Current Exhibitions

Sheng Zhang — Solo Exhibition of Chen Yujun

2021.1.31-2021.5.9
Long Museum West Bund

Artist Chen Yujun
Planner Pan Tao, Xiao Bin
Academic Director Xu Jian, Lu Mingjun, Cui Cancan, Xia Kejun, Sun Tian
Orgaziner Long Museum

Long Museum (West Bund) presents the large solo exhibition of Chen Yujun entitled “Sheng Zhang” from 31 January to 9 May 2021. It focuses on Chen’s recent socially engaged practice, which includes the cross-boundary experiments completed in collaboration with creators in other sectors, the repeated attempts to construct his native place as the local field, while highlighting the artist’s latest ink-collage series. The mere aim is to give a comprehensive introduction of his evolving language for the plane constitution.


Responding to the chaotic changes around the globe of the past year, Chen Yujun set the starting point of the “growing” exhibition in a giant mansion that is site-specifically produced. By creating a contradicting atmosphere where the old and the new merge, the rise and fall alter, he metaphorizes the present social-cultural situations. On the one hand, the terraced and sinking space of the gallery under the rendering in the golden tone much resembles a huge and delicate container that bears the extravagance and waste, shining with radiances. On the other hand, the walls of the gallery are painted with distressed detailing of decadences, which seems as having been used over the years, and any material remains may collapse like dust in an instant. However, it is with such spatiotemporal factors that the artist breeds new artistic lives. His artist fellows develop a special landscape together, causing a continuous flow of dynamics in the exhibition. They re-examine the established social-cultural limits, investigate the intrinsic rules of the  metabolic view of the global history when people lose the identification with the collective self, thus opening up a conceptual channel for multiple dialogues, multiple intergrowths, and multiple convergences.


Next comes the 22-meter-long re-sculpted scene Mulan River that originates from the body of water existing in Chen Yujun’s hometown Putian, Fujian. It is indeed the most significant concept in the artist’s works. The artist and his older brother Chen Yufan initiated the scheme in title of Mulan River in 2007 to transform the long-standing experience of “migrating” or “exiling”, and the related stories of the personal, the familial and the clannish into a Gesamtkunstwerk (total work of art). It extends the geopolitical reach of the place beyond its real borders. Engaging various forms and mediums, they have been rather accomplished in conveying the imagined and fictionized idea of “sailing south” by highly performed and ritualized actions. In 2020, Chen Yujun decided to revisit Mulan River. He has returned to the traditional humanism and once again cultivated the cohesiveness and expressiveness of the local value, while reflecting on the human ecosystem in the post-global era from both the introvert and extrovert perspectives. Together with his team, the artist resided in the vernacular architecture and building complex to collect the elements in different community activities and habits, trying to shape an intermediate narrative that travels between sensory memories. In fact, part of the river has been reformed into a water park, and many households of hybrid exotic styles have been demolished. Therefore, the installation of Mulan River in the exhibition illustrated how the mother water is incarnated in the artist’s mind as a “prototype” or “primitive image” that helps constitute his aesthetic psychological structure.


More importantly, when making the realistic depictions and symbolic representations of Mulan River, Chen Yujun has developed a set of techniques that superimposes the concrete and abstract, bridging the two divergent qualities into a unified whole. Such a feature is obviously executed in his collages, in which he applies photographs, prints, newspapers as the beginning and later incorporates painting and installation work to process a mixed content.The accumulation of scattered surfaced materials turns into a strong motive force to affect the social-cultural balance. The new ink-collage series with the same title as the exhibition “Sheng Zhang” is composed of Chen’s own ink painting on paper. The previous paintings in black and white or colors imitating the same natural scenery are torn down into fragmented pieces, all of which are then juxtaposed, interweaved, progressed, being regenerated just as the metabolism proceeds. The crisscrossed and variegated textures of the collages deeply embodies the artist’s spirit of revolt. He deliberately breaks or dissolves the gap between the mainstream creation and the mass creation in the contemporary art system, providing a fertile ground for “growth”.


About the Artist


Chen Yujun (b. 1976, Putian, Fujian) graduated from the Integrated Art Department at China Academy of Art in 1999. From 1999 to 2014, he has taught at the Integrated Art and the Oil Painting Departments at China Academy. He is currently living and working in Shanghai.


In the past decade, Chen’s work focuses on the conflicts between the inner-self and the external influences. He attempts to examine how individuals from contemporary Asian countries face their own fragmented and shifting identities under the influence of multiculturalism and its evolving position. By integrating images and symbols, emotions and concepts, he explores the various spatial aspects of notions such as “local imagination” to contemplate the ambiguity of the post-globalized landscape.


Chen Yujun makes excellent use of multiple mediums including painting, collage and installation. He believes that the existing materials from everyday life may all become the intermediary for artistic practice, while the mundane elements eliminate strangeness and distanceness. The artist also builds his painting and collage into installations, inviting the audience to examine the scale of the work by themselves and its liquid boundary.


