Past Exhibitions

Loie Hollowell: Recalibrate

2021.4.24-2021.7.11
LONG MUSEUM WEST BUND

Artist Loie Hollowell
Orgaziner Long Museum

From April 24, 2021 to July 11, 2021, the Long Museum (West Bund) is pleased to present ‘Loie Hollowell: Recalibrate’, the New York-based, American artist’s first solo museum exhibition and debut presentation in China.


The show is comprised of 15 large-scale paintings created between 2018 and 2020. Produced over the last two years, the canvases belong to Loie Hollowell’s series of Plumb Line paintings which address the artist’s embodiment of pregnancy and render the transfiguration of the female body in stages of prenatal and postpartum existence. Originating in autobiography, the works respond to the artist’s pregnancy with her first child, who was born in December 2018, and the experience of the physical and psychological postpartum journey as it morphed into the pregnancy of her second child, who was born in April 2020. Art historian Elizabeth Buhe reflects on this profound body of work, noting “We telescope from micro- to macroscopic, from internal to external experience, and from the self to the new life one’s own body can harbor.”


Loie Hollowell is known for her paintings that explore the human body in vibrant geometric abstractions, often referencing the act of conception, pregnancy, the experience of giving birth, postpartum reflections, and human anatomy with an emphasis given to the contours of female forms. Void of storytelling, her subject matter emerges from phenomenological experience. It harnesses an energy and spirit that willfully penetrates the body, looking both inward and outward, manifesting as something that can be at once felt and observed. In the artist’s words: “Beauty for me is not just visual, it is also experiential. I want the viewer to come away not necessarily knowing what I was trying to tell them about, say, my birth experience, but absorbing an impression of brightness or richness or radiance that has something to do with their relationship to their own body.”


The works on view in this exhibition consider the female body in a state of realignment: reconciling the physical and psychological realities of postpartum, rejuvenating the well-being of the body post-birth, and repositioning it for a renewed journey of fertility and conception. The body has long been a central focus in Hollowell’s artistic practice. As her canvases evolved into figurative paintings, taking the female body as her subject, and then shifted toward abstraction, Hollowell began to break-up and divide the figure within her frame. She developed a pared down visual language characterized by vibrant hues, varied surface textures, the repetition of geometric forms, and compositional symmetry. Illuminated by auras of glinting


sensuous color, this focused selection of works pulsates with a life-giving vitality that embraces the fortitude and vulnerability of the artist’s post-birth and pre-pregnant body.


These paintings are the artist’s largest works to date and absorb the full scale of the human figure into the framework of the canvas, mapping the body into both horizontal and vertical regions and dividing it into distinct corporeal forms. Each painting is united by a luminous line that runs down the center of the canvas off of which beaming, tonal half-moons protrude. The semi-circles are paired, two small crescents and two large, one set adjoined to either side. A glowing orb adorns the line and anchors the spine of the figure while an almond-shaped mandorla punctuates our gaze as we observe the dilating orbs descending down the surface of the canvas. Large concentric rings of circular or oblong forms embrace the figure and emit radiating hues that surround her. Manifested as breast, belly, butt, vulva, and ovum, this is the artist’s body: recalibrated. This is her body, recovering, recharging, and ripe.


Hollowell’s paintings are enraptured in light and shadow. Washed in subtle gradations of dazzling, electric and bold, jewel-toned hues, her handling of paint sparks dialogues between flatness and depth, figure and ground, color and contour. Hovering behind the artist’s anthropomorphic forms are layers of chromatic ellipses that spread outward toward the edges of the canvas. In different paintings, the orbs fade from bronze to apricot, jade to aqua, crimson to cindered rose. They inscribe the swelling semi-circles, in royal purple, lime, and cyan, within their cells, which stand out in stark relief. For the artist, color is an expression of her intersubjective experiences, alluding to emotional states of peace, exhaustion, agony, and bliss.


