Current Exhibitions

Looking Back and Moving Forward ——From the Collection: Celebrating 100 Years of the Chinese Communist Party

2021.5.1-2021.10.24
LONG MUSEUM WEST BUND

Orgaziner LONG MUSEUM 
From 1921 to 2021, the Chinese Communist Party has been in existence for an entire century. 

The Chinese Communist Party witnessed the birth and development of various genres of revolutionary artworks, and the resulting “New China” art became one of the most important movements of its kind. Due to the outbreak of the Second Sino-Japanese War in the 1930s, art – and in particular, prints – served as an important weapon that led the Chinese people towards salvation. In 1942, Mao Zedong’s speeches at the “Yan’an Forum on Literature and Art” greatly influenced how revolutionary art and New China art was to develop from the 1940s onwards and induced many artists to create artworks that were in service of the people. This further encouraged artists to work in mediums that were already loved and cherished by the masses. Since the establishment of the People’s Republic of China in 1949, the Ministry of Culture, the National Museum of China, and the Military Museum of the Chinese People’s Revolution have all hosted numerous large-scale exhibitions that centered on the theme of history, reflecting the continual lineage and development of revolutionary artwork. A large number of artists also began to depict historical scenes and heroic figures from the Revolution as well as the exemplary deeds of the leaders of the Communist Party in a realistic and down-to-earth manner. For this reason, it can be said that the history of New China art is closely related to the development of the Chinese Communist Party. 

The exhibited works come from a private collection provided by Long Museum and range from the 1930s up until the beginning of the 21st century. Of these, works that originated from the 1960s and 1970s are the most abundant; the scenes depicted cover the multifarious aspects of history and truth. Within the larger framework of history, this exhibition specifically focuses on the theme of artistic creation and is divided into two sections. The first section, “The Difficult Years: A Milestone in the Revolution,” mainly centers around artistic creation of the revolutionary and warring years. The second section, “Building the Nation: A Chapter to a New Era,” exhibits a selection of works that emerged after the establishment of New China and focuses on the theme of nation-building. Additionally, this exhibition features a special section on the literature of the time, displaying sketches and manuscripts related to the exhibited works.

The history of the Chinese Communist Party has given birth to countless New China artworks. This exhibition not only provides a comprehensive view of the artistic creation from this special period, but also serves as a reminder of the history and development of the Communist Party. Using this special occasion as an opportunity, the exhibition celebrates the hundredth anniversary of the Chinese Communist Party through a display of the contributions made by the nation’s artists towards the development of New China art. 
© 2021  Long Museum  All Rights Reserved. 沪ICP备12048670号-1

往期展览

回望与前行: 庆祝中国共产党建党一百周年特展

2021.5.1-2021.10.24
龙美术馆 西岸馆

主办 龙美术馆
从1921年到2021年,中国共产党走过了整整一百年的历程。

与中国共产党的革命风云岁月相伴而生的是各个门类的红色文艺经典,新中国主题性美术创作是其中的重要组成之一。1930年代,由于抗日战争的爆发,艺术——尤其是新兴木刻版画成为了全民族救亡的“武器”,呈现出积极介入社会,参与革命斗争的决心;1942年毛泽东《在延安文艺座谈会上的讲话》的发表极大影响了1940年代以来的解放区美术创作以及新中国美术创作,大批艺术家开始运用群众喜闻乐见的形式创作为人民服务的艺术;1949年新中国成立后,文化部、历史博物馆、军事博物馆曾多次组织重大历史题材的主题创作,反映革命历史题材的绘画不断出现,众多艺术家开始用写实的方法表现革命历史、革命英雄以及中国共产党领导人的革命事迹。因此,可以说新中国美术史和中国共产党的发展史是紧密相关的。

龙美术馆提供的私人收藏作品中,从1930年代开始直至21世纪初的主题性创作中,尤以1960年代至1970年代期间的创作最为丰富,其中描绘的主题也涵盖了重要史实和社会现实的各个方面。本次展览以作品创作的主题为线索,分为两个部分:第一部分“艰苦岁月:革命的里程碑”主要展示了与革命年代和战争年代相关的主题性美术创作;第二部分“建设祖国:新时代的篇章”则选取了新中国成立以后,和国家建设主题相关的创作。此外,本次展览设置了特别文献板块,展示了部分作品的素描稿和手稿等。

中国共产党的历史进程积淀了无数新中国主题性美术作品,本次展览不仅是对这一特殊时期艺术创作的全面展示,也是对中国共产党所走过的历程的回望,以此为契机,借由前辈艺术家们为新中国美术发展所做出的历史性贡献,庆祝中国共产党建党一百周年。
© 2021 龙美术馆 版权所有 沪ICP备12048670号-1