Recent solo exhibitions include “Each Single Self” (Arario Gallery, Seoul, 2020), “Chen Yujun” (Tang Contemporary Art, Beijing, 2019), “Reflection from the Golden Dome” (Rén Space, Shanghai, 2018), “The River Never Remembers” (Arario Gallery & BANK, Shanghai, 2017), “The Second Door” (James Cohen Gallery, Shanghai, 2015), “Space Graphy No.1” (AYE Gallery, Beijing, 2014), “Transitional Room” (Boers-Li Gallery, Beijing, 2012), “The Empty Room” (Boers-Li Gallery, Beijing, 2010), etc. Joint solo exhibitinos with Chen Yufan include “Mulan River – Voyage” (A+ Contemporary, Taipei, 2018), “Mulan River – Cuò” (Petach Tikva Museum of Art, Petach Tikva, 2017), “White” (Tang Contemporary Art, Hong Kong, 2016), “Mulan River – Unsettled” (Zhong Gallery, Berlin, 2012), “Mulan River” (Boers-Li Gallery, Beijing, 2011), etc.


Chen Yujun has been on show at Long Museum (Shanghai, 2020/2014), Beijing Minsheng Art Museum (Beijing, 2019/2017/2015), Kuandu Museum of Fine Arts (Taipei, 2018), OCT Contemporary Art Terminal Shanghai (Shanghai, 2017), Today Art Museum (Beijing, 2016), Redtory Museum of Contemporary Art (Guangzhou, 2015), Si Shang Art Museum (Beijing, 2015), Guan Shanyue Art Museum (Shenzhen, 2013), Groninger Museum (Groninger, 2013), Galeri Nasional Indonesia (Jakarta, 2013), Ullens Center for Contemporary Art (Beijing, 2013), Veneto Institute of Sciences, Letters and Arts (Venice, 2012), Times Art Museum (Beijing, 2010), etc. He has also participated the 2nd Anren Biennale (2019), the 8th Shenzhen Sculpture Biennale (2014), the 2nd Chengdu Biennale (2005), etc.


Public collections include Arario Museum (Seoul), Brooklyn Museum (New York), DSL Collection (Paris), He Xiangning Art Museum (Shenzhen), Long Museum (Shanghai), Los Angeles County Museum of Art (Los Angeles), M+ Sigg Collection (Hong Kong), White Rabbit Collection / White Rabbit Gallery (Sydney), Yuz Museum (Shanghai), etc.

往期展览

生长—陈彧君个展

2021.1.31-2021.5.9
龙美术馆 西岸馆

艺术家 陈彧君
策划人 潘陶、萧斌
学术主持 徐坚、鲁明军、崔灿灿、夏可君、孙田

主办

展览地址

龙美术馆

西岸馆 第一展厅

龙美术馆(西岸馆)将于2021年1月31日至5月9日呈现陈彧君大型个展“生长”。此次展览集中于陈彧君近期的社会性艺术实践,包括与其他领域创作者们合作完成的跨界实验、把故乡建构为本土场域的二度尝试,同时重点展出艺术家最新的水墨拼贴系列作品,由此全面介绍其不断推进的平面语言。

为了回应过去一年全球面对的混乱变局,陈彧君将展览“生长”的起点设置在一座根据场地特制的巨型金色空间中,通过营造新旧并陈、兴衰交替的矛盾氛围,从而对当下的社会文化情境作出隐喻:一方面,逐步下沉的展厅在金色基调的渲染下成为一个庞大而精致的容器,承托不断积累的欲望并映射出夺人眼目的光芒;另一方面,展厅四周墙体被刻意做旧,看似是在经年累月的使用下被抚摸得粗糙斑驳、颓败不堪,任何物质遗存可能在顷刻间如灰尘般溃散。然而就是在这样的时空环境中正在孕育着全新的艺术生命,与陈彧君展开共同创作的艺术家筑起一道绵延而流动的特殊风景。他们重新丈量既定的社会文化边界,在人类就集体自我丧失认同感而日益趋向分裂的现实里发掘全球历史代谢的内在规律,开拓一条多元对话、多元共生、多元汇流的观念通道。

随后出现的长约22米的复刻景观《木兰溪》,原型为陈彧君原籍所在地福建莆田的木兰溪,是贯穿陈彧君自身创作脉络的观念通道。陈彧君与兄长陈彧凡从2007年开始以此为题,把多年来离散的“移居”与“流寓”经验以及相关的私人、家庭与宗族纪事转化为泛地缘的总体艺术实践,涉及多种形式与媒介,尤其擅长通过极具临场感与仪式化的行动向观众传递对于“南洋”的想象与虚构。2020年,陈彧君决定重返木兰溪,回归传统的人文精神并深耕其本土价值中的凝聚力与传播力,从内敛和外张两个向度思考后全球化时代的人类生态。他携团队入驻莆田当地的乡土建筑(群),收集并提炼不同社群活动与习惯中的本土元素,尝试谱写穿行于感官记忆之间的中间叙事。事实上,木兰溪的部分河段已经被改造成水利公园,诸多原本呈现杂糅风貌与异域风格的住宅已被拆除。所以,此次展览中的作品《木兰溪》就是已经凝固在陈彧君脑海中的“木兰溪”,向观众直观展现这条母亲河如何作为“原型”或“原始意象”支持着艺术家的审美心理结构。