In some paintings, such as Red Hole (2019), a throbbing sphere encircles the figure. A white light glistens from its outermost edges while graduations of color deepen inward to the depths and shaded darkness of the center apex. This entry point is where night meets day, a collision of worlds from one gateway to the next. Other paintings substitute the ovum for the hole. In Purple Ovum (2020), a blackened edge reverses the chromatic effect that the artist achieved prior. The contours of the purple ovoid soften toward the center, diffusing a warm luster from within. Employing egg-shaped forms, Hollowell engages with meditations of fertility and fecundity in the postpartum period.


Hollowell achieves complex and shifting perceptual effects through the unexpected textural quality that she builds up on the surface of her canvases. Her compositional process begins with a line drawing, where she reduces form and establishes relationships between shapes and with the frame of the canvas. Then, she initiates a pastel drawing on paper and develops an exchange between color and form. Covering her panels in linen, she sculpts an uneven surface and builds elements in relief. Hollowell employs high-density foam that is milled and glued to the panel, which she covers and seals with an acrylic medium to achieve a white surface. Using fine, visible brushstrokes and sponged paint, she creates a circular, swirling texture as she blends paint. Her marks add sculptural volume and topography to the matte fields of her canvases, catching and refracting ambient light and drawing attention to the internal luminosity achieved through her subtle, sensual color gradients.


About the Artist


Loie Hollowell (born in Woodland, California in 1983) earned a BA from the University of California, Santa Barbara and an MFA from Virginia Commonwealth University.

 

Known for paintings and drawings that explore the bodily landscape, Hollowells practice exists in the liminal space between abstraction and figuration, otherworldly and corporeal. Originating in autobiography, her work explores themes of sexuality, pregnancy and birth. Hollowells geometric compositions use symbolic shapes such as the mandorla, ogee, and lingam to build her distinctive visual lexicon. In referencing her own personal experiences, Hollowells paintings are at once personal and universal in their fierce vulnerability. Her use of symmetry often anchoring her compositions in a central, singular axis relates her paintings to her own body as well as the natural world.

 

For Hollowell, the scale of her work is particularly significant as she creates each work in direct correlation with the size of the body part depicted, be it her head, breasts, groin, or entire body. Furthering her exploration of physicality, Hollowell adheres sculpted forms onto her canvases to confound expectations of painting. Hollowells protruding forms are blended seamlessly, forcing the viewer to move around the canvas to determine whether it is an illusory flat surface or three-dimensional. This adds a playful, performative aspect to her work that speaks to Hollowells masterful manipulation of space, surface, light and shadow.

 

With strong colors, varied textures, and geometric symmetry, Hollowells practice is situated in lineage with the work of American artists like Agnes Pelton, Georgia OKeeffe and Judy Chicago. She is also greatly influenced by the work of the California Light and Space Movement as well as Neo-Tantric painters like Ghulam Rasool Santosh and Biren De.

 

Hollowells work is held in the collections of many leading international museums and institutions including the Arts Council England, London, UK; Zentrum Paul Klee, Bern, Switzerland; He Art Museum, Shunde, China; Long Museum, Shanghai, China; Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art, Bentonville, Arkansas; Hirschhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden, Washington, D.C.; and Los Angeles County Museum of Art, Los Angeles, California.

 

Loie Hollowell lives and works in Queens, New York.

© 2021  Long Museum  All Rights Reserved. 沪ICP备12048670号-1

往期展览

洛伊·霍洛韦尔: 再校准

2021.4.24-2021.7.11
龙美术馆 西岸馆

艺术家 洛伊·霍洛韦尔
主办 龙美术馆

2021年4月24日至7月11日,龙美术馆(西岸馆)将呈现展览“洛伊·霍洛韦尔:再校准”,这将是常驻纽约的美国艺术家洛伊·霍洛韦尔Loie Hollowell在中国的首次美术馆个展。


