang’s solo exhibition Domestic Anxiety in the  staircase gallery from May 16 through July 18, 2021. Domestic Anxiety will showcase several massive- and medium-scale still lifes created in the last two years, a series of medium-scale abstract paintings, as well as a large narrative painting created in 2017. Gang’s art explores the relationships between fluid individual identities, conflicting cultures, and the ruptured historical era. The recent paintings transcribe an individual’s emotional responses to specific historical moments and cultural contexts into a stream-of-consciousness–style visual monologue. Through his creative practice, Gang seeks freedom and truth in an increasingly convoluted social discourse.

We can tentatively interpret the title Domestic Anxiety as “a house-husband’s anguish,” referring to the culinary expert and chef Zhao Gang’s daily, year-long cooking obligations for his family during the pandemic. It further implies his alternative identity as a chef—cooking as a means of alleviating his perennial, perpetual anxiety.

The exhibition is curated by Lu Mingjun, a curator and art historian, who juxtaposes Gang’s abstract paintings with his still lifes. “The former concerns forms, originating from texts; the latter imagery—a corner of kitchen or dining room. If abstract art is his spiritual practice, still lifes demonstrate his mundane, bodily operations. Both are inspired by his personal experiences, but their inherent differences signal his split personality and unconscious anxiety,” Lu said.

The seven massive scale still lifes mark yet another major breakthrough in Zhao Gang’s four-decade painting career. By depicting meat, fruits, seafood, wine bottles, and wine glasses—objects embody “eternity” as Gang would claim—the artist renders the sentimentality of an era wherein he is a misfit to his contemporary, and where his stream-of-consciousness constantly surges forth from the depths of his soul without leaving an echo. The largest painting, Bloody Romance (2021), measuring 8 by 4m, appears to be comprised of flesh and flower from a distance. But as one approaches to within an arm’s length, that is, enveloped in the physicality of the moment the artist painted it, the contours of the objects fade; one is left facing abstract colors and lines wherein the artist’s deep emotions are curdling, throbbing, erupting.

This contrast between the distant/concrete and the closeup/abstract demonstrates that Zhao Gang has entered a new stage of artistic experimentation. Born in 1961 and raised in Beijing, Gang was once the youngest member of the Stars Art Group, engaging with Beijing’s underground art scene during the late 1970s. In 1983, he left China to study in Europe and the Unites States. After living in New York for 23 years and mingling in local art scene, Gang returned to China in 2006. Since then, he has regularly held exhibitions in Europe and the United States. As one of a few artists navigating the two different painting contexts in China and the West, he has experimented with landscapes, abstraction, history, portraits, figures, still lifes, and other classic painting genres and themes. In 2019, starting from a huge figure painting, Gang created a series of abstract paintings. Now, through his recent massive-scale still lifes and medium-sized abstract paintings, Gang again calls for the abstract, establishing a new visual narrative within the widening void of incongruity between the concrete and the abstract. 

As Lu Mingjun said: “This exhibition arose from Zhao Gang’s long-time rumination. Gang has been waiting several years for such an opportunity to reveal his self to the public in a decisive and unreserved manner.”

About the Artist

Zhao Gang (b. 1961, Beijing) currently lives and works in New York and Beijing. He made his artistic debut as a member of the Stars Group, one of the first avant-garde artist groups to open the era of contemporary art in China, when he was just 18 years old. Shortly thereafter he pursued formal art education in Europe and then New York, studying at the State Academy of Fine Art, Maastricht, Holland; Vassar College, Poughkeepsie, USA; MFA, Bard College, Annandale-on-Hudson, USA. Afterwards, Zhao Gang lived overseas for over two decades, developing a diverse body of work as his perspective became distinctively international. Since returning to Beijing in 2006, Zhao Gang has turned his ever-expanding focus toward the entanglement of his personal past with Chinese history and his unique position, at once a native and a newcomer, in China today. 