更重要的是,在对木兰溪展开写实性描绘与象征性再现的过程中,陈彧君发展出一套将具象与抽象相互叠合或对映的表现手法,在两者之间完成了连贯的视觉迁徙。这种特点在他的拼贴创作中最为明显,从早期采用照片、印刷品、新闻简报至后期融入绘画乃至装置的混合输出,零散的表皮材料聚集成足以撕裂社会文化平衡的巨力。与展览同名的水墨拼贴系列“生长”首次以陈彧君自己的纸本水墨作品为基础,原本摹仿同一自然景观的黑白或彩色的绘画成为残余的碎片,在新的画面中反复并置、穿插、颠倒,如新陈代谢般获得再生。纵横交错、斑驳离奇的拼贴肌理深刻体现了陈彧君的抵抗精神,他有意打破或消解当代艺术系统中主流创作领域与大众创作领域之间的隔膜,培育一片崭新的“生长”土壤。

关于艺术家

陈彧君,1976年出生于福建莆田,1999年毕业于中国美术学院综合艺术系。1999年至2014年先后任教于中国美术学院综合艺术系与油画系,现生活并工作于上海。

在过去的十多年中,陈彧君的创作致力于展现内在自我与外部影响之间的冲突。他试图检视当代亚洲国家中的个体在多元文化立场下所必须面对的身份认同的困境。凭借图像与符号、情感与观念的协调与互涉,他围绕着“乡土想象”等概念的空间诸面相进行探索,从而观照后全球化景观的模糊性。

陈彧君对于绘画、拼贴以及装置等各种形式的媒介运用自如。他认为生活中所接触的既有材料都可能成为艺术创作的中介,而这些来源于日常的元素消弭了陌生感与距离感。陈彧君将他的绘画和拼贴嵌入装置之内,邀请观者亲身把握作品尺度及其思维模式,并体验作品边界的流动性。

近期个展包括:“每个自己”(阿拉里奥画廊,首尔,2020年)、“陈彧君”(当代唐人艺术中心,北京,2019年)、“来自金顶的反光”(仁庐,上海,2018年)、“故土不乡愁”(阿拉里奥画廊 & BANK,2017年)、“第二道门”(柯恩画廊,上海,2015年)、“空间志No.1”(AYE画廊,北京,2014年)、“临时房间”(博而励画廊,北京,2012年)、“空房间”(博而励画廊,北京,2010年)等。与陈彧凡的双人展包括:“木兰溪/渡”(A+ Contemporary 亚洲当代艺术空间,台北,2018年)、“木兰溪/厝”(佩塔提科瓦美术馆,佩塔提科瓦,2017年)、“白色”(当代唐人艺术中心,香港,2016年)、“木兰溪/不居”(Zhong画廊,柏林,2012年)、“木兰溪”(博而励画廊,北京,2011年)等。

陈彧君的作品曾在龙美术馆(上海,2020/2014年)、北京民生现代美术馆(北京,2019/2017/2015年)、关渡美术馆(台北,2018年)、OCAT上海馆(上海,2017年)、今日美术馆(北京,2016年)、红专厂当代艺术馆(广州,2015年)、寺上美术馆(北京,2015年)、关山月美术馆(深圳,2013年)、格罗宁根美术馆(格罗宁根,2013年)、印度尼西亚国家美术馆(雅加达,2013年)、尤伦斯当代艺术中心(北京,2013年)、威内托科技艺术馆(威尼斯,2012年)、时代美术馆(北京,2010年)等知名机构展出,并参与第二届安仁双年展(2019年)、第八届深圳雕塑双年展(2014年)、第二届成都双年展(2005年)等重要展览。

公共机构收藏包括:阿拉里奥美术馆(首尔)、布鲁克林美术馆(纽约)、DSL收藏(巴黎)、何香凝美术馆(深圳)、龙美术馆(上海)、洛杉矶郡立艺术博物馆(洛杉矶)、M+希克藏品(香港)、白兔收藏 / 白兔美术馆(悉尼)、余徳耀美术馆(上海)等。
购票信息
2021.3.30 - 4.24期间 | 全馆通票60元/人; 2021.4.25 - 6.20期间 | 全馆通票150元/人
© 2021 龙美术馆 版权所有 沪ICP备12048670号-1