展览由15幅创作于2018至2020年间的大尺幅绘画构成,属于洛伊·霍洛韦尔的“铅垂线”系列,探讨艺术家对怀孕主题的表达,以及描绘女性身体在分娩前后不同阶段的体验变化。霍洛韦尔的绘画是自传性的,透过作品观者可以感受到她两次生育过程的身心经历变化(两个孩子分别于2018年12月和2020年4月诞生)。艺术史学者伊丽莎白·布依(Elizabeth Buhe)评价这组意义深远的作品:“我们在看向这样一支能容纳自己身体的‘望远镜’:从微观到宏观、从内部到外部体验、从自我到崭新的生命。”


洛伊·霍洛韦尔以其绘画作品广为人知,她用充满活力的抽象几何表达了人的身体形态,通过对女性形体的勾勒强调指涉了受孕行为、怀孕、分娩经历、产后的思考以及人体解剖学。她的绘画主题不含叙事,而是来自于现象学的经验。其创作擅用的能量精神可以充满意识地洞悉身体、体察内外,成为被感受和观察的事物。正如艺术家所说:“美对我而言并不是视觉性的,而是体验性的。我希望观众在离开时不一定要知道我想传递的内容,比如我的分娩经验,而是吸收了一种明亮或丰富或光辉的印象,而这份印象事关他们与自己身体的关系。”


此次展览的作品思考了处于重新调整状态之中的女性身体:对产后的身体和心理现实进行调整,让分娩后的身体恢复健康活力,并且对之进行重置以展开新的受孕和生育的人生之旅。身体,长久以来始终是霍洛韦尔艺术实践的核心关注。随着她的绘画向具象衍进,女性身体成为了其创作主题,而随后逐渐转向抽象,霍洛韦尔也开始在她的绘画框架中对人物进行打破和划分。她发展出一种简练的视觉语言,具有鲜艳的色调、变化的画面纹理、重复的几何形态以及构图性的对称。本次展出的15幅作品,被闪闪发光的极富感性的色彩光晕所照亮,脉动着一种孕育生命的活力,呈现了艺术家身体在分娩之后和怀孕之前所具备的坚毅不屈与柔韧脆弱。


这些绘画是艺术家迄今为止尺幅最大的创作,它们将人物形象的完整尺度吸纳于画布框架之中,将身体印刻于横平竖直的区域,并将其分置于各不相同的形态之中。每幅画的中心都有一条向下延伸的发着光的线条,它统领整个画面并且从中间舒展出色调明亮的半月形。半圆两两成对,两个小月牙和两个大月牙成组地毗邻一侧。闪亮的球体装点着线条并且锚定着人物形象的脊椎中枢,而在我们顺延画布向下查看不断肿胀的球体时,杏核形的曼陀罗则如标点符号般注脚着我们的凝视。硕大的圆形或椭圆形的同心环与人物形象相拥相融,并且弥散出围绕着人物的放射状色彩。画面中的形态表征着乳房、腹部、臀部和卵子等,这是艺术家校准过后的身体。她的身体正在恢复,补充能量,日趋成熟。


霍洛韦尔的绘画被光影所笼罩。那些闪耀的、扣人心弦又大胆的、宝石色调的光泽,沉浸在微妙渐变的水洗质地之中,她对颜料的处理激发着平面与纵深、形态与背景、色彩与轮廓之间的对话。悬浮于


艺术家拟人化形态之后的,是朝着画面边缘向外拓展的彩色椭圆形的层次。在不同的绘画中,球体产生着不同的色彩渐变,从青铜色到杏色,从玉色到水色,从猩红到烟灰的玫红。它们在各自的区块中以皇家紫、青柠绿和青蓝色题刻出肿胀的半圆形,并且以鲜明的浮雕向外突出。对艺术家而言,色彩是她对主体间性(Intersubjectivity)体验的一种表达,暗示着平和、疲乏、痛苦与欣喜等种种情绪状态。