His selected solo exhibitions include: “Domestic Anxiety” (Long Museum West Bund, Shanghai, China, 2021); “Chinese Eastern Railway: Zhao Gang” (Long March Space, Beijing, China, 2020); “Zhao Gang 21st: Supports / ColorLumps as Anthropography of History” (Kuandu Museum of Fine Arts, Taipei, Taiwan, 2020); “History Painting” (Peréz Art Museum Miami, Miami, USA, 2019); “Acquiring Identity” (Long March Space, Beijing, China, 2018); “The Road to Serfdom II” (Museo de ArteContemporáneo, Santiago, Chile, 2016); “Paramour’s Garden” (Suzhou Museum, Suzhou, China, 2015); “The Road to Serfdom” (Ullens Center for Contemporary Art, Beijing, China, 2015); “Sick Man: Zhao Gang” (Today Art Museum, Beijing, China, 2011). 

His selected group exhibitions include “AND NOW: The Second Decade of The White Rabbit Collection” (White Rabit Gallery, Sydney, Australia, 2020); “Turning Point – 40 years of Chinese Contemporary Art” (Long Museum West Bund, Shanghai, China, 2018); “Art and China after 1989: Theater of the World” (Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York, USA, 2017); “The Door” (P.S.1 Institute of the Arts/Blum Helman Gallery, New York, USA, 1990). He has participated in important biennial/triennial exhibitions such as PERFORMA 07, Guangzhou Triennial, Yokohama Triennial, etc.

About the  Curator

LU Mingjun is a curator and a researcher of School of Philosophy at Fudan University. Recent curated exhibitions include “Frontier: Re-assessment of Post-Globalisational Politics”(2017-2018), “Assembling”(2019),“River Flowing without a Beacon, 1979” (2019),“Corner Square Montage”(2019), “Muses, Yu Gong and Compasses”(2020). Recent publications include “Poetic Justice” (2019); “Revolution of Art and Modern China: Radical Origins of Chinese Contemporary Art”(2020). 2015 Awarded the Robert H. N. Ho Family Foundation China Research Grant; 2016 Recipient of the Yishu Award for Writing on Contemporary Chinese Art; 2017 Awarded Asia Cultural Council Fellowship; 2017 Recipient of the CCAA Chinese Contemporary Art Critic Award; 2019 Recipient of the Award of Art China (AAC).
© 2021  Long Museum  All Rights Reserved. 沪ICP备12048670号-1

往期展览

赵刚:Domestic Anxiety

2021.5.16-2021.7.18
龙美术馆 西岸馆

艺术家 赵刚
策展人 鲁明军
主办 龙美术馆
2021年5月16日至7月18日,龙美术馆(西岸馆)将于阶梯展厅呈现赵刚个展“Domestic Anxiety”,展出艺术家最近两年创作的数件超大尺幅和中尺幅的静物、一组中尺幅抽象绘画、以及一张创作于2017年的大幅叙事画。赵刚的艺术关注流动的个体身份与冲突的文化和断裂的历史时间之间的关系,本次展览中的作品则更进一步将个体在具体的历史时刻与文化环境中的感受,转换为绘画语言的意识流,并体现了艺术家如何在一个日益内卷化的话语环境中,践行一种崇尚自由与本真的绘画。

展览主题“Domestic Anxiety”可以被权宜地翻译为“主夫的焦虑”,指向热爱美食且精于烹调的赵刚在疫情以来的一年多时间里每天为家人做饭的经历,也暗指“煮夫”身份对于赵刚的意义——做饭是他纾解自己常年、常态的焦虑的一种方式。

展览由策展人、艺术史专家鲁明军策划,采取了抽象和静物并置的结构。“前者(抽象)偏形式,后者(静物)重图像。前者来自文本,后者就是厨房、餐厅的一角。如果说抽象是一种精神实践的话,那么静物写生指的便是他的日常肉身行为。二者都源自他的生活和经验,但本质上的差别,也已暗示其不自觉的分裂和焦虑。”

七张超大尺幅的静物画标志着赵刚完成了他四十多年来的绘画历程中的又一次重大挑战。通过选择画肉、水果、海鲜、酒瓶、酒杯——这些被赵刚称为具有“永恒性”的物,赵刚在画布上宣泄着自己作为一个与周遭环境格格不入的感伤者的时代感、以及他内心深处时刻涌动却又无从获得回应的意识流。其中最大的一张《血色浪漫》(2021年)为8米高、4米宽,远观是具体的肉与花的形,近看——当人和画布隔着手臂长短的距离——则让人进入到艺术家作画当下的身体感:此时,物的具体的形状已经隐没,可面对的只有抽象的色彩和线条,以及在这色彩和线条里或凝固着、或跳动着、或爆发着的艺术家的情感意识流。