在诸如《红洞》(Red Hole2019年)的一些绘画中,一个律动的球体环绕着人物形象。一道白光从最外侧的边缘闪耀出光亮,同时色彩的渐变向内加深,直至中心顶点而产生纵深与阴影。这处入口是夜晚与白日的相遇之所,也是世界从一条路径通向另一条的碰撞所在。在另一些绘画中,卵形取代了孔洞。比如在《紫卵》(Purple Ovum2020)中,阴沉的黑色边缘逆转着先前达成的色彩效果。紫色卵形的轮廓愈向核心聚拢就愈发显出柔和,由内而外地散发出温暖的光泽。霍洛韦尔采用卵形指涉着她产后那些有关生育和生殖繁衍等议题的沉思。


霍洛韦尔在画布表面积淀出让人意想不到的纹理质地,由此她达成了复杂而多变的感知效果。她的构图进程从画线开始,在刻画线条时,她减化形态并建立起形状与画布框架之间的关系;随后,她开始在纸本上用粉彩创作草图,发展出一种介于色彩与形式之间的能量交换;接着她用亚麻布覆盖画板,雕刻出凹凸不平的表面并构建出浮雕的元素;最后将高密度泡沫碾细磨碎,胶粘于画板,用丙烯混合物覆盖其上,密封于画板,从而形成一层白色的表面。用精细显见的笔触以及海绵擦拭过的痕迹,艺术家在混合颜料时创造出了圆形的旋涡状纹理。她的印记为画布上暗哑的场域增添着雕塑性的体量和类似地形图的质感,它们捕捉并折射着周围的环境光,引发人们通过她细腻、感性的色彩渐变去关注作品的内在光感。

  

关于艺术家


洛伊·霍洛韦尔,1983年出生于美国加州伍德兰,在加州大学圣巴巴拉分校获得学士学位,并且在弗吉尼亚联邦大学获得纯艺术硕士学位。

 

霍洛韦尔以探索身体景观的绘画广为人知,她的实践介于抽象与具象、超凡脱俗与肉体胎身的阈限之间。从自述性的表达出发,她的作品探究着性、怀孕和生育等主题。霍洛韦尔的几何构图擅用诸如神圣光轮、双曲线、“林伽”等象征符号来构建独特的视觉语汇。通过对她个人经历的指涉,霍洛韦尔的绘画猛烈而又脆弱,同时饱含私人性和普遍性。她采用的对称结构常常将其构图锚定于核心的、独特的中轴线上,并且由此将绘画与她自己的身体以及自然界联系在一起。

 

对霍洛韦尔而言,其创作的体量尤为重要,她在每件作品中都将身体局部的大小与画布相对应,无论所描绘的是她的头部、胸部、腹股沟,还是整个身体。在对身体更进一步的探索之下,霍洛韦尔将雕塑形态附于画面,以此混淆人们对传统绘画的期待。向外凸出的形态完美无缝地与她作品的主体融合在一起,促使观看者的眼神在整幅画面四下游移,以此确定究竟是平面产生的视幻效果还是三维立体的作品。这为她的创作平添了生趣盎然的表演性,也充分展现了她对空间、表面、光影的精湛控制。

 

以其强烈的色彩、多变的纹理和几何的对称,霍洛韦尔的实践与艾格尼丝·佩尔敦、乔治亚·欧姬芙和朱迪·芝加哥等美国艺术家们的创作并驾齐驱。她还深受加州“光与空间运动”以及古拉姆·拉苏·桑托什和比伦·代等“新坦多罗”派画家的影响。

 

霍洛韦尔的作品被众多重要的国际博物馆和机构所珍藏,包括英国伦敦的艺术理事会;瑞士伯尔尼的保罗·克利艺术中心;中国顺德的和美术馆;中国上海的龙美术馆;美国阿肯色州本顿维尔的水晶桥美国艺术博物馆;美国华盛顿特区的赫希洪博物馆和雕塑花园以及加州洛杉矶的洛杉矶郡立美术馆。

 

洛伊·霍洛韦尔目前生活工作于美国纽约市皇后区。

© 2021 龙美术馆 版权所有 沪ICP备12048670号-1