这种远的、整体的具象与近的、局部的抽象的关系,同时也标志了赵刚对绘画的探索已进入了新阶段。赵刚生于1961年,在北京出生、长大。他曾是“星星画会”最年轻的成员,于上世纪70年代末活跃于北京地下艺术舞台,1983年离开中国,游学于欧洲和美国,后在纽约生活了23年,活跃于纽约的艺术圈,直到2006年回到中国,至今仍保持着在欧洲与美国的展览频率。作为少数同时身处中国和西方两个不同绘画语境的艺术家,他曾在风景、抽象、历史绘画、人物、人体、静物等种种经典的绘画类型或题材中进行实验。2019年,他曾经从一张超大尺幅的人体像出发,创造了一系列可以被视作抽象画的作品。如今,通过超大尺幅的静物画以及同期创作的中尺幅的抽象,他又再次召唤回抽象,并在叙事和抽象这两种渐行渐远的绘画方向之上,建立了一种新的绘画性的叙事。

正如鲁明军所言:“这是赵刚酝酿已久的一个展览。这些年,他一直在等待这样一个机会,期望以一个决绝的方式将自己彻底暴露在公众面前。”

关于艺术家

赵刚(1961年出生于北京),现工作和生活于北京和纽约。18岁时参加星星画会——此团体是最早的前卫艺术家群体,为中国当代艺术的发展铺设了重要基石。此后,他留学于欧洲和纽约多所院校,并于纽约生活、工作二十余年。在此期间,他逐步发展出鲜明的国际化特征,并创作出风格多元的作品。在2004年回到北京后,赵刚不断地把焦点投向了他的独特的个人经历与中国历史之间的纠缠——他既生于此地,却又是陌生的新晋移民。

赵刚重要个展包括:“Domestic Anxiety”(龙美术馆西岸馆,上海,2021);“中东铁路:赵刚”(长征空间,北京,2020);“赵刚21st : 色表 / 支架作为历史人类志”(关渡美术馆,中国台北,2020);“历史绘画”(佩雷斯艺术博物馆,美国迈阿密,2019);“购买的身份”(长征空间,北京,2018);“通往奴役之路 II”(圣地亚哥当代艺术博物馆,智利,2016);“偶园:赵刚个人作品展”(苏州博物馆,苏州,2015);“通往奴役之路”(尤伦斯当代艺术中心,北京,2015)。

重要群展包括:“而今:白兔收藏的第二个十年”(澳大利亚白兔美术馆,悉尼,2020);“转折点——中国当代艺术四十年”(龙美术馆西岸馆,上海,2018);“1989后的艺术与中国:世界剧场”(所罗门.R.古根海姆美术馆,纽约,2017);“门”(PS1, 艺术机构/Blum Helman画廊,纽约,1990)。他曾参加2005年横滨三年展、2007年纽约表演艺术双年展、2008年广州三年展等重要双/三年展。

关于策展人

鲁明军,复旦大学哲学学院青年研究员,策展人。近年策划《疆域:地缘的拓扑》(2017-2018)、《在集结》(2019)、《没有航标的河流,1979》(2019)、《街角、广场与蒙太奇》(2019)、《缪斯、愚公与指南针》(2020)等展览。在《文艺研究》《美术研究》《二十一世紀》等刊物发表论文多篇。近著有《目光的诗学:感知—政治—时间》(上河卓远文化·河南大学出版社,2019)、《美术变革与现代中国:中国当代艺术的激进根源》(2020)等。2015年获得何鸿毅家族基金中华研究奖助金。2016年获得YiShu中国当代艺术写作奖。2017年获得美国亚洲文化协会奖助金(ACC)。同年,获得第6届中国当代艺术评论奖(CCAA)。2019年获得中国当代艺术奖(AAC)年度策展人奖。
© 2021 龙美术馆 版权所有 沪ICP备12048670